We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Boundary

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Boundary
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 225: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The title of this review really says it all... Location - Perfect, in that is a was short walk up or down the hill to Windermere or Bowness. Room- Immaculate, lovely little touches being the under floor heating in the bathroom, the fresh milk for complimentary tea or coffee. Breakfast- Amazing, all cooked fresh and a great selection. The owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heggers30
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Just arrived at the boundry room looked nice untill we looked round . Bath was Dirty . Spoons for a drink not clean dust on radaitor floor around bath not clean . How this as goot a 5star rateing i dont no and for 2 nights £250 not worth it wouldnt recomend to anyone sorry

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaun B
The-Boundary, Owner at The Boundary, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Shaun. From the date on your review it seems you left it on the evening of the 16th, when you checked in, and possibly before your partner mentioned the problem to me while she was having a smoke in the car park. You gave us the minimum 1 out of 5 mark, therefore, without sampling...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

This is a great place to stay. We had 2 rooms and they were both exceptional. Great beds, great facilities, brilliant breakfast served by a couple of ladies who couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Definitely will be staying here again and great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonno1981
The-Boundary, Owner at The Boundary, responded to this review

My moustache and I thank you for your lovely review! So glad you enjoyed your stay. Steve

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

It's not often we get to stay in a centrally located B&B that offers all the comforts of home and the best breakfast with all the trimmings and service. Steve is the perfect host,along with a very informative knowledge of the local area . The comfort and services that the Boundary offer,are second to none. Even before you arrive,Steve will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Had the most fantastic stay at the boundary made very welcome room was fantastic breakfast first class will make sure will be visiting again in the near future easily the best place i have stayed in around the windermere area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianold1967
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Room was a decent size, not too big and not too small. The bed was super comfy, however the pillows could have been a bit puffier if that's the word? As me and my partner felt there was not much support with the pillows and that we were just sleeping flat. Gorgeous bathroom, bath was lovely as was the shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April B
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Me and my partner stayed here for one night. When we booked we didn't mind the £118 price for the room. We stayed in the Ranji room with a luxury bath in the room. The pros of this trip were: It was in an ideal location Romantic room Modern hotel Parking Housekeeper who we met was very friendly and kind...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BEVNorthEast_England
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Booked a last minute break and was not disappointed .Ideal location within easy walking distance of the lake at Bowness and windermere town centre. We were made to feel very welcome and the breakfast was delicious. Stayed in Hobbs room and it was beautiful..the bed is very comfortable and the bath is huge ...loads of space and beautifully decorated throughout....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jb1067
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I booked this boutique b and b for my daughter and her friend after phoning them direct and speaking to the owner. We actually got a better price than on any of the usual hotel websites. So please book direct - definitely worth it. They loved it. Perfectly situated for both windermere and bowness. Rooms were lovely. Staff great and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paula h
England
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely B&B in great location. We stayed in the Ranji room and it was really nice, loved the bath in the bedroom. Breakfast was absolutely amazing the american pancakes were to die for. Would definitely come back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jerry2007England

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.1 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,311 reviews
0.7 km away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#5 of 111 in Windermere
629 reviews
0.9 km away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#2 of 111 in Windermere
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have a room available for new year's eve 2016! Last minute cancellation. Contact us direct to book ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boundary

Address: The Boundary Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $105 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boundary 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boundary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boundary Hotel Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Boundary staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Boundary staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perfect location and beautiful b and b”
 of 5 bubbles 930paulah, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lower floor”
 of 5 bubbles X2726KWcolinb, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles suzieb1232015, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Definitely Hobbs”
  • 4 poster bed
  • Huge roll top bath !
 of 5 bubbles 326lucyb, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ranji is the room we had with the free standing bath”
 of 5 bubbles kw253, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay