We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Newport Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Newport Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 201: English reviews
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

After a decidedly cool reception we were taken to room 8. All ok apart from the icy draft coming from the two large sash Windows. Roman blinds are very attractive but they do not keep out the light nor, more importantly the icy cold coming from the single glazed Windows. If you usually sleep with the windows open in winter,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SallySand
NewportGuestHouse, General Manager at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Sally, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, this is the first complaint we have had regarding this room being too cold (portable heaters/extra blankets are provided in all rooms on top of the heating being turned on), the roman blinds fitted are in fact custom made black out blinds. We regret that you did...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was supposed to be a relaxing birthday treat in lincoln. It was anything but. Our room was so hot, even with heating turned off, we had to turn on a fan. The bed was just so awful. So hard and pillows was just as bad. Our backs hurt all night. Very dissapointed. We have had 4 hours sleep. Then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sacha L
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you felt you had to leave early, of course we would have turned the heating down if requested but alas, we were not given that opportunity and had you taken up our offer of an alternative room, i am sure we could have provider you with a cooler room. Regarding the bed, thankfully this is...

Newcastle
Reviewed 1 week ago

we have used this guest house for many years and the staff are very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable and breakfasts are great. They have recently extended and upgraded so is better than ever. Also only a few minutes walk from castle, cathedral and historic steep hill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geordiefolk
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are all very grateful for the kind words Best wishes Mike

pyke8
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and found the room to be clean, pleasantly refurbished with an excellent bathroom. Everything was relatively basic and could perhaps do with some upward refining e.g a better selection of tea and coffee facilities in the room rather than just PG tips and Nescafe and industrial mugs, but a minor grievance. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pyke8
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Trip advisor is an excellent tool for enabling future customers or returning customers to make an informed choice on their accommodation options. It is therefore important that customers are honest and accurate with their reviews as inaccuracies are unfair to the establishment concerned and the potential customer reading...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked through Groupon and paid upfront for a two day visit to the guest house between Christmas and New Year as a Christmas surprise for my partner. Having bought the voucher for £95, I contacted the guest house to arrange a booking and we confirmed 26th-28th December. 'Perfect' - I thought! A nice Christmas get away! A few...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jack B
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

We are always disappointed when customers experiences do not at least exceed expectations, however, guests also have a responsibility to enable us to fulfill our duties towards the total guest experience. Purchasing a non refundable non changeable but very cheap voucher inevitably comes with some conditions, I.e. It is non refundable and non changeable! We do however try to help...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely impressed with the room provided! Lovely little things that made it better such as ear plugs, shower caps etc, breakfast also lovely! As are staff! Only thing I can say I was extremely cold through the night as my bed was next to a window but the little electric heater provided helped me out there. Would definitely recommend- great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie P
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, heaters and blankets are in all rooms for that very eventually, glad they restored your comfort. Best wishes Mike

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our room was well furnished and decorated. The bed was comfortable and the premises were very clean and well cared for. Breakfast was a good meal with a wide variety of options and our vegan diet was catered for. There are two delightful dogs in the reception area. The staff are all friendly and efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionalemmon
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Very kind words, the doggies were delighted to meet you. Best wishes Mike

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely stay and very accommodating owners/staff. Quality breakfast with nice veggie option. Overall would recommend, clean, value for money and great location too. No parking on site but helpfully we were provided with street names which were free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlene B
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Mike

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Lovely clean room, owners can't do enough for you and are very helpful. Would have scored it a 5 but we had room 2 which is at the front and next to the front door. There was lots of road traffic which was noisy and you could hear people coming in and out. This aside, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank africatwin46
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, regret all our rooms have some element of noise at varying times of the day, but our central location (5 minutes minutes from the historic centre) inevitably comes at this price! Delighted you had a good time with us! Mike

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

First time visitors to the city. Arrived around 1230 and as it was too early to check in, we found a nearby car park (of which there are plenty, within minutes access to the city). Once checked in (we were on the very upper floor), which could prove to be a problem for some individuals). Room 14 was immaculately presented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
Mike C, Owner at Newport Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we agree room 14 is up many stairs but we don't put people up there if there are mobility issues, for those fit enough, the room itself is reward for the effort!! Thanks again Mike

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
1,549 reviews
0.4 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
428 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Newport Guest House is luxury bed and breakfast accomodation in a recently refurbished Victorian town house just a 5 minute walk from the historic city centre of Lincoln. The building has been extended and tastefully decorated to the highest standards with each room being individually designed to be comfortable and relaxing whilst being in a warm and welcoming home from home atmosphere.Newport Guest House offers 14 newly refurbished rooms which are tastefully decorated with high quality furnishings. Each room has its own en-suite bathroom and comes equipped with a 32" flat screen TV with Freeview, tea/coffee making facilities, hairdriers, complimentary toiletries and free wireless internet. Unlike many other hotels/guest houses within Lincoln city, we allow all pets to stay. Please note that all of our rooms are strictly non-smoking only. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newport Guest House

Address: 26-28 Newport, Lincoln LN1 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range: $97 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Newport Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newport Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Preston, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Newport Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Traffic noise at front of guesthouse”
 of 5 bubbles pyke8, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I am unable to offer advice on this matter but, judging from the guest house's location, there are only urban views.”
 of 5 bubbles fionalemmon, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We where in room 14 quite a lot of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles bmjwilliam, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Discuss with the owner for your preferences.”
 of 5 bubbles PaulM733, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles michaelm406, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay