We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

735 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 718: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We were in Leicester where I was born meeting up with family and friends friends I have not seen for a number of years, the last time we met was at the Grand back in 1999, We stayed their then and also this year for two nights, the rooms are rather small as too the bathroom but clean. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 186534Pitney
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was glad to read you had a great time catching up with family and seeing how Leicester has changed. Our rooms do vary in size however we do have more on the larger side. Our housekeeping team do work extremely hard to provide clean and tidy rooms and i was delighted you noticed this...

Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Excellent location, friendly staff, a traditional hotel combining tradition with modern flair. A nice and inviting lobby, leading towards either the bar or the Italian Restaurant. City Center and RIII just a walk away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k_st17
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was delighted you liked our hotel and found the location to be excellent and the staff friendly. We do hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Leicester.

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 May 2016

I chose this hotel based on both the photos on the hotels.com website and the proximity to the Curve theatre, as that was the reason for our visit (Legally Blonde The Musical, HIGHLY recommended). Easy enough to find, town centre location, on site parking though an alley next to the hotel entrance. Was very impressed when we walked into the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The photos on the website used are indicative of all our room types. Whether it be a classic double or twin or a Privilege room. Which can be booked with breakfast by choosing that option or as you did choose to reserve room only. The lift was refurbishes at the same time as the ground...

Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

I am not one to moan and I requested the hotel this time as I have stayed there previously on a few occasions. It did not start well I was booked as Mrs Andrew xxxx on my arrival, I did point this out and was told that it was a new employee who does not really understand too much……REALLY, that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry on this occasion your stay was not as good as previous ones. I do hope you will give us an other opportunity to change your point of view. With this in mind as I have already emailed you direct please do drop me and email and I personally will make the necessary...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Pros: Centrally located. Very spacious lobby area for quick coffee / meetings with colleagues possible. Bar is open late for guests so we were happy to be able to get a drink after a late work day. While I don’t rate the other ‘Marco’ restaurants highly at all, this one was a pleasant surprise and we ate there on several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meatshawarma
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The hotel is Grade 11 listed Victorian building so not likely to be like the other soulless branded hotels. Our rooms do vary in size, design and decor however all are clean or impeccably clean as you have stated, tidy, well maintained with a very comfortable bed. The wifi is very good throughout the hotel...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

I stayed at The Grand Hotel, on workdays, for business for 6 weeks. The location is central and convenient. The entrance lobby to the hotel is grand and spacious, and the reception team are great - always friendly and helpful. The beds and breakfast are good too. From there's it's all a bit downhill. Having had the pleasure (or misfortune)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You are quite right our rooms do vary, in size, shape and design. We are 118 year old and we have to sympathetic to Victorian character throughout. We are disappointed to read the comments in relation to the poor maintenance and be rest assured your comments will be shared with our maintenance team to ensure...

UK
Reviewed 3 May 2016

My husband and I love this hotel - remember its glory days from 25 years ago when we lived in the city. We visit Leicester regularly -at least twice a year for visiting friend and to watch rugby. Location amazing, building and atmosphere spot on but every time we come there is a problem. Last week we upgraded to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k_bates
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is quite clear you should not have been checked into the room allocated by the receptionist on duty which was a genuine human error. So please accept our sincere apologies for this. We have a great track record on our cleanliness and I am sorry it was not up to the usual high standards...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Once inside the Mercure it is a grand and lovely space, great for business meetings. The staff were friendly and smiling, but didn't actually come over to take any orders. I had to go to the bar each time and for the bill. It is much better on the inside and has a lot of remnants of former glory I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was glad you liked the hotel and the team where friendly and smiling. However i am disappointed they didn't go the extra mile as they usually do. We do hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed for the night and the food was lovely. The rooms on the other hand were not great. The bathroom had a rubbish roof and we was able to push it up, anyone could of got in. The rooms didn't look like the pictures, we was expecting what we saw in the picture and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We cannot put a picture of every single room on the 3rd party websites, in fact we only can put one of each room type which we have done. The bathroom you refer to is a suspended ceiling which no on can enter. On a positive note I was delighted you enjoyed the food. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

A grand building with a fairly impressive lobby and seating area leading to the Marco Pierre White Restaurant One lift from the lobby which was a bit of a pain! Very drab and uninviting rooms with such old and boring furniture, though the bed was a good size as was the bathroom. On the whole, terribly dull I thought I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashfran1
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed you did not like our beautiful Grade 11 listed Victorian hotel. That has been carefully being constantly restored. I am also disappointed to read the comments regarding the restaurant and I will be sure to share with the team in Marcos. Once again thank you for your review and we do hope...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.7 km away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#12 of 41 in Leicester
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
774 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
806 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: $104 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Rochester, Minnesota
over a year ago
uk
over a year ago
Bath, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms rather on upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles rikanika, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles jillcoulsonc, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“4th floor is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Alshoes, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles 66amandas, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles james595832, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay