We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Adelphi Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Adelphi Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 5,290: English reviews
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2015

beautiful hotel and understandably dated due to the age. However the bed was uncomfortable and the room was extremely hot and stuffy with no way of opening the windows further than they were already. did not sleep for the two nights i stayed due to this . would not recommend this hotel for a comfy stay. Also while i was...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 59teresad
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments after staying with us recently. I am sorry you found some aspects of your stay uncomfortable. Health and Safety requirements for hotels are that windows should not open to full capacity, however, we are aware that this can make for stuffy atmosphere and as we do not have air conditioning,...

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

We bought a Groupon offer to the Britannia Adelphi Hotel in Liverpool for a one night stay for two, with breakfast, 24 hour parking, bottle of wine and access to pool and gym included. We'd never been to Liverpool on holiday and we were really excited about it. We arrived at the hotel early so left the car and went...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JanetteClare
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments after staying with us on our very popular Groupon offer. I am sorry your stay was spoilt by refurbishment work being carried out on the 6th floor, (work shouldn't have started until 9am, so I am sorry If it started earlier). We were having our wifi updated, but it should have been available in the lounge...

Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

Although the rooms are a little dated the staff more than make up for this nothing is to much trouble The meals are fantastic value and the hotel itself is central to all the local amenities. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camsafc
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello and many thanks for your lovely comments, following your stay with us. It is nice of you to specifically mention the staff so thank you for that I will let the managers know at our next meeting so it can be passed onto everyone. We are in an ideal location and praise indeed that you will return to us....

Accrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2015

When we checked in the reception staff could not even be bothered to smile at guests.This hotel is tired and dated and the rooms could have done with a good clean. Our room had cracks on the ceiling & stains on the carpet. In our friends room the shower did not work and the wood was coming away on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 549ali
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write your comments after staying with us recently. I am sorry you felt the staff were not smiling, I will let the reception manager know. We are undergoing a refurbishment of many of our bedrooms, so the comments you make about your room will hopefully soon be rectified. It is disappointing that you would...

Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

One night stay for Liverpool spectacular & Beatles tribute with Caladonia. This hotel is very old and worn. The room was big enough, clean bedding & towels. Look out for the scalding water coming through the taps & shower. We went out for dinner, and we are glad we did after hearing about the tastless chicken & horrible vegetables next...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jenileemcc
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after staying with us recently. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay as part of Caledonian Beatles tribute. I do not know which guests you spoke to, but reading many of the comments on this site, other guests who attended the evening had a wonderful time..... Liverpool is a great city and our...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

This is the first time I have stayed at Adelphi, usually stay at Malmaison when in Liverpool but was tempted by Wowcher deal...... ALL staff that we had contact with were extremely pleasant and friendly in approach. The shower was lovely and powerful, Wave Bar has a great atmosphere, unfortunately that's where the positives end. The Adelphi is somewhat tired...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pelstob
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us on one of the many Britannia Hotels amazing offers. I am sorry you did not enjoy all aspects of your time here, although you mention favourably the staff, the shower, Wave Bar, but do not state what let us down. I am sure for the great value for money...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015

The grandeur of the hotel is impressive, very large rooms, but overpriced and retaurant is no better than a school canteen. I have never had to queue or serve myself at even a hostel. The reception staff were on the whole helpful, except for one older lady who was rude, unpleasant, and racist. The full on Gypsy wedding guests were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maggiegorrie
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after staying with us last April. The hotel is very impressive and grand and our public areas are huge. I would not agree that we are over priced at all, we are very competitively priced and there are some excellent deals on our website which offer great value for money. I totally dispute your comment...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

Caledonian beetles tribute Staff friendly that was the Adelphi's saving grace so well done to them. Public areas beautiful under utilized but nice to see especially the replica of Titanic smokers lounge. Room clean but tired and while it's nice to have old style furniture it does need to be presented well. Decor curtains etc Do nothing to compliment building...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank outandabout2007
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after staying with us as part of the Caledonian Beatles tribute function. Our public areas are extremely well utilised with 5 weddings being held here almost every Saturday from May through to October..... and yes the Sefton Rook (Titanic replica) is one of our most requested function rooms for conferences, dinners, weddings etc. I will...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

room was very small & just about clean enough. Water in bathroom was very hot & shower difficult to control. Breakfast was very busy & felt rushed, but was better than dinner the previous night which was a set meal as part of a tribute night, I've had better school dinners, watery soup, hard veg & tasteless chicken. Liked Liverpool...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lturnbl
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us as part of Caledonian Beatles tribute event. There have been many mixed reviews on this site from your party, some excellent and some like your own a bit negative. I am sorry you feel unable to return to stay with us, as we do have many extremely happy guests...

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Where to start. Booked a Double got a twin (room 181), asked to move. Got moved to a basement type room with the air conditioning ducting as a view (room M8) Moved again was told only had smoking rooms left, and well to say it was filthy would be giving it a compliment (room 458) Finally spoke up and complained...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Paul J
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Adelphi Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after staying with us. The room you booked through booking.com was actually a 'run of the house; room which means whatever room type we have available at time of check in. I am sorry that despite being offered 3 different rooms, you were still unhappy with your stay. Some guests prefer the hard mattress to...

1,830 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1712)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (211)
Viewed
Bathroom (154)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (455)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
2:18
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (758)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (106)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Suite with Jacuzzi (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
3,777 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
1,299 reviews
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#26 of 99 in Liverpool
4,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Adelphi Hotel & Spa is a stunning Edwardian style Hotel in Central Liverpool. The grand building is rich in history and is just 3 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street and is close to many Liverpool attractions. The hotel offers a Spindles Health & Leisure Club which includes an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and gym. They also have two restaurants, residents bar and Wave Bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel & Spa

Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Price Range: $73 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelphi Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Adelphi Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adelphi Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Adelphi Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from lifts. Better hotels nearby”
 of 5 bubbles Loveatingout49, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Good views of the city from Sixth floor.”
 of 5 bubbles D9634GUmargaretb, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dont think about going there”
 of 5 bubbles 186342Paul, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 206 side of hotel quiet”
 of 5 bubbles sue53Newcastle, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel front facing rooms have better city views”
 of 5 bubbles O5944KCjosephm, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5