We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clink78

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clink78
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,903 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,126: English reviews
Start your review of Clink78
 Click to rate
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The old court house provides comfortable hostel accommodation, which included a simple continental style breakfast. The location is about 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross, and the connections from there give easy access to the rest of London and beyond. During my visit the lift did not work. Travellers unable to use the stairs should probably communicate this to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BarneyB1981
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Barney, Thanks for your review! Happy to hear you loved the location :-) Sorry about the broken lift! We are getting a new lift installed at the moment which should be ready in about 3 weeks. We always advice guests to not leave valuable things in the luggage room, there are separate lockers for that. We also have CCTV...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It is my first time in clink 78 the place is clean ,the wifi is v.good and the staff is really friendly and very helpful but the rooms is kind of small but still comfy . The place as a whole is near from underground station and transportation generally I recommend clink 78.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asln4
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

At a very good location, just 10 minutes walk from Kings Cross/St Pancras this was an ok place to stay for just a few days or over a weekend. The rooms are old prison cells so ragged with time but still good enough standard. Simple Ikea furniture. No alcohol to be brought inside but local pubs just outside the door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chandra S
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Chandra, Thanks for your review and great feedback! Happy to hear you liked the location :-) The breakfast is free and therefore indeed basic. We are thinking about getting some extra things, so thanks for your thoughts :-) The Wifi is normally really strong, so for next time you don't have to worry about that! Please next time ask...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Awesome if you're traveling by yourself and on a budget. Friendly staff, great bar and the small dorms are great. They have a very cosy camping feel about them. Showers are nice and the breakfast is very basic, but you don't really need anything else. 10/10 would visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay K
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Thanks Lindsay for your amazing review! Happy to hear you had a great weekend! Happy travels :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After an evening at 0*C and rain, you would expect a nice warm room to return to. Not the case. The heating system did not work and it was colder than at the reception or the hallway. The staff did not solve the problem and did not offer another room/bed. Breakfast is poor. I will not go there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D4reY0u
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback! Sorry about the cold room! Could you send me more details of your stay so we can investigate why this happened? Thanks! The breakfast is free and therefore basic. If you'd like to have a greater selection, we are more than happy to give you our recommendations of places close to the hostel :-) Kind...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

My room was on the top floor (5th) and was terrible. The radiator didn't work and the wind came through the CLOSED window. I am now ill due to sleeping in these conditions. The corridor was warmer than my room. Very satisfactory.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgsgsg604
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi, So sorry to hear that! Please next time come to the reception right away with this so we can check the heater or change rooms for you! Hope despite this you enjoyed London! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here before and usually find it very good and have an enjoyable stay, but on this visit staff were not usual friendly or helpful selves. The lift was not working, no advance warning was given or offer of assistance or alternatives as the room was on 4th Floor. Will give another go as other visits have been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cuten S
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Cuten, Thanks for your feedback! I will let the team know about this! Sorry about the lift, can image that was annoying! This month a new lift will be placed. We definitely hope you will be back with us soon, we will make sure you will be satisfied again :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was my first visit ever to UK or in any hostel in that matter and I am glad I chose clink78. I lived good 6 yrs in boarding school and this place brought back the memories To start off. The location is Fantastic.. it's close to the station and in middle of a happening street. King's cross offer variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shashi12345
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Sashi, Thanks for your great review, happy to see you had a great time with us! Unfortunatly we can't put the lockers in the corridors due safety reasons.. We hope to see you back again soon :-) Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is conveniently located and great if you're on a budget. It has no curfew, a free (basic) breakfast is included in the price, the rooms are quite clean and there is WiFi throughout the building. Staff are friendly and helpful. Check-in/out were easy and swift, and you can come and go as you please. There are plenty pubs/restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mendiej
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Mendie, Thanks for your lovely review :-) Happy to hear you had a great time! Happy future travels! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What's amazing in this hostel is almost everything. Staff is very friendly and understandable. Brand new showers. Rooms are small but it's a hostel not a hotel so you get for what you pay. BUT inside this hostel you also have a nice kitchen, plenty spaces to sit, baby foot, billard table, and a bar which sell pint for less...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxime s
Clink_Hostels1, Guest Relations Manager at Clink78, responded to this review

Hi Maxime, Thanks a lot for your amazing review, that's great to hear :-)! Glad to hear you loved the new showers! We hope until soon! Kind regards, Laura, Guest Experience Manager

659 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (390)
Viewed
Room/Suite (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (232)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm Basic (20)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Private Room Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#56 of 816 in London
575 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#31 of 816 in London
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 816 in London
2,293 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#26 of 816 in London
439 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 816 in London
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighbourhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clink is a social and stylish backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience a heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, private rooms, dorm rooms, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clink78

Address: 78 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Price Range: $28 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Clink78 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clink78 staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Clink78 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to tube station and buses.”
 of 5 bubbles 655chandras, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The small birdsnest dorms are the cosiest.”
 of 5 bubbles lindsayk394, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles sgsgsg604, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go to the upper levels if you can not downstairs- may be less mouldy.”
 of 5 bubbles kelp23, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms far from the bar are quieter ;-)”
 of 5 bubbles AnneAnke, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5