We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thornbank Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thornbank Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

331 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 330: English reviews
Start your review of Thornbank Guest House
 Click to rate
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the thornbank had a great comfortable room and bed. The breakfast is good with a great choice to suit everyone. Jane and mark make you feel very welcome .good luck to both of you would definitely stay here next time we visit the lakes

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ren h
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Ren. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Remember to book direct for best prices next time. Great to hear you had a good nights sleep and enjoyed your breakfast. Best wishes Jane

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for a few nights and would recommend it to anyone. The location was central with suited my needs and the the cost of staying was worth the money. The room was nice and clean and the owners are very friendly, also the breakfast is top notch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank aishaz26
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Aisha, so good to hear your enjoyed your stay with us at Thornbank House. Our Early spring discounts have certainly been very popular. Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Jane

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The guest house is situated in an ideal location, within a 10 minute walk of both Bowness and Windermere. The owners Jane and Mark were very friendly and welcoming and they went above and beyond to make our stay extra special. The rooms were very clean and all the essentials for a comfortable stay were provided. Breakfast was inclusive of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank Louise, glad you enjoyed your visit and that you had an extra special stay. Best wishes Jane

Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pauline and I went to the lakes for a couple of days in February, and stayed at the thornbank. Believe me when I say you will not find better. The room was spacious, clean, and welcoming, the en suite looked like we where the first to use it, spotless. The breakfast was superb. Matk ans Jane are the perfect hosts....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank trevorpye
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

"Perfect" Trevor? Thank you very much, that's a lovely thing to write. We have been running Thornbank for 15 years and we are still surprised by how much our guests love staying here. Thank you very much, Jane and Mark

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently spent 2 nights at the Thornbank Guest House in Windermere. Upon arrival, Mark showed us to our room and gave us advice on the local points of interest. The location of the guesthouse was perfect as it was an equal walking distance to both Windermere & Bowness-on-Windermere. We upgraded to the king size room, for a small fee,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Craig. Thank you for mentioning the upgrade offer. Whenever possible we do offer our guest this option as for just a few pounds more we can offer a larger bedroom with king size bed and or larger shower ensuite. Most guest do take this option and are never disappointed.Great to hear you slept well and enjoyed one of...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely 3-night-stay at this place. Great and convenient location: 10 minutes to Bowness/Windermere and half a minute walk to bus stops. The room was very spacious and clean. There were a range of breakfast choices to choose from(including vegetarian and weight watchers) and were all very decent. Hair dryer and toiletries were provided (which made our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doris L
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Doris - it's great to hear you enjoyed your choices at breakfast and that you found our lovely toiletries. Our guests do find our information books useful and as they are custom printed they are very easy to use. Thank you for your recommendation. Best regards Jane

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We very much enjoyed our two night stay at Thornbank. We were given a very warm welcome on arrival when we were shown to our room. The room itself was very spacious and nicely decorated. Bathroom was very clean and also spacious. We took great advantage of the list of recommended restaurants which was in the room and consequently enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah A
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

Wow, Hannah - what a great review. You really did make the most of your stay and enjoyed 2 lovely meals out. It's great to hear you enjoyed our hospitality, thank you. Jane

Halifax
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was modern and exceptionally clean, breakfast was delicious and the added little afternoon treats left in our room were the cherry on the cake! We felt so welcome and the information packs were so thorough and helpful. Jane and Mark really were the perfect hosts! Would definitely recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaaaaate94
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Kaaaaate ! Exceptionally clean - we love that. Sorry there were no cherries on the cake ( just chocolate perhaps). You are very welcome any time. Best regards Jane

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was a pleasure to stay at this place. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The breakfast was very good as well. The hosts are really kind and friendly. Thank you for letting us stay with you. I highly recommend staying at this place if rooms are available!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl B
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thornbank House Karl. We love cleaning and understand this is a vital component of our guest expectations. It is always appreciated when we receive comments regarding the cleanliness our rooms and bathrooms. Thank for for highly recommending us to future guests. Best regards Jane

LONDON
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely location, clean room, good breakfast, hosts informative about where to go etc, information in room, plenty of restaurants, good walks, lovely area quite central to everything. Would recommend Thornbank Guest House

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johndZ3619NX
JHWindermere, Owner at Thornbank Guest House, responded to this review

Lovely review John, thank you. We do try our best to ensure our guests have as much information as they require and find our walk books and days out guides are always welcomed. Hope to see you again sometime Best wishes Jane

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
656 reviews
0.2 km away
St John's Lodge
St John's Lodge
#5 of 111 in Windermere
397 reviews
0.2 km away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thornbank House is privately owned and run by Jane and Mark Hibbitt. We are just 10 minutes walk from Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere, where there is a wide selection of shops and fabulous restaurants. We offer bed and breakfast with a personal service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thornbank Guest House

Address: 4 Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $131 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Thornbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thornbank Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Salt Lake City, Utah
9 months ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Thornbank Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 5 which we found spacious and a good en suite”
 of 5 bubbles renh330, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Kingsize double room, not for views,more for comfort.”
 of 5 bubbles TomBoltonLancs, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in room six which was on the 1st floor with windows on the front”
 of 5 bubbles sarahms2015, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the front of the B&B larger room”
 of 5 bubbles P2188QCpetert, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Any room is great all tastefully decorated and all en suite ”
 of 5 bubbles Simonanddeb, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5