We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Citadines Islington London

3 Shelly Place, Islington Square Islington, London N1 1WF England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#229 of 1,130 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The apart'hotel Citadines Islington London is located on Upper street, a short distance from both Angel and Highbury and Islington tube stations. Sadler’s Wells Theatre and the Business Design Centre are both within a 15-minute walk from the property. All air-conditioned studios and apartments are equipped with complimentary highspeed WiFi, a flat-screen TV with Chromecast, an electronic safe, a coffee machine and an electric kettle. The kitchen is supplied with a microwave oven, and a refrigerator. The serviced apartment offers free hot beverages in the lobby, a breakfast room, a business corner and a fitness centre. Reception is available 24/7. Optional services: laundry and dry-cleaning services, ironing and babysitting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Safe
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3 Shelly Place, Islington Square Islington, London N1 1WF England
Citadines Islington London
107Reviews3Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 93
  • 8
  • 4
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Curious58796841315 wrote a review Apr 11
2 contributions
If you are staying in Islington for the night, Citadines is the place to go! Very friendly staff who are available at any time to help you with your stay. The room itself is top notch. The combination of adjustable air con and a very comfortable bed make a good night’s sleep easy. The location is also perfect as the 43 bus stops 2 minutes away.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeta Soare, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines Islington London
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Curious58796841315, Thank you for your highly recommended review of Citadines in Islington! We greatly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear about your positive experience during your stay with us. We are fortunate to be in the heart of Islington, surrounded by a variety of shops and restaurants. It's very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and, most importantly, that you felt at home-away-from-home! The convenient location of our hotel, with close transport links , makes exploring Islington effortless. We're pleased that you found it convenient for getting around and experiencing all that the area has to offer. Our team takes pride in providing exceptional service, and it's wonderful to know that our friendly staff were readily available to assist you throughout your stay. We believe that excellent customer service is key to ensuring our guests have a memorable and comfortable experience. We're glad that you found your room to be top-notch, with the combination of adjustable air conditioning and a comfortable bed allowing for a restful night's sleep. We strive to provide comfortable accommodations that meet our guests' needs, and we're delighted that this was the case for you. Thank you again for recommending Citadines. If you have any future visits planned or if there's anything else we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay! Kindest regards, Elisabeta Soare, Assistant Residence Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sightseer238743 wrote a review Apr 10
1 contribution
Convenient location, in the heart of Islington, surrounded by cafes, shops and restaurants. Within walking distance to two underground stations: Islington and Angel. Tucked away in a quiet alley which Uber drivers may have difficulty locating, but makes for a very pleasant, relaxed and quiet stay. Very comfy and spacious rooms with all amenities including microwave, dishwasher and self-service laundry (in the building). The 24/7 beverage counter and cosy lounge make it feel like a home-away-from-home! Staff were friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeta Soare, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines Islington London
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Sightseer238743, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and kind words about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Islington, with easy access to cafes, shops, and restaurants. We understand that the quiet alley may sometimes be a bit challenging for Uber drivers, but we're glad it contributed to a pleasant and relaxed stay for you. We're thrilled that you found our rooms comfy and spacious, equipped with all the amenities you needed, including a microwave, dishwasher, and self-service laundry. We believe these additional facilities truly enhance the overall guest experience. Creating a home-away-from-home atmosphere is what we strive for, and we're glad to hear that our 24/7 beverage counter and cozy lounge contributed to that feeling during your stay. Our dedicated staff members are committed to providing exceptional service, and we're delighted that they were friendly and helpful throughout your visit. Thank you once again for choosing our hotel and for sharing your positive feedback. It means a lot to us! We would be thrilled to welcome you back in the future and provide you with another memorable stay. Kindest regards, Elisabeta Soare, Assistant Residence Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alex C wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Great Islington location with lots of great local amenities within walking distance. Lovely interior decor throughout the apartments and hotel, with friendly welcoming staff and a nicely presented breakfast. Rooms were spacious and warm with lots of appliances in the self contained kitchen and throughout the apartment. Very comfortable beds made for a great nights rest. Would certainly use again if required and recommend to others.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shahin Karaash, General Manager at Citadines Islington London
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Alexc, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay and experience at Citadines Islington, London! Thank you for your amazing review. It's very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and, most importantly, that you felt at home-away-from-home! We are happy to have met your expectations in service and quality standards. Receiving such positive feedback from our residents motivates us to further improve our commitment to delivering good service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. With Kind Regards, Shahin Karaash Residence Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thamila M wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
The location, the bed and the kitchenette are great. The room is well furnished and there is a small garden between the buildings. We used the laundry room. We did not use the fitness and did not have breakfast there. The people at the reception are very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shahin Karaash, General Manager at Citadines Islington London
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Thamilam2024, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Citadines Islington, London. We are so happy that you enjoyed your apartment and facilities. We are happy that you made use of the laundry room and hope you have a chance to join us for breakfast on your next stay. Thank you so much for recognising our staff and service, which we are truly proud of. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to a home-away-from-home! With Kind Regards, Shahin Karaash Residence Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Feltstar wrote a review Mar 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
What a fantastic place to stay - within easy access of all that Upper Street and Islington have to offer, but with a wonderfully quiet and comfortable room in which to have a good night's sleep. Rooms are spacious, clean, well-equipped and verycomfortable; I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeta Soare, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines Islington London
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Feltstar, Thank you for your fantastic review and for choosing Citadines Islington, London, as your preferred location. We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience staying with us. We're glad that our location in Islington provided you with easy access to all that Upper Street and the surrounding area have to offer. We are fortunate to be in the heart of Islington, surrounded by a variety of shops and restaurants. It's very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and, most importantly, that you felt at home-away-from-home! It's great to know that you found your room wonderfully quiet and comfortable, allowing you to have a good night's sleep. We understand the importance of a restful sleep and aim to provide a tranquil environment for our guests. We're thrilled to hear that you wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. It is our greatest pleasure to have earned your loyalty and trust. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to Islington. Kindest Regards, Elisabeta Soare, Assistant Residence Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JEGBSTEDS wrote a review Mar 2024
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom23 contributions39 helpful votes
Really comfortable stay! I love staying here - the rooms are roomy, the kitchenette just what's needed for staying in, the bed lovely, the windows great - and you can open them and see great views. It's also really well sound-proofed so no loud noises or doors slamming. I've already booked my next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeta Soare, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines Islington London
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear JEGBSTEDS, Thank you for your amazing feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you love staying with us and that you had such a fantastic experience. We are fortunate to be in the heart of Islington, surrounded by a variety of shops and restaurants. It's very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and, most importantly, that you felt at home-away-from-home! It's fantastic to know that you find our rooms to be roomy and comfortable. We're glad that our kitchenette facilities meet your needs for staying in. Having the convenience of a kitchenette allows guests to prepare their own meals and enjoy a home-like experience. Thank you for your kind words about our lovely beds. We understand the importance of a good night's sleep, and we're glad that our beds provide the comfort you seek. Thank you for highlighting the soundproofing of our rooms. We understand the importance of a peaceful environment, and we're glad that you were not disturbed by any external noises. We're thrilled to know that you've already booked your next stay with us. It's our utmost pleasure to have earned your loyalty, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful experience. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to your return. Kindest regards, Elisabeta Soare, Assistant Residence Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kimono wrote a review Mar 2024
sunny west coast18 contributions5 helpful votes
The hotel exceeded my expectations in every way. I travel to London several times a year and am very used to noisy , smaller rooms with mediocre service. Citadines Islington had comfortable beds in large very quiet rooms . The blackout curtains in addition to the extreme quiet helped to adjust to time zone.The service was excellent and the 24hour espresso machine was amazing for my early morning. The breakfast was was great quality with lots of options. The location was so convenient. I will absolutely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeta Soare, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines Islington London
Responded Mar 12, 2024
Dear Kimono, Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that Citadines Islington exceeded your expectations in every way and provided you with a memorable stay. It's wonderful to know that our hotel stood out among your previous experiences in London. We're glad that you found our beds comfortable and enjoyed the spaciousness and quietness of our rooms. Quality sleep is important, especially when traveling, and we're delighted that our blackout curtains and quiet environment helped you adjust to the time zone. We're also pleased that our service met your expectations. Providing excellent service is our priority, and we're thrilled that our team delivered. It's great to hear that the 24-hour espresso machine was a highlight for you, particularly during the early morning hours. We understand the importance of a good cup of coffee to start the day. Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast. We strive to provide a variety of options and high-quality food to ensure a satisfying start to the day for our guests. Lastly, we're delighted that our location was convenient for your needs. We understand the importance of a central location, and we're glad that it added convenience to your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visits to London. Should you have any special requirements for your next stay, please do not hesitate to let us know. Kindest regards, Elisabeta Soare, Assistant Residence Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NicciG83 wrote a review Feb 2024
7 contributions
We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay here. The hotel is very conveniently located for the Business Design Centre where we were working. It was extremely clean and comfortable with welcoming efficient staff. It was a little more expensive than we would normally pay, but still good value for London. Above all it was extremely quiet, which is an important consideration for us as we live in a very rural spot. We heard non of the normal hustle and bustle of London, yet we were just a very short walk from restaurants, shops and transport links. We didn't have breakfast as thought it was a little pricey, but there was a great bakery nearby which satisfied our needs! Because of the little kitchenette you could easily prepare breakfast there if you were a little more organised than us! Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeta Soare, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines Islington London
Responded Feb 28, 2024
Dear NicciG83, Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your stay at Citadines Islington, London. We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience during your stay at our property. We are fortunate to be in the heart of Islington, surrounded by a variety of shops and restaurants. It's very encouraging for us to know that you had several delightful moments during your stay and, most importantly, that you felt at home-away-from-home! We appreciate your feedback on our cleanliness, comfort, and the efficiency of our staff. Providing a clean and comfortable environment is important to us, and we're delighted to hear that we met your expectations. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our team members. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We truly value your recommendation, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kindest regards, Elisabeta Soare, Assistant Resident Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Traceter wrote a review Feb 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom51 contributions36 helpful votes
Very clean, nice spacious room (434) and the bed was very comfortable. We also liked the area. Unfortunately, the fridge compressor kept switching on probably every 30 minutes or so. At first I thought we were next to a laundry room as it sounded like a washing machine spinning in another room. Did not affect my husband but I am a very light sleeper so I am back home catching up on my sleep. The lady at the breakfast area was very kind & could not have been more helpful. Not sure I would stay again due to the fridge issue which is a shame as it was perfect apart from that.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeta Soare, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines Islington London
Responded Feb 25, 2024
Dear Traceter, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear that you found our room spacious and the bed comfortable. It's also great to know that you liked the area surrounding our property. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noise from the fridge compressor. We understand that being a light sleeper, it can be disruptive to have a constant noise at regular intervals. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and regret that it affected your sleep quality. Please know that we take your feedback seriously, and we will investigate the issue further to ensure that it is addressed properly. On a more positive note, we're delighted to hear that the lady at the breakfast area was kind and helpful. Providing excellent customer service is important to us, and we're glad she made a positive impression on you. We apologize for the drawback caused by the fridge issue, and we understand that it may impact your decision to stay with us in the future. We appreciate your honest feedback, as it will assist us in improving our services and facilities. We value your feedback and the opportunity to make it right. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to have another chance to make your stay truly enjoyable in the future. Elisabeta Soare, Assistant Residence Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carsten J wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Very comfy, very quiet, very clean with a very nice situation in Islington. Front desk was very helpfull when I forgot a bag as I left in a hurry. I recommend this place, close to city yet in area with very nice ambience. Was used for working at premise also by other guests.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elisabeta Soare, Guest Services / Front Office at Citadines Islington London
Responded Feb 22, 2024
Dear 379carstenj, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our hotel and that you found the overall experience to be exceptional. We are glad that you found our property to be comfy, quiet, and clean, and we take pride in providing a nice atmosphere in Islington. We are also delighted to hear that our front desk staff was helpful when you forgot a bag. Our team is dedicated to providing excellent service and ensuring that our guests have a pleasant and hassle-free stay. We will make sure to pass on your compliments to them. It's great to know that our location suited your needs, being close to the city yet offering a nice ambience in Islington. We are pleased to hear that our premises were conducive to working for you and other guests. Thank you for recommending our place. Your positive feedback means a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best regards, Elisabeta Soare
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the London area.
PRICE RANGE
C$279 - C$429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonIslington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
108
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Citadines Islington London - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Citadines Islington London
Which popular attractions are close to Citadines Islington London?
Nearby attractions include Angel Comedy at The Camden Head (0.4 km), King's Head Theatre (0.07 km), and Almeida Theatre (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Citadines Islington London?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Citadines Islington London?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Citadines Islington London?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Citadines Islington London?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Citadines Islington London?
Conveniently located restaurants include Namaste@OMNOM, Llerena. Ibérico Tapas Bar, and Terra Rossa - Angel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Citadines Islington London?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Citadines Islington London?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Citadines Islington London?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Citadines Islington London?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Houses of Parliament (4.6 km), Tower of London (4.0 km), and Churchill War Rooms (4.4 km).
Does Citadines Islington London have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.