We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Oakwell Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Oakwell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Royal Oakwell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Connah's Quay
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 29th July to 31st July. On arrival we couldn't find any on street parking so the owner directed us to his private car park around the back of the hotel where we safely parked our car for the two days, from that moment on the customer service at this hotel was excellent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerry S
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

This was our 4th stay at the Royal Oakwell & wouldnt stay anywhere else in Blackpool since we found this wee gem! The family are so welcoming & friendly and really make it feel like a second home. Room was clean, tidy, plenty space & bed was so comfy. Breakfast is great, full english cooked perfect by Angelo & sets...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LauraGilgun
honestly8, Manager at Royal Oakwell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As always a pleasure to see you both. Hopefully see you both soon.

birmingham
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Royal Oakwell. There was a lot of us and I felt the hotel owners did there best to accommodate us all. Both evening meals were fantastic and tasty and compliments to the chef !! Breakfast was also nice even tho my husband Phil would have liked more on his plate lol , rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank birchy04
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Me and my other-half decided to go to Blackpool for a 5 day stay. we had booked a different hotel and less than 18 hours till our stay the cancelled. I found the royal Oakwood on google and decided to give them a call. They were very accommodating, friendly, and great knowledge of where to go what to do, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer O
honestly8, Manager at Royal Oakwell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and im glad you had a good time. I hope you got you got your Malamutes paddling pool sorted. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Excellent holiday again. Wonderful place to stay. Thank you from wendy paul val courts and spen. Most welcuming place. Close to central pier and all attractions. Food lovely. Book up u wont be disappointed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendlof16
Egremont, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Was greeted exceptionally well and was shown where to park by the owner. Rooms very small and in need of upgrading (desperately!). Considering the deco I found this hotel extremely expensive at £75 for 2 adults and 1 child. Breakfast was very poor and you had to be in the dining room at exactly 9am. You also didn't have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank riosnowie20
honestly8, Manager at Royal Oakwell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ( I think). Lets go over some of your points. Firstly you say the room is small. The room sizes are stated on the website you booked it on. So surely if you read that before booking you would of known the size. Secondly £75 for a 1 x Night stay 2 adults and 1...

Nottinghamshire
Reviewed 11 January 2016

A lovely guest house with a warm welcome and a hearty breakfast to set you up for the day. very close to all the facilities and the blackpool tower, excellent value for money, would recommend to all types of people for a short break. car parking facilities at the rear of the guest house is a plus for blackpool.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank billyboysharp
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

Loved my stay & enjoyed my weekend in Blackpool. The room was nice & i enjoyed the comfort of the bed. Negatives about this hotel is that for your breakfast you only get Sausage, Bacon, Egg & Beans with toast. The Sausage tasted disgusting & was blatantly done in oven and didn't taste like sausage at all. The egg was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chloe A
Corby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

On arrival greeted with a warm welcome. There carpark was full but told us where to park for free, then in the morning secured us a spot right outside the hotel. The hotel is situated about ten too fifteen minutes from the pleasure beach and ten minutes from the tower. The room was dated but Comfortable and clean. The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank village2013
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here with my family at the weekend. Made to feel very welcome and comfortable, room was very clean and the breakfast in the morning was beautiful!With very attentive service. Bar area fab too, wouldn't hesitate booking this hotel again :)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura M

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.8 km away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
2,931 reviews
0.8 km away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#213 of 913 in Blackpool
135 reviews
0.7 km away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#349 of 913 in Blackpool
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#450 of 913 in Blackpool
77 reviews
2.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
2,973 reviews
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family run hotel since 1972 the Royal Oakwell Hotel prides itself on simple home cooked food. All our rooms are en-suite. We run the hotel on personal recommendations with people coming back year after year. Stay at the Royal Oakwell and you will not be disappointed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Oakwell Hotel

Address: 17-19 Barton Avenue, Blackpool FY1 6AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: $69 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal Oakwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Oakwell Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
derby
5 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Oakwell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room two at the back. Pretty quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles DinaBradford, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 2nd floor and it was fine”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnet673, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms are all en suite and the hotel has a lift for disabled guests”
 of 5 bubbles markhux2015, 6 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The road was very quiet, so any floor was acceptable”
 of 5 bubbles DianeMcg1, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms are small so request a larger one”
 of 5 bubbles 968kenm, 11 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5