We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merewood Country House Hotel

841 reviews
Save
Traveller (436)
Room & Suite (142)
Dining (81)
Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good12%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cream tea”(43 reviews)
“drawing room”(18 reviews)
“open fires”(22 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Merewood Country House Hotel
Special Offer: Lakeland Getaway
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (841)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Merewood Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveller rating
694
103
32
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
694
103
32
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscream teadrawing roomopen firesbridal suitewedding breakfastwedding venuebeautiful hotelperfect venuewedding coordinatorsconesoverlooking the lakepublic roomscourse mealsister hotelafternoon teastunning viewshead chef
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 835 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We stayed here for one night just after christmas on a Groupon deal.. For the price, at a peak time of the year, we couldn't complain and with breakfast included it was really lovely. We stayed in a double room which we felt was probably...More

Thank PeachSquash
Response from LDCHSManager, Manager at Merewood Country House HotelResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and specifically enjoyed the food. Here at the Merewood, our team of Chef's are most proud of their 2 AA rosettes, which we received for culinary excellence...More

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night on Groupon deal for my wife’s birthday. Absolutely stunning 7 course tasting menu, Lovely comfortable hotel, excellent & knowledgable staff. Would have no hesitation in recommending.More

Thank SiMac365
Response from LDCHSManager, Manager at Merewood Country House HotelResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our team will be most grateful for your kind words about their service. Here at the Merewood, there is a lot for our team to...More

Reviewed 10 January 2018

We had a Christmas present from our daughter for two nights at this hotel. From start to finish it was excellent. The staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. Food great. The room was lovely with all we would want. The hotel itself is beautiful with...More

2  Thank ireneb0ness
Response from LDCHSManager, Manager at Merewood Country House HotelResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Some very kind words. The hotel grounds are something we often hear our guests talk positively about. We fortunate to be sat in a large amount of acres and are surrounded by an ancient woodland, fields which...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

The hotel is situated just off the main road, so it was easy to find, no need to use the car as there is a jetty for the steamers, just a short walk through Brookhole visitors centre. The staff were lovely, and Helen was very...More

Thank Mary9718
Response from LDCHSManager, Manager at Merewood Country House HotelResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. I happen to agree that we are in a fantastic location. Situated in between Windermere and Ambleside, our guests can really experience the quiet and wilderness of the Lake District, whilst being in touching distance of the...More

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Merewood for the first time NYE to the 2nd Jan. We took our dog who was fussed over by all the staff!! Extremely comfortable, excellent food, comfortable bed and exceptionally clean rooms. Perfect getaway. Perfect staff. Friendly and welcoming. Loved it and we...More

1  Thank TimSarah7176
Response from LDCHSManager, Manager at Merewood Country House HotelResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. Some very kind comments. New Year and Christmas are important times to all of our guests and so we design a special package each and every year. Of course the highlights are our food and drink but...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
134567167
About
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Laundry Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$120 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$120 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Windermere
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windermere
#4 Green Hotel in Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Windermere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#7 Business Hotel in Windermere
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (436)
Room & Suite (142)
Dining (81)
Pool & Beach (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dawn s
2 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Janet Y | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the slow response Yes during our stay we saw three dogs and I’m sure two belonged to the same owner, you can’t take them into the dining rooms but otherwise they can sit with you in the bar or sitting rooms. I... More
0
Votes
Carron C
6 November 2016|
Answer
Response from merewoodhotel | Property representative |
Unfortunately all of our bedrooms are upstairs on either the first or second floors and we have no lift access. Our two sister hotels however do have suitable rooms on the ground floor. They are Cragwood and Briery Wood... More
0
Votes
ahealey123
30 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from ValentineWelwyn | Reviewed this property |
About lunchtime I guess. Try calling the hotel and asking the receptionist as they are very friendly and accommodating there.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"Just a little bit cold but it is february"
Read review
"As stated the Room was very good"
Read review
"We had a room above the kitchen they did turn the fans off but they are a bit noisy and we could hear the..."
Read review
"We had number 6,Milton, and it was gorgeous. It’s the one featured in the brochure."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing