We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA London St Pauls

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

490 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 324: English reviews
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night with my husband...we had a private room with bunkbeds ,the bottom bunk being a double. Basic room,very clean. We had a shared showed and loo,between maybe 4 or 5 rooms,but we never had a problem using them,no loo ques! Towels are not provided,but you can hire them. Breakfast is great value,and has a large choice...though there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zyferon
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Zyferon, What a wonderful review you have left on our hostel, especially about the staff. We hope you stay with with us again in the very near future. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager More 

Wiveliscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were shocked to find that this hostel does not provide a self-catering kitchen, not even a kettle, microwave or crockery to use for take away. When we arrived late in the evening after a long day in London we couldn't cook the ready meals we had purchased to feed the children and instead had to head out again to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to post your review albeit a very unfair score. If you look on YHA London St Pauls webpage it is very clear ""We have no self catering facilities". We cant be held responsible for guests not reading the hostel description prior to booking. Im pleased that you were offered free breakfast which saved you... More 

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

First things first - this is a hostel, not an hotel, and both the price and the facilities reflect this. I stayed for one night, booking a single room, and felt the hostel was very good value for money. I was able to leave my bag when I arrived in London in the morning, then checked in when I returned... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tbagpuss
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi tbagpuss, Thanks for the review. What more can I add, your review gives a great insight to YHA London St Pauls. I will pass on your comments to my team. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager More 

Ranthambore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hello, last week i traveled to London, and i stayed in YHA hostel , the experince was too good it was center London near St paul cathidral Cherch 2 min waking disstance from Tube station. Service was good neet and Clean and very Cheap too. I really enjoyed my trip to london.

Helpful?
Thank AbbasAZaidi
YHAStPauls, Activities Team Leader at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review of our hostel. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your interactions with the team. We hope to see you again! Tom, Activities Team Leader More 

Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights here and it was very good value for money. Clean, simple. Check In was friendly and accommodating. We had dinner/breakfast at the YHA once which was very good. Traditional english breakfast. We stayed in all female dorm.Great location as well for sightseeing and nights out in Covent Garden. Worst case you can always walk back to... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
1 Thank wicketweezel
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Wicketweezel, Thank you for the wonderful review you left on our hostel, we always appreciate great feedback from our guests. Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager More 

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second time to come London and YHA still in my first choice. I have to say the reception here have a very good attitude. This time we met Giovianni (the reception man) because we came here with some problems but he was very kind and being so patient to us. This was the warmest thing that I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank yomika0625
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Yomika, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review, especially your comments on Giovanni. We hope to see you again really soon Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager More 

Leigh, Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic location - when they say it's near St Paul's they're not exaggerating, it's virtually next door. Some of it could do with a lick of paint (though the communal areas are really nice) but the welcome is friendly, the staff are uniformly helpful, the place is spotless and it's great value for this amazing location.

Helpful?
1 Thank leigh_guy
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Leigh_Guy, Thank you for the wonderful review on our hostel, yes, we really are lucky to be in such an incredible location, we often get to see the Royal Family from our lounge window. Hope to see you back at our hostel again really soon. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The staff as we booked in were very helpful and friendly and polite. The only problem I had was I went to bed someone else was in it. Great central place to stay. We loved it and looking forward to going back soon. Just can't wait

Helpful?
1 Thank Nichola M
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Nichola, That you for the great review you you left on our hostel, especially the wonderful comments on our staff. Sorry to hear that someone had got into your bed, some guests think they can take any bed, I do however hope that we sorted it all out for you. Hope to see you again really soon. Kind regards,... More 

Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Great and quiet hostel in an excellent location! The staff was very friendly and eager to help and give tips for shopping & sightseeing. It's definitely not a party hostel (which I appreciate) and the rooms were maybe not fitted with the newest of facilities, but the overall atmosphere was cozy and everything very clean! The high level of security... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Winterheart
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Miss Winterheart, Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be friendly. We will be going through a refurb in the very near future so things will be so much more comfortable. Hope to see you again. Thank you... More 

313 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Eleven Person Dorm (25)
Viewed
Modern Five Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
Modern Single Room (12)
Viewed
Modern Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Quad Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#73 of 792 in London
341 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#150 of 792 in London
253 reviews
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 792 in London
1,035 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 792 in London
597 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City of London

Neighbourhood Profile
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighbourhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Price Range: $35 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Newcastle-under-lyme
over a year ago
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Mpls, Mn
9 months ago
10 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to toilet and shower facilities”
 of 5 bubbles Dankei, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There might be good rooms in this YHA but it would appear to be a lottery.”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwi_Cath, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I was in dorm room 27 - 2nd floor at the front - and there was a LOT of street noise”
 of 5 bubbles lucyawainwright, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The single room on top floor with view of St Paul's Cathedral”
 of 5 bubbles yvonnem21463, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I'd recommend a private room with only people you know but that's just what I chose to do and had no problem”
 of 5 bubbles KatrinaS137, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay