We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holly Lodge Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holly Lodge Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with my husband this weekend. The bed and breakfast is clean, well presented and in an excellent central location. We stayed in a deluxe double which was of a very high standard. The breakfast was beautiful, well organised and with great service. The new owners are doing a great job ! Thank you we will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinkcat2505
HollyLodgeW, Owner at Holly Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again for a glass of wine in the lounge! Fire on next time once our chimney is swept. Best wishes Bonnie and Ian

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 6 month old son and it was wonderful. Beautiful, clean, warm and comfortable the staff were all lovely and the breakfast is amazing. It was very baby friendly and the new owners are very thoughtful and so easy to get out with. We will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
HollyLodgeW, Owner at Holly Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you guys, it was so nice having you and handsome young Marcus! We got your card its on the mantle piece :-) Best wishes and hope to see you again. Bonnie Ian and family

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed at Holly Lodge in mid-September 2016 with my husband and our son. We had a really nice experience: the room was good, the breakfast was yummy and the service was very friendly and welcoming. Windermere and the Lake District is a nice destination for a short getaway or a longer activity holiday!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrikau
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights this weekend, from the moment we checked in to viewing our room and staying it was spotless very pleasant people and cosy atmosphere, would recommend and will defiantly visit again soon , thank you bonnie and Ian for our wonderful stay !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
HollyLodgeW, Owner at Holly Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a lovely review it was a pleasure having you beautiful couple and we wish you all the very best and hope to see you again. Bonnie and Ian

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Lovely place to stay right in the center of Windermere. Staff very friendly. Dint think much to the breakfast however. The parking area is a bit of a nightmare, we had to park on the road outside. Rooms are lovely and very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenk090
HollyLodgeW, Owner at Holly Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Glad you like our location, sad to hear you didn't think much of the breakfast :-( we are constantly trying to improve as we only took over Holly Lodge on August the 16th this year! We have 7 customer parking bays but occasionally they do all get taking. Kind regards Bonnie and Ian

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

My family and I stayed at Holly Lodge for two nights and we had a fantastic time. We were welcomed by the owners who are very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were comfortable, breakfast was lovely and the general feel of the B&B was very homely. We took advantage of the lounge on the evening we spent there which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilyJS12
HollyLodgeW, Owner at Holly Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks guys it was a pleasure having your lovely family and we hope to see again. Kind regards and all the very best Bonnie and Ian.

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in holly lodge and enjoyed every second! Such a lovely guest house with stunning, clean and big rooms..hosts were very nice and helpfull and had a nice breakfast!! Looking forward to going back..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Minna L
HollyLodgeW, Owner at Holly Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you on your return!

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We have just come back from a great weekend at Holly Lodge, Bonnie and Ian the New Owners are fab. They arrived on Thursday and we arrived on Friday. We booked a Double Deluxe room and it was fantastic, they couldn't do enough for me and my husband. We are going back to Holly Lodge again as it is great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gailbooth
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The rooms in this B&B were spotlessly clean if a little small. We did feel a little cramped and the beds could have been better but otherwise it was a good find. A good breakfast and friendly enough. Good location and good price!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Spain
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The location is very good (5 min walking from Windermere bus and train station) and the house is beautifully decorated. However, our experience with Holly Lodge was very disappointing, especially after all the excellent reviews that made us booked this B&B. First of all, they never emailed me back to confirm whether we could check in earlier. We were offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpc412
HollyLodgeW, Owner at Holly Lodge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there, we were not the owners of Holly Lodge at this time so we are assuming the previous owner had thrown the towel in! She was due to hand over the business to us not long after your stay. We took over on August the 16th August. We are very sad you were disappointed with your stay at Holly...

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 km away
Jerichos Guest House
Jerichos Guest House
#11 of 111 in Windermere
303 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambridge House Guest House
Cambridge House Guest House
#17 of 111 in Windermere
234 reviews
0.2 km away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#52 of 111 in Windermere
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#24 of 111 in Windermere
399 reviews
0.1 km away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#6 of 111 in Windermere
623 reviews
0.7 km away
Montfort Cottage Guest House
Montfort Cottage Guest House
#29 of 111 in Windermere
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Holly Lodge Guest House

Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $116 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holly Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holly Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holly Hotel Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holly Lodge Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
liverpool
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Southport, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holly Lodge Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to spoil your loved one, book a double Deluxe room well worth the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles gailbooth, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Check out website lots of choice”
 of 5 bubbles sammy20142016, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all clean rooms well worth any room room 7 back and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles T6005SYjohnw, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Modern and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles Sammlp_112, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Great family room”
 of 5 bubbles Bamfordbeaties, 14 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay