The Wild Boar

The Wild Boar

Bat of beers
Traveller (1190)
Panorama at The Wild Boar
360
Panoramas (14)
Restaurant at The Wild Boar
Dining (305)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#13 of 19 hotels in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Wild Boar with 33 bedrooms, grill, smokehouse and brewhouse nestles in a peaceful setting in the Gilpin Valley, Windermere close to the Lake. Benefiting from the beautiful surrounding countryside, including its own private woodland for guests to enjoy, whilst perfectly positioned to explore the rest of the great outdoors in the fabulous Lake District National Park.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, Polish, Romanian

Location

Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NF England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Carlisle Lake District Airport
65.3 km
See all flights
Newcastle Airport
107.9 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,933 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Wild Boar Hotel garners praise for its spotless rooms and serene, picturesque environment, perfect for leisurely walks. Guests have applauded the cleanliness and cozy, traditional atmosphere accentuated by log fires, although some areas could benefit from a refresh. While the service is generally friendly, there are occasional complaints about its pace and consistency. Travelers find the rooms spacious but mixed in style, with some outdated elements. The value proposition is contentious; many find it overpriced, despite the allure of specific deals.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Charming
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Relaxing

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,933Review29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,205
  • 419
  • 194
  • 68
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dale W wrote a review Aug 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed as a family on a Sunday night dinner, bed and breakfast stay.

Food and drink
This offer allowed £32 per adult and £10 per child for food off the menu. Most mains are around £20 so in theory for most people it’s a two course deal. The food quality we were very pleased with.
Breakfast is table service and plenty to choose from, staff very attentive and quality of food again we were pleased with

Wifi
There is free wifi at the hotel which is needed as phone signals were not achieved on our networks

Parking
Free parking when staying with the hotel, although it felt like we were parking a long way away it actually worked out that was just the distance from reception and actually the car park was right outside our room which was perfect for luggage being moved

Comfort
Literally THE ONLY reason I’ve given 4/5 rather than 5/5 is we paid for a family room and our kids shared a pull out sofa bed and they typically would have their own space. Main bed was comfort and room was tidy.

Staff
We can not thank the staff enough for their care. Unfortunately within a couple of hours of check in our daughter was sick, an hour after this so was our Son and then shortly after so was my Wife. I stress this was a bug and nothing to do with anything in the hotel (as family we had seen earlier in the day also had a same sickness later that day). Charlotte in particular was outstanding, constantly bringing new towels, sheets and water to our room, it was clear she genuinely cared and showed lovely empathy and it would be nice to think the management read this review and can recognise her extra efforts. Thank you to all staff who helped but especially Charlotte.

We would certainly stay again, it have to just asked and confirm before that a family room would give the kids separate mattresses, we’ve stayed before and we were happy to come back. It’s also a positive that as part of the hotel chain the leisure facilities at The Low Wood can be used and this was a nice experience too
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Adam Bujok, General Manager at The Wild Boar
Responded Sep 3, 2021
Dear DaleW21, Thank you very much for posting your detailed review here on TA. I was of course delighted to read you lovely comments and please rest assured I will personally lease with Charlotte and pass on your great feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with any future room requirements and we will try our best to accommodate wherever possible. Thank you once again and I hope we will welcome you back at The Wild Boar Inn very soon! Kind Regards Adam Bujok General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Goat_Herder78 wrote a review Oct 2020
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked The Wild Boar for three nights for myself, my partner and our four legged friend.

The staff are incredibly helpful and a pleasure to deal with. I'd emailed them before our stay as I wanted to add a couple of extra touches and nothing was too much trouble. They were the same throughout our stay.

The room and the pub were spotlessly clean and covid guidelines adhered to. There was certainly no shortage of hand sanitiser.

The room itself was tastefully decorated, the bed very comfortable and contained everything we could possibly need.

Breakfasts were incredible....though too many options for our three nights.... I wanted to make my way down all options.

We ate in the pub the one night. Again, great service. High quality produce, cooked perfectly and well presented.

I have knocked one point off as I was slightly annoyed by the parking charges. Partly my own fault as I'd not read the details of them properly, although it wouldn't have made much difference due to us wanting to stay there. However, having spent just short of £800 on the room, extras, a meal and some drinks, it appears that you are charged £12 a night to park your car. There are no alternatives. The land is owned by the hotel. In my view any charge would be cheeky, but £12 a night is just ridiculous.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Stanaway, General Manager at The Wild Boar
Responded Oct 23, 2020
Dear Goat_Herder78 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay - great to read that this proved so enjoyable. Should you be planning a return visit in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us direct for the best available rates (or should you book through our own site, our car parking charges will always be waived). We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
lentheman wrote a review Oct 2021
Penyffordd, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for four nights with a Travelzoo voucher. Allocated room 6 which is directly above the front entrance and bar. No noise at night from the bar but there was some minor traffic noise which didn't really affect sleep, as traffic is light during the night. There are five parking spaces at the front (main car park is at the rear) and there are views directly into the bedroom and bathroom (which didn't bother us as we dropped the blinds). However it does mean that the bathroom blind was premanently closed. Room was in the "old part" with all its idiosyncracies which we liked, (sloping floor for instance)!! However I am 1.86 m tall and the distance from the bath to the ceiling is about 1.88 m so there wasn't much clearance in the shower! Lots of hot water and the bath was double ended and very deep so if you are taller than me or have mobility issues then you may struggle with this bath and shower, but we would certainly stay in this room again. I have stayed in lots of hotels and I would say that the breakfast menu is one of the best I have seen, and the quality of the food really good. I have reviewed the restaurant separately. The staff are all exceptional without exception. All friendly, highly efficient and dealt with any queries without question. The only issue for me (and this is a personal thing and not a criticism of the hotel) is that due to its location (in the countryside), then if you eat dinner then you are generally committied to stay in the hotel for the evening and the public lounge areas are probably not big enough. Would I return? Definitely.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Stanaway, General Manager at The Wild Boar
Responded Oct 18, 2021
Dear lentheman Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay - great to read that you enjoyed your time at The Wild Boar and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Best regards Matt Stanaway
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WorldTraveller wrote a review Aug 2020
United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a night away here in August, we had booked a luxury room, and we felt slightly let down by the room on first appearance, it just didnt have the wow factor we thought we would be getting for the increase in price.

There was mold in the shower, and all over the net curtain in the bathroom, and I really mean all over it. I dont believe that this is something easily missed, as there was so much black mold all over the whole curtain. (Just as a side notes, net curtains are hideous at the best of times, how about some blinds instead?)

Ive noted other reviews mentioning black mold - the rooms are cleaned between guests and this mold has been sat there ignored for some time. Please just take the curtain down, the room has a terrace outside and isnt visible to the main road so the bathroom can cope without a net curtain.

That being said, the big copper bath was lovely and I liked the touch of the White Company toiletries.

We had the alternative afternoon tea, which was nice. The real star was the evening meal however, the standard of food is very high and the meal was really great. Shout out to the breakfast also, as there are some great options on here that you dont see on many hotel breakfast menus. The hotel has a microbrwery on site and a smoke house, and if you're interested in renewable energy you can have a walk around the property and view their huge biomass boiler.

Overall, some of the luxury rooms are a stretch to be named as such - they need a refurb or a downgrade to perhaps superior or deluxe, and the issues with mold really need addressing immediately. Id be surprised if the cleaning staff weren't feeding this back.

A quick note about the car parking - it really is quite insulting to ask for a parking fee in a remote location where there is no alternative. Just build it into the cost of the stay and sell it as a free perk and then customers wont feel so aggrieved by it. A simple solution to something that really irks the customer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Glenn wrote a review Aug 2020
Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to The Wild Boar five years ago for lunch and enjoyed it. My wife remembered the hotel so we booked it for our anniversary. As per the heading, the main disapointments were in relation to our room. It was small (Room 24). You just about had to walk sideways to get round the end of the bed. Also it had spiders webs/Cobs (looked like long term) in the bathroom. Dampness on the ceiling and black mould around the bath. The shower head was sraying water everywhere because it was lose but it was OK after I tightened it up. Picutures and the TV on the wall are mounted squint and the lap shades lose. All these things are small details that can be sorted with a little attention to detail but I got the impression these were not recent issues and have been like this for some time. There were randome brass vases with old tatty plastic flowers etc that do not add anything to the look or feel to the hotel. During this Covid period there was sanitiser availabe around the hotel which was good to see and tables and chairs in the Grill being sanitised (sprayed and wiped clean) after use however this was done with a cloth. Who knows what the cloth was used for previously and what it will be used to clean next. It would be more appropriate to use paper towels to sanitise the tables and chair and dispose of the paper towels. We had one evening meal and the food was above average as was the breakfasts. On checking out the guest infront of me was complaing about being charged for car parking. At £12 per day I would also complain! As I had booked via "English Lakes" I was not charged for car parking however Im disapointed that guests are being treated diffently with some are being singled for different pricing tratement!

Overall I would say our stay was average at best and we wont be booking again. It could have been better if time and attention was given to details througout the hotel but one thing the hotel should do, is remove car parking charges for THEIR guests!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Stanaway, General Manager at The Wild Boar
Responded Aug 16, 2020
Dear GlennNeilson Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I was dismayed to learn of the issues in your room - I will of course ensure that your comments are shared, discussed and addressed immediately with any necessary retraining of the team also undertaken. Please accept my apologies for this. Our car parking charges have been in place for some time (prior to 'lockdown') and were introduced as a result of the increasing impact on hospitality businesses by the commission rates charged by third party sites and agents - as you mention, these charges are waived for guests booking direct. Charges are clearly stated on said third party sites of course. Best regards Matt Stanaway
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynne B wrote a review Oct 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
on arrival our room was not ready, we had a drink in the bar and were told our keys would be brought to us , they were not and we had to go looking for a staff member to give us them. We checked in to the room after hauling our luggage up many dark and steep stairs ( Room 21) the room was very worn dusty , and badly cleaned , I had to clean a dirty windowsill with my own wipes. There was black mould on both the windows and also round the bath . The shower curtain had to be re positioned before it would work efficiently without soaking the room. The wardrobe space was being used to store extra beds and th only hanging space was provided by a piece of copper pipe hammered into the wood. the most important thing at this time is to feel safe and we cannot accept that a room full of dust and mould could have been fully cleaned and sanitised. We booked this hotel was it is the same group as the Midland in Morecambe where we had spent the previous 3 nights and felt perfectly safe. We did not ask to be moved at the time as we understood the hotel was fully occupied and felt there was little point. The food we had heard so much about was O.K. very limited menu steak or fried chicken although the breakfast was ver good.The staff for the most part were O.K but some waiters lacked any interest in the customers. We will not be returning here or recommending any of our friends do.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
julie m wrote a review Nov 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Having previously stayed in a feature room (styled as the main advertised room on the website) and enjoying a very good evening meal then I appreciate that our expectations were high. The first disappointment was the room which was room 21, large in size but I am unsure what the feature was and a very lack lustre bathroom compared to the one in the previous room. In fact my husband noted that the shower was so poor it just ‘did not get going’. I do feel we were in a classic room and if we weren’t then we may as well have been.

Things went from bad to worse, my husband asked for a medium steak, it was well done when it arrived, the second one was very rare, in fact almost raw and by the third I had finished my meal. He had asked for french mustard the first time, by the third, having put it on both previous plates in anticipation there was none left, he asked for more, 10 minutes later when he had finished his meal someone eventually brought Dijon saying they had run out of French. Dessert was fine but as you can appreciate the night was spoiled. With drinks and extras to the DBB we had spent well over £300 for both of us for this stay and I felt that this was very unjustified this time. We both ordered pancakes for breakfast the nextmorning and they were burnt and greasy but I did not have the heart to send them back.

We may just have been unlucky as when I checked out the couple in front stated their food had been lovely. Interestingly I was not asked about any of our stay, however, the man on reception knew the previous night there had been issues with our food.

Emma who took the booking on the phone was very helpful and informed that we could use the leisure facilities at Low Wood and that there was a new outdoor pool. This was not mentioned on check in at The Wild Boar and the literature in the bedroom did say that you could use the health club there but did not detail the new facilities. This turned out to be the highlight of our weekend and we had drinks and lunch there afterwards and the new facilities are fantastic. I did ask on check out at The Wild Boar if the outdoor pool was heated to which I got a response of ‘no idea’, there was no offer to find out and I would have expected that good customer service would have meant that if promoting the facilities as available to guests at this establishment then they would be informed of such things or easily able to find out.
I did email English Lakes following the stay, however, did not get a satisfactory response.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Stanaway, General Manager at The Wild Boar
Responded Nov 19, 2020
Dear WYjules Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit and I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. If you would be so kind as to contact the Inn with your details, our Manager will be happy to call and discuss your concerns further. Best regards Matt Stanaway
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew Ainsworth wrote a review Jan 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our 5th visit to the Wild Boar, the first time we came was 7 years ago. So this review is based on how it was then to now. We were booked in for 2 nights Friday and Saturday night. We were having a break just the 2 of us child free, so we didn’t have plans and just wanted a proper chill. Our Friday night was nice we had a nice meal and a few drinks and sat at the bar drinking and playing card games we brought with us. Saturday morning and I ordered the Cumbrian Grill, it was lukewarm at best, and it was very tasty but could have done with being hotter.
After breakfast we went to the main desk to book a table for afternoon tea something of which I was very excited to do due to me seeing picture online and seeing how good it looked. The nice man on the main desk said that we can’t book a table because they were fully booked and that they would even not be able to serve any food at all. He explained that they had taken over 100 bookings and that some people had booked 2-3 weeks in advance. I booked our room over the phone and was only offered a table for evening, never was a question for us to book a table for afternoon tea. Maybe this is something for them to look into. So feeling quite deflated we headed off for a walk around the tarn in the 72 acres of land The Wild Boar offers. The walk use to be really nice and had hides to watch the wild life as well as exercise points like money bars or balance beams, and wooden bridges over streams all of which made out of wood and was previously very nice to explore. The exercise points were rotten and falling down, we made our way to a hide and the steps had rotten away and door was hanging off only on 1 hinge. The bridges were dangerously slippery with no handles to support yourself. We couldn’t cross and had to find an alternative route. The area has somewhat been neglected which is quite sad. Also there was quite a lot of dog poo on the floor which you would never have seen 7 years ago.
We headed back to the bar to settle down and soon guests started to arrive for afternoon tea which I didn’t want to be around still feeling quite bitter! We headed towards Ulswater. When we returned we could not find a parking space. All spaces full with people having afternoon tea. We went around the car park twice before having to park by a patch of grass, not a designated parking space. We went back to the bar for drinks, nowhere to sit! The place was heaving. With no residential lounge we ended up sitting on the bed in our room having a drink.
We couldn’t help but feel we as residents were playing second fiddle to people coming for a meal. The hotel staff were very pleasant and friendly, and they seemed very happy how busy it was and for a business they must be doing well. With this however they have lost the personal touch and magic of what they once were.
Unfortunately we will not be booking in again and will find a new gem to stay in. For anyone new going for the first time, you will love it because you have no expectations from what it was
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from EnglishLakesManager, General Manager at The Wild Boar
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Q7173ULandya Thank you for your review and I was sorry to learn of the areas in which we did not meet your expectations during your latest stay. Due to our popular afternoon tea being an offering that is not included in any residential package, it is not something that we currently actively offer as part of the booking process (effectively similar to not offering a reservation for an afternoon bar meal or similar). I am sorry that your visit coincided with a particularly busy service and for the inconvenience caused. Our adjacent woodland remains very much an integral feature of The Wild Boar with ongoing and planned works to ensure all areas are maintained. We do of course rely somewhat on dog owners to respect this area although I am not aware of any ongoing issues regarding fouling. I am sorry that we will not have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Best regards Matt Stanaway
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jazz G wrote a review Aug 2020
Stratford City, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked in here a few days ago for our anniversary break and getaway. This first thing you notice is the warmth and friendliness of the staff, really welcoming and super helpful. We bagged the room via one of the regular hotel booking sites, where the pictures always look good, but the Wild Boar lives up to the images. The charming rooms full are of character as well as everything you’d expect, ironing board etc. Even the wifi speed and service is one of the best I’ve experienced in a hotel anywhere.
Food at the Wild Boar is taken seriously. The menu is nicely compact but there’s something for everyone, their smoked steaks are divine and come from an on site smoke house. We only had breakfast once during our four night stay, but it was exceptional, with a lovely variety of food, juices and hot drinks - could not ask for more.
So why only two stars, after such effusive praise? Well, the management run a neat little parking SCAM. Charging residents £12 a day per car to park in the car park. Never heard of such a scam being run in a rural location - where else would you park? How else would you get here? Pretty despicable business practice to stealth charge. You’re advised only after checkin, that unless you booked on the hotel’s website, you’ll be charged extra for parking - nice :(
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Stanaway, General Manager at The Wild Boar
Responded Sep 17, 2020
Dear JazzG_13 Many thanks for your review and for your kind comments. I have outlined the reasoning for our car parking charge previously (guests who book direct with us, benefiting from this charge being waived) and am sorry that you deem this to be a SCAM. This charge is stated on all 3rd party booking sites prior to booking. Best regards Matt Stanaway
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pvnicholls wrote a review Aug 2020
Ripon, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This poorly run hotel is found in wonderful countryside but down narrow roads that cars speed along so its difficult to exit the hotel safely. The room we were given had a foul odour on damp that no amount of ventilation would get rid of. Had virtually no sleep due to this odour/damp smell. The bathroom had loose and broken tiles underfoot, the fittings tarnished and corroded and mastic with black patches.
The breakfast was passable although the bacon and sausage tasted as if kept warm for some time prior to service.
To top this you also have the parking scam - further down your booking details there is an extra £12 for parking at the hotel - and given its isolated location on a narrow road, you have no other option.
With such a wealth of wonderful hotels and B&Bs in the area this is a hotel to be avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Nearer reception - the hotel sprawls a long way
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Stanaway, General Manager at The Wild Boar
Responded Sep 18, 2020
Dear Pvnicholls Thank you for your review and I am sorry that we did not meet you expectations - clearly the issues in your bathroom are not the standard one would expect and I have ensured that your comments have been shared with the management team in an effort to address these failings immediately. As you mention, the note regarding our car parking charge is on all third party booking sites - this charge is refunded should guests book direct with us. Bets regards Matt Stanaway
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from SD10
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Save your money and go elsewhere
juiletonydrel asked a question Jun 2022
cumbria22 contributions20 helpful votes
Hi do you have to dress smartly for the afternoon tea or will walking clothes do?
Answer from Col H
Haydock, United Kingdom190 contributions39 helpful votes
No doesn’t have to be smart clothes you can do walking clothes,that’s fine,you wouldn’t be out of place we have done both.
David H asked a question Feb 2022
United Kingdom
Can i bring my dog
Answer from TracyBu
Manchester, United Kingdom101 contributions92 helpful votes
Yes you can, there are lots of dogs at the hotel.
Answer from NickDud
Dewsbury, United Kingdom119 contributions92 helpful votes
There is no car park fee if you have booked direct through English Lakes. I think there might be if you have booked through a third party.
The Steels asked a question Dec 2019
15 contributions1 helpful vote
How much approx is a taxi from Wild Boar to Bowness please?
Answer from Sharon G
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom21 contributions5 helpful votes
Can’t help you with that one sorry. We drove from Barrow.
Wayne T wrote a tip Jul 1
Chorley, United Kingdom40 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watch hidden charges and £12 a night parking charge….."
Read full review
Wayne T wrote a tip Jul 1
Chorley, United Kingdom6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check which room your in, the one we were in was nosey as next to main corridor."
Read full review
Pioneer537893 wrote a tip Jun 2024
6 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay for drinks at the bar to avoid the 10% Service Charge Try and get a room at the back so can’t hear road noise"
Read full review
Holly T wrote a tip May 2024
16 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"£11 taxi into Bowness-on-Windermere "
Read full review
Geny W wrote a tip May 2024
16 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to book in busy periods"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Windermere area.
PRICE RANGE
C$221 - C$339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the wild boar hotel crook
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCumbriaLake DistrictWindermere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Wild Boar - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Wild Boar
Which popular attractions are close to The Wild Boar?
Nearby attractions include Michael Coates Clay Shooting (0.6 km), Holehird Gardens (5.8 km), and Orrest Head (4.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Wild Boar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Wild Boar?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Wild Boar?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Wild Boar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Graze, Bandito Burrito, and Boardwalk Bar & Grill.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Wild Boar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Wild Boar?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Wild Boar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Wild Boar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, Romanian, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to The Wild Boar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Townend (7.4 km), Blackwell - The Arts & Crafts house (3.5 km), and Hill Top, Beatrix Potter's House (6.5 km).
Is The Wild Boar accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Windermere HotelsWindermere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WindermereHotels near The Wild Boar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars