We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The City Rooms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The City Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 98: English reviews
Start your review of The City Rooms
 Click to rate
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great central location, check in was easy with the receptionist showing us to our room and the facilities, room was large, well maintained and clean, the bathroom was again large and complemented with high end fixings. The reception is only part time manned, you have to buzz in when arriving and then are provided with a key code to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B00TB0Y
thecityrooms, General Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The City Rooms for your recent stay in Leicester City and for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and very useful. With regards to your observation about secondary glazing on our bedroom windows, unfortunately as a Grade Listed building we do not have the permission to do this. We do hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stunning venue and great staff. Would highly recommend city rooms as a the perfect wedding venue! Staffs attention to detail coupled with great food and service makes this venue unique and special in its own right. Venue doesn't require much decor as it's absolutely stunning inside.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 113amardeepkaur
thecityrooms, General Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Amardeep, thank you for taking the time to review us. It was an absolute pleasure to host your special day and hope to see you again very soon.

Leicester
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We had an incredible time! The events manager that delt with us was amazing and so professional. My sons naming day was perfect, the staff were so kind and friendly and the food was top notch. They took care of every little detail so on the day I had nothing to worry about. Could not recommend this place more. Excellent...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahjanestarr
thecityrooms, Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, thank you for your time in reviewing us, your event was an absolute pleasure to host and we hope to welcome you back to The City Rooms soon.

Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

(I am writing this review following a private Charity event that was arranged by the Babies & Bumps Events team. We had 160 guests). Dear Lianna, Cherlynn and the rest of the team at the City Rooms. A heartfelt thank you for helping us organize such a wonderful charity afternoon tea event. I have never dealt with a team so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaminat
thecityrooms, Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Shamin, thank you for your time in reviewing us. We absolutely loved hosting your afternoon tea event and we do hope to see you again very soon.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We attended the wedding reception of a dear friend but were sadly disappointed with the whole affair. The whole place just lacks atmosphere and is looking tatty despite a supposed recent refurb. But the food was truly awful. Overcooked soggy cabbage, overcooked belly pork, carrots clearly out of date and rooty tasting, horrific watery mash potato and salty gravy no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Facey725
thecityrooms, General Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The City Rooms, we appreciate all feedback and are sorry to hear you feel disappointed. The atmosphere is something that is determined by a number of factors – numbers, the mix of guests and layout being just a few. The numbers and mix of guests is something chosen by...

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Stunning building in the heart of the City. Came here for a wedding reception . Everything was just right .... fantastic service.... great food and drinks..... an excellent venue. Within walking distance of main hotels

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cce2572
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Came for our work Christmas Party in a group of 24. The all inclusive Christmas party had a great selection of drinks included. The food was amazing and the service was great! Lovely place! Thanks for having us! Loved the band too!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bailey4990
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I arranged this afternoon tea for my Mum, sister and myself. The City rooms are lovely and the room we ate in was lovely and warm, with very good service from the Lady that dealt with us through out. How ever that's as good as its going to get, we were very disappointed with the sandwiches. I felt that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
thecityrooms, General Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Sharon, thank you for taking the time to review your recent afternoon tea with us and a very Happy New Year. We’re glad you enjoyed our customer service as this is one of the elements we pride ourselves in. We’re sorry you felt the variety of our sandwiches was not enough, as we do four varieties, plus additional for...

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful day. Room has high ceilings and sound system didn't cope well so speeches were lost and no one could hear what was said-very disappointing. Costly for drinks. Food was good and staff friendly. Lift between floors for disabled but no one to help when downstairs door kept open so lift wouldn't work. The day was so lovely that this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bev C
thecityrooms, General Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The City Rooms. We’re very happy to hear you enjoyed the food and found our staff to be friendly – these are just a couple of aspects we pride ourselves on. With regards to a few of the points raised in your review, I would like to assure...

Reviewed 17 September 2016

we had our wedding at the city rooms on the 2nd of September and we loved every minute the staff were so friendly and helpful they honestly couldn't do enough for us. special thanks to Carly as she helped with all my stresses through the planning stages and emailed me answers to my questions quickly she was also a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis35penceR
thecityrooms, General Manager at The City Rooms, responded to this review

Hi Louise, It was an absolute pleasure to host your beautiful wedding day. Thank you for taking your time to review us. We'll be sure to pas on your feedback to all the staff and hope to see you again very soon!

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.9 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
834 reviews
0.3 km away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
869 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#13 of 41 in Leicester
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The City Rooms

Address: City Rooms 10 Hotel Street, Leicester LE1 5AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: $132 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The City Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The City Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The City Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room we had was up the equivalent of three quite steep flights of stairs so discuss any mobility issues with staff before booking.”
SueandPhil67, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“great location to use as a city centre base . super for out of town guests to stay who attend a function there .”
Sst123, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“Only a few rooms but all incredible; won't be disappointed!”
derryh2014, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Middle floor rooms are quieter”
L8ly, 8 Jan 2016 | Read review
“call ahead for parking space”
  • bedroom
  • Bedroom
  • Hallway in room
  • bathroom
  • Bathroom
Blerke, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5