We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kenilworth Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Kenilworth Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Start your review of Kenilworth Guest House
 Click to rate
Pavia, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 3 days there. It was perfect. Andy and Tracy our hosts were great, they made we feel very welcome and gave us useful advices for what to see where to eat. The room was perfect, clean, a lot of light. The breakfast super. Great cakes and coffee expected us every afternoon. What can you desire more? Grazie!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catepv
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For my husband's 80th, our family gifted our stay here which completed our surprise weekend just perfectly. I can't speak too highly of Tracey and Andy's attention to detail and their efforts to make our visit so comfortable and enjoyable. A* all the way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minglecross
Andy B, Owner at Kenilworth Guest House, responded to this review

Guys, Thank you so very much for your lovely review it is very kind of you. It was a pleasure to meet you both but I'm still waiting for Allan to e-mail me his face cream recipe given that I'm 20 years younger and people would think us the same age! I'm really glad you had such a good time...

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very warm welcome by both Tracey and Andy as soon as you step through the door, and offering tea/coffee with fresh homemade flapjacks too. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully furnished. We were in Room 2 which is at the back of the Guesthouse and was extremely quiet. The street that the Guesthouse is in is a quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kirbar2017
Andy B, Owner at Kenilworth Guest House, responded to this review

Kirsty, Thank you so very much for your great review, we really appreciate your time and trouble especially knowing how busy you guys are on the farm. I'm really glad you enjoyed your time here given that you don't get much time away. It would be a pleasure to see you return please remember we always give the best prices...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really impressed! Visited Windermere for the first time for a mini break and booked Kenilworth due to the great reviews on here not really knowing what to expect. Really glad I did, the room was lovely and really clean with a power shower to rival my one at home. Andy & Tracie were great hosts, fab full english and lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jcmcleod
Andy B, Owner at Kenilworth Guest House, responded to this review

Jenny, It would be a pleasure to see you guys again. Don't forget we always give the best prices to people who phone us direct. I'm very glad you had such a great time here and please accept our gratitude for taking the time and trouble to write your lovely review, we appreciate it immensely. Very best wishes for the...

Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Party of six of us, all absolutely delighted with our stay. Location perfect, a short walk from Windermere restaurants and ships, and. £3.50 taxi from Bowness and the lake 1.5 miles ish. Rooms immaculately appointed and very tastefully and comfortably furnished with everything you need. Breakfast everything you might want from freshly cooked full english to fruits and other alternatives....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ParGolfer72
Andy B, Owner at Kenilworth Guest House, responded to this review

For best prices always phone us direct. Guys, It was a pleasure to meet you all and I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write your lovely review it is very much appreciated. I came in last night from a trip to Bowness where I enjoyed a few beers...

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We had another great stay over Easter weekend. Andy and Tracey have a fantastic guest house and that is why we keep going back. Breakfasts are great and really set you up for the day. There is always lovely cakes and fruit waiting for you in the hallway after a day in the Lakes. The quality of everything is top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
Andy B, Owner at Kenilworth Guest House, responded to this review

Guys, It was great to see you again. thanks very much for taking the time to pen your lovely review we are very grateful. Tracey's work on the bannister has now taken up permanent residence to avoid anyone else hitting their head. Though it has to be said Andy is the only person who has ever done it! It will...

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

On arrival we were given tea and homemade cake, and that was only the start. The owners, Andy and Tracey, couldn't have done more to make our stay such a pleasurable experience. Fresh milk and juice are kept in a fridge in the hallway for guests to help themselves. There is also fruit and lovely homemade cake. Tracey also makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hmsrugby
Andy B, Owner at Kenilworth Guest House, responded to this review

Heather, Thank you so very much for your lovely review it is very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet you and Christian and I'm really glad to hear you had a good time here. If you ever get the time to return you will be more than welcome as we really enjoyed your company. Please remember though that...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights to introduce our friends to the Lake District. From the moment we arrived , Andy looked after us. After a long journey we were offered tea and freshly baked cookies, one of the special 'nice touches' that you don't find very often. Andy and Tracey are lovely hosts and nothing is too much trouble....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Andy B, Owner at Kenilworth Guest House, responded to this review

John, It was really great to meet you guys and I must admit to being somewhat relieved when all 4 of your bikes went into out secure bike store. I was disappointed not being able to give you a jar of the marmalade when you left as we were down to our last one but on a positive Tracey has...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This was easily one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in. The room we were given was well decorated and presented to a very high standard and felt more 'homely' than just a guest bedroom. It was in such a quiet area, but literally a 3 minute walk to town, which meant we enjoyed a great sleep after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank welshtravellers2017
Andy B, Owner at Kenilworth Guest House, responded to this review

Michael, It was a pleasure to meet you guys and it's great to hear you had a good time staying with us. We like to try and make sure guests have a good time when they come away and stay with us over and above just the house. This is such a great area with so many things to see...

Israel
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Great B&B run by a great couple. Tracey and Andy are kind, helpful, fun to talk with and run together a great B&B near the centre of town, but still in a very quiet street. Location-wise it is a very good base to explore the entire Lake District. We recommend this B&B!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrorLevy1
Andy B, Owner at Kenilworth Guest House, responded to this review

Dror/Julia, It was great to meet you guys and hear about your lovely children, all five of them! I thought running a B&B was hard work sometimes but having full time jobs and managing five children you made me feel lazy! Thank you very much for taking the time to pen your lovely review it is much appreciated. Fond regards...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Other (7)
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
672 reviews
0.6 km away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
980 reviews
0.6 km away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kenilworth Guest House is a grand Victorian 4 star (visit Britain) guest house centrally located in the Lake District town of Windermere. We are a 5 minute walk from Windermere train station and only a 15 minute stroll from Windermere lake itself. All rooms are centrally-heated and double glazed, and all bedrooms are en-suite. We have 6 rooms: 2 king-size doubles, 1 large double, 2 small doubles and 1 single room. All rooms have recently had new super comfy mattresses, Egyptian cotton bedding, lovely fluffy Christy towels, complementary luxury toiletries and Samsung flat screen TV's. Our breakfast produce is sourced locally and includes award winning hand made Cumberland sausage and free-range eggs from the local farm. We also cater for Vegetarians, Vegans and have a good range of Gluten free. We now have secure Asgard bike storage available for cyclists. We are completely non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kenilworth Guest House

Address: Kenilworth Holly Road, Windermere LA23 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: $133 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kenilworth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kenilworth Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Kenilworth Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All good!!!!!”
ParGolfer72, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great over 3 floors, can't fault any of them.”
amandabD1904LT, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Warm cosy house, owners are very helpful, 3 min walk from some Wonderful restuarants and coffee shops!”
sarahdV695YQ, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are excellent, none are noisy”
slip432, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fantastic”
StuHumph, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates