We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Cavendish London

Show Prices
#97 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cavendish London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,216: English reviews
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second time used this ideally ( for us) situated Hotel. Very handy for the Ritz where we were taking luncheon. Usefully placed for 'Theatreland' for our evening show. Extremely charming and personable receptionist (unfortunately missed her name but began with a 'D'!) My only reservation (apart from the one for the room!) was, on checking-out, being charged £40 for an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aldesh1
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Aldesh1, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Cavendish. Your compliments regarding our location while in London were a pleasure to read however I was disappointed to learn that aspects of your visit did not meet with your expectations. We welcome constructive feedback from all our guests in order to ensure we deliver... More 

Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

This weekends visit was a big disappointment. We've stayed in the Cavendish 4 times now in the last 2 years and this weekend we decided to visit again and bring some close friends to celebrate our recent engagement. The bar has now gone altogether and if you want a drink it's brought to you by a waiter to you in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kevinwoodcock
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear kevinwoodcock, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Cavendish. Naturally, I was disappointed to see that some aspect of your experience with us did not live up to your expectations. We take great pride in providing four-star service and it is most concerning that you did not find this to be the case during... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very welcoming staff, great room and the right price. We usually stay at the Hilton Green Park but this was much better and cheaper. Will definitely stay here again. Very convenient for the Westminster area. If you can book a room on the front, looking out on to Jermyn ,you can see into Fortnum & Mason and at this time... More 

Helpful?
Thank paultims0n
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear paultims0n, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with me and my team, your personal recommendation means a lot to us when compering to other hotels in our area. We were delighted to hear that you had great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to London for many more years to come. Kind Regards, Eva Leigh More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights. Requested a room with a view, and they did not disappoint! This is a great location.. close to everything. The reception staff and concierge were always ready to help. Nice clean room, comfortable bed. I think it would help to pad the walls between the rooms, as I could hear the people next door very clearly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank natman44
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear natman44, What a wonderful review of our hotel, thank you! We simply could not ask for better feedback than to hear than you mentioned and you also that you will return to The Cavendish. The team and I very much look forward to welcoming you back to London. Kind Regards, Eva Leigh More 

Climping, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All in all, we had a lovely stay at The Cavendish. The staff were warm, welcoming and attentive (as you expect), our room was ready well in advance and we were able to get in and start our trip without delay. The lounge and bar area are well laid out, and in general we would definitely go back there again.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dangermouse1159
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Dangermouse1159, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind review following your most recent stay with us. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage Manager regarding the breakfast . We are currently investigating using additional areas in order to maximise our restaurant capacity and Team during peak hours,... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So I've stayed here maybe 5 times in 3 years and it use to be a good base to go out in London. I believe there has been a management change in the last year. It's no longer good, it's quite poor. Reasons listed below: Mini bar no longer available in room The original bar has been removed and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lewis B
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Mr Lewis B, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Cavendish. Naturally, I was disappointed to see that your experience with us did not live up to your expectations on your last visit. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally if you wish to discuss your experience in more detail, as... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently spent one night at the Cavendish and was very impressed. The hotel is in a great location, quiet but close to everything and tube stations. The bedroom was very nice and the bathroom was well appointed with piping hot water. The staff were all very friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. The only little niggle, was that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gill B
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Gill B, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit at The Cavendish. I am delighted that you enjoyed The Cavendish for first time and we met your expectations. I and do hope we are able to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Eva Leigh More 

Shetland traveller
Level Contributor
243 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Smallish, but very comfortable and over-priced room, but in a fabulous location. At > £300 a night you would expect breakfast to be thrown in, but no - another £25+ was required for this. Facilities good - but not so much better than less expensive hotels... Not sure that it was entirely worth it.

Helpful?
Thank 60-degreese-North
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear 60-degreese-North, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Cavendish. Naturally, I was disappointed to see that aspects of your experience with us did not live up to your expectations due to rate and breakfast cost. We provide few options if you felt the breakfast price exceeded your expectations . Please do not hesitate to... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked through Superbreak with a theatre ticket package and it was excellent! Hotel was perfectly situated for everywhere we wanted (tube station, St James Palace and Haymarket). Staff were lovely, room was comfortable and quiet and breakfast was perfect. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank AndHod
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear AndHod, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Cavendish. I am delighted to hear that you think so highly of our service, staff and beautiful rooms. I look forward to sharing your kind words with the entire team and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, Eva Leigh More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very interesting experience in an unbeatable location, close to everything (perfect for tourism and for doing business at the Mayfair area). The hotel is full of charm. The room was well decorated. Bed was super comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Diego M
EvaLeigh, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Diego M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Cavendish. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your event so thoroughly and our excellent location suited your visit in London. I will pass on your kind words of appreciation to the team and do hope we will have the opportunity to... More 

1,076 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (731)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (223)
Viewed
View from Room (77)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (273)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (291)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (21)
Viewed
Executive King Room (26)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (28)
Viewed
Penthouse (35)
Viewed
Queen Superior Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Suite (32)
Viewed
Superior Double Room #919 (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#79 of 1,078 in London
746 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#78 of 1,078 in London
682 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#121 of 1,078 in London
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#27 of 1,078 in London
1,016 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,078 in London
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Petrichor at the Cavendish London
Petrichor at the Cavendish London
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on prestigious Jermyn Street in the heart of Piccadilly, The Cavendish London offers the ultimate in luxury and convenience for visitors to the UK's Capital, whether for business or for pleasure. In the Edwardian era The Cavendish London, was run by Rosa Lewis the infamous "Duchess of Duke St". Famous throughout London Society for hospitality and cooking, The Cavendish London, continues this tradition today - the attentive staff, variety of facilities and the meticulous care in all the services offered will ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: $239 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Family Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
#140 Business Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Cavendish London staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Cavendish London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“US travelers may want to upgrade to a larger room.”
 of 5 bubbles adambJ5342NV, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try asking for upper floors facing the Westminster Abbey, the view is incredible.”
 of 5 bubbles SHERLOCKSanDiego_ca, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Excellent views on high floors, though some street noise when facing east.”
 of 5 bubbles FigParTrip, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms good.”
 of 5 bubbles 283janetp, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and upgrade as smaller rooms are very small!!”
 of 5 bubbles 506alisons, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay