We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Windermere Manor Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Windermere Manor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Windermere Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 546: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed stay at Windermere Manor. Had a very nice room on the ground floor, very clean, and spacious. Had comfortable bed, one kingsize and one single. THe food was excellent. Cannot fault the service provided by all the staff. Hope to return very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda113441
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel and I am pleased you had an enjoyable weekend. It was our pleasure to host this event and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night @ £100 for a room. The room was spotlessly clean, however very tired looking, could do with a bit of TLC. The carpets and walls were stained, bathroom tiles grotty and the shower had no power and the tray filled up. On a positive, location is amazing! Complimentary WiFi, teas and coffee etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cassievm
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. It would be really useful if you can respond letting me know which room you were in so as we can rectify any issues. Thank you

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Lovely Hotel in a good spot for walkers but a little too far for evening in Town need to Drive in or get a Taxi.Staff are very friendly and helpful.Room 17 has a large balcony with wonderful views and the Room is clean and very comfortable.Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it.Hotel is very old but that's why we chose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 733dianar
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and I will certainly share this with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2016

from start to finish the hotel & staff were very friendly & helpful. the lady on reception was a pleasure to speak to. we were in one of the annex rooms and could not fault anything, superb. we had a lovely meal on the evening followed by entertainment, the singer excellent. breakfast in the morning was great. will be returning...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank forster61
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and I will certainly share this with the team. It is always a pleasure to know that we have delivered a good service and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Very nice old building but limited parking... Friendly staff and nice breakfast room was a bit dated and need a uplift.. Bowness was a good 20 mins walk taxi was about £5 one way. Whilst in bowness we hired a boat before 10am for an hour and cost us £20 which was reasonable as it was an early bird deal..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boyes3062
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. we have begun a refurbishment of the property, and although it will be happening over the next year, we are sure that our guests will enjoy the difference it makes. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Lovely building for a hotel, grand and amazingly situated. Great views of the lake and very convenient for bowness. Comfortable room,but very tired looking . we had the evening meal from the set menu and was very disappointed, the quality of the the dinner was very poor . staff were very pleasant and welcoming . The hotel is vey well...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Linda M
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay and I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your meal. I have passed your comments onto my Head Chef.

london
Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a superior room separate from the main hotel. The room was very spacious and with a huge bed. The only improvement I can mention is that the roof in the bathroom could do with some attention however that is the only fault I could find. Breakfast was extremely nice and we enjoyed the swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisarm
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and I have noted the comment ref the ceiling and we will certainly look into that. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

A lovely hotel, in a beautiful setting, with friendly, helpful staff and great food. Silver service especially appreciated as was always having the same table for meals.We chose this hotel because it has many visually impaired guests and we needed somewhere where the problems we face would be understood and minimized. We chose well and we'll be returning. Our especial...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank egrhart
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and it is our pleasure to be of service. I am just pleased that everything worked out well and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

This is a great hotel for both blind and sighted people. The staff are both attentive, helpful and trained to help people with a visual impairment. We have been four times in the past 12 months and intend to take all ourfamily (14 adults and children) later in the year

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V2420NLjohna
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments and it will be my pleasure to share this with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to "the manor"

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Windermere Manor hotel is situated in a good location to both the lake andWindermere village. As a visually impaired person the staff were very supportive and were very friendly. The entertainment provided was great with a singer; wine tasting and a boat trip on Windermere . The breakfast and 3 course dinner was very tasty. I wish I tried their...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alisonanddamian
windermere-manor, General Manager at Windermere Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and it was our pleasure to have you staying as a guest. I am pleased you had a good time and I will certainly share your kind comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (160)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.3 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
263 reviews
1.7 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,334 reviews
3.2 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,000 reviews
4.1 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and just 10 minute walk from the shores of Lake Windermere, this Victorian country retreat boast some of the most spectacular views across the Lake to the Langdale Pikes and mountains beyond. Enjoy either a relaxing break or active holiday in this English National Park whether you wish to do water sports, hike on some of the most beautiful mountains in England or go shopping in Keswick or Kendal, the Lake District has it all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windermere Manor Hotel

Address: Rayrigg Road | Rayrigg Road, Windermere LA23 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $111 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Windermere Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windermere Manor Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Windermere Manor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for cottage”
 of 5 bubbles GaryD490, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 11 beautiful room but no Wifi ”
 of 5 bubbles chrisml5, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 spacious and good for disabled access walk I shower no bath.”
 of 5 bubbles 664beeh, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For us the room was sizeable, had all the mod-cons like TV, radio, nice bathroom with very hot water on demand, paper delivered to the door, bed comfy, storage brill - what more”
 of 5 bubbles dennisscience, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“View of lake”
 of 5 bubbles DBR43, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5