We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wild Boar

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

929 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Wild Boar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 924: English reviews
kidderminster
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch before we headed home at this what we thought small English pub, How wrong we were, Hidden hotel with the most beautiful pub downstairs, Seated right away huge comfty seats, As soon as we opened the lunch menus our mouths were watering Everything sounded wow, We shared pigs in blankets to start ;yum For mains my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rachel_casey87
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Dear rachel_casey87 Thanks for taking the time to post a great review of your recent visit to The Wild Boar Inn. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2015 via mobile

On the find for food-place didn't disappoint ! Great service, fantastic quality and portions of food 👍👍 would go back in a flash - loved the theme and In the toilets was a nice touch with a water fall down the wall -can't say anything more really both my wife and myself loved it! 👏😃😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Many thanks for a great review and photos of your recent visit to The WIld Boar Inn. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We have visited the wild boar on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. That is the sign of a great establishment . As usual the rooms were tip top and very fresh and the food and drink were excellent. It is great to find a place thats consistent and that is where many hotels and restaurants fail....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mbetts
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Dear mbetts Thank you for a really positive review of your latest stay. I was pleased to read that this was as enjoyable as ever and we look forward to welcoming you back for a 6th stay in the New Year. In the meantime, a very Merry Chrsitmas from all at The Wild Boar Inn! Best regards Matt Stanaway

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

We were booked in for a Party night. Due to the floods we were not able to get to the hotel & we left our cars 3 miles away.Adam the manager sorted a lift in a land rover thro the floods , Mike our driver was a star! The service, rooms & food were all great, all staff are a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Toddy622
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Dear Toddy622 Many thanks for a great review of your stay which I was pleased to read was enjoyable despite the weather. I will certainly share your comments with the team who worked wonders over the weekend to ensure that our guests arrived as safely as possible (including our wedding party!) We hope to welcome you back soon Best regards...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2015 via mobile

As always our stay was just amazing, we just can't stay away from this place. The food is always perfect and the rooms are stunning, also the staff are always welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Thank you for always making our stays so memorible.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank A TripAdvisor Member
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Many thanks for a great review of your most recent stay at The Wild Boar. We hope to welcome you back soon - perhaps to try our new tomahawk steak or Jacob's Ladder beef!! Best regards Matt Stanaway

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

We were staying in Kendal and found this hidden jem by accident. Brilliant food best smoked steak I have ever tasted. Wild boar heavenly. Don't miss the pigs in blankets so tasty and smokey. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Dear David G Many thanks for a positive review of your recent visit. I was spleaed to read that your meal was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Best regards Matt Stanaway

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We booked a two night stay and was greeted with a friendly free upgrade to a very cosy room The White Boar. This had its own door to an outside patio with chairs and table - just a shame it was raining so couldn't take the advantage of this. This room did not have a bath but a pleasant bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazel1012015
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Dear hazel1012015 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Wild Boar Inn. We hope to welcome you back in 2016! Best regards Matt Stanaway

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Spent two nights here in a luxury room and dining in the restaurant. Couldn't fault any bit of our stay, first class room,very comfortable bed,plenty of room,lovely decor and very clean. The food was some of ,if not the best we have eaten,well cooked, served and in taste,breakfast was also on parr with dinner.Portion size was ample and dishes/tastes have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne w
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Dear anne w Thank you for a great review of your two night stay and I was pleased to read you were able to join us for our latest whisky tasting. Have a very happy Christmas and we hope to welcome you back in the new year! Best regards Matt Stanaway

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

The hotel itself was beautiful. The bar and restaurant were magnificent. The food was superb. The only thing which spoilt the trip was the room. Nothing like the rooms advertised. They were in desperate need of an update, as the sink was cracked. The room was stiflingly hot, and as we were on the ground floor, couldn't open the windows!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigjimbo-1978
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Dear bigjimbo-1978 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Wild Boar Inn. I was sorry to read that, on this occasion, we failed to meet your expectations and I will of course discuss your comments with my team in an effort to better meet the expectations of future guests. We hope to welcome you back...

Mickleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Wild Boar for three nights. It really is a lovely cosy and relaxing inn, with roaring log fires and a bistro style restaurant. We stayed in the Cumberland Room( room 15) one of their beautifully furnished feature rooms with its own private terrace. The restaurant is excellent with a very good menu choice including their own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mickletonians
wbmanager, General Manager at The Wild Boar, responded to this review

Dear bucksonians Many thanks for a very positive review of your three night stay at The Wild Boar Inn. I was delighted to read that this was enjoyable and that you were able to sample some of the prioducts from both our Smokehouse and Brewery! We hope to welcome you back in 2016! Best regards Matt Stanaway

535 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (209)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (27)
Viewed
Feature Double Room (19)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room (24)
Viewed
Luxury Double Room with Copper Bath (22)
Viewed
Dining (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
3.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,281 reviews
5.6 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
6.9 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
902 reviews
8.0 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Grill & Smokehouse Restaurant
The Grill & Smokehouse Restaurant
Cuisines: British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wild Boar with 33 bedrooms, grill, smokehouse and brewhouse nestles in a peaceful setting in the Gilpin Valley, Windermere close to the Lake. Benefiting from the beautiful surrounding countryside, including its own private woodland for guests to enjoy, whilst perfectly positioned to explore the rest of the great outdoors in the fabulous Lake District National Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wild Boar

Address: Crook Road, Windermere LA23 3NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $185 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wild Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Wild Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wild Boar Hotel Crook
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Windermere
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wild Boar staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Wild Boar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good but for an extra treat try and upgrade - Worth getting an English Lakes Relish Card if you are staying often.”
  • Room 8 - Amazing
  • Room 8 - amazing...
 of 5 bubbles strenwi, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 10 or room 3 both lovely bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles gillg55, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“On your booking confirmation, click the button about upgrades.. it is worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles charlotteaiken, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a suite which had an amazing round copper bath”
 of 5 bubbles SamM2509, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Long walk from car park to reception and then back to rooms - not for the infirm.”
 of 5 bubbles 234dt, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5