We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Principal London

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Principal London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,867 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Principal London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,385: English reviews
Harrogate
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have stayed here several times over the last couple of months on business. The rooms are variable in size, but all are adequate. I wanted to post this to thank Miriam and Francesca on reception for being so pleasant and so helpful in sorting out a problem with the booking - on part of the booking agent - and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BabsHarrogate
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to learn that you frequently stay at Hotel Russell on your business trips to London. We value your custom and hope we will continue to provide the best in service and quality as demonstrated by Miriam & Francesca on your recent stay. I am glad they assisted you...

Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed for 1 night and thought it was a bargain price for central London. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we were able to check in early. The concierge was also very friendly and we were able to leave our bags after check out. The room was average size and overall comfortable. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsO3011
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your time here at Hotel Russell , located just a stone’s throw away from major London attractions and a well appointed, comfortable bedroom ensured you had a good night’s rest. Thank you for commending the team members at Reception and concierge, your comments...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I've never felt the need to review a hotel on Trip Advisor... ...until now! I stayed overnight here, as part of a 2-day conference that was also hosted by the hotel. The location was great for us, a ten minute walk from King's Cross Station and would be even closer for anyone coming from Euston. Furthermore, the hotel does look...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank ugm1iaa
Bolton
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I must admit that the first room we were allocated here was a little disappointing. I use a mobility scooter and had specifically requested a room without a step but the hotel was busy and I do not like to use my disability for special treatment. We booked online and thought the price was ok for a hotel in this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Velma44
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your comments and so proud that our team at Hotel Russell did not leave any stone unturned in making sure we are truly your ‘home away from home. I am so pleased that our teams did their best in offering all the possible assistance during your...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I've never in my life complained and this is the first as I just couldn't believe how bad it was.The rooms don't look like the pictures, a lot worse. It took me 4 trips to reception to get the internet to work, reception said that sometimes codes don't work and the system is poor as it doesn't have me registered...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Rebecca J
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the difficulties encountered during your stay. We have high speed wireless in all areas of the Hotel with improved bandwidth. Currently we offer similar pricing should we compare ourselves to the local competition in the area. Free 30 minute access was previously...

London, England
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The outside looks really up market, sadly as soon as you enter, things go downhill. For example, one evening I went to the the Tempus Bar and it was fairly busy and all the tables were taken. I went up to the bar where 2 staff were working. They didn't say hello or acknowledge me in any way. I tried...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank niceguy1966
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to learn that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Our team members are commended on numerous occasions for their professionalism and friendliness. I am dismayed to learn that the standards of service that we pride at, were not met during your...

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Downsides were: A busy hotel,with some minor delay at reception and up to ten minutes queuing outside the restaurant for breakfast, and an initial deluxe room allocation on seventh floor which was poorly furnished and had sloping walls ,which I had specifically said we're not acceptable when booking. On the plus side,and much outweighing these criticisms were the fact that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N0rman007
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to learn that you had a fantastic stay at Hotel Russell and we turned around the experience for you after an initial hiccup with the initial room. I am sorry the room allocated on your arrival was not suitable as per your requirements due to its design and...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed on business in January and booked this Hotel on Late Rooms. It looked grand and very impressive online and as you approach it, the outward façade supports this view. A good old fashioned entrance and foyer, the Reception area to the left is not big enough for the numbers of people all requiring checking in and I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tom K
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the difficulties encountered during your stay. I was very disappointed to hear that we didn’t reach your expectations regarding your room. Each room is inspected prior to guest’s arrival to ensure it is maintained to the highest standards possible. I have shared...

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Grand looking hotel from the outside and the reception foyer was equally as grand. Nothing really wrong with the hotel there just seemed to be several niggling things, which for a 4 star hotel shouldn’t happen! The key cards to the rooms don't work very well; wifi is a bit of a palaver to get on and is charged extra!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelsonabike2
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am dismayed to learn that your recent stay at Hotel Russell did not meet your expectations fully. The property management system used at Reception ensures that there are no errors in issuing room keys. I apologise that you experienced difficulties with the key card and it caused unnecessary inconvenience. Re...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This should really be an iconic London hotel given the architecture / location but its just so frustrating that a problem in isolation which would be bearable becomes totally unacceptable when its repeatated time and time again! So overall it just doesn't deliver - and I stayed here twice as the location was perfect for my business needs. Not again!...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ernie M
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Russell on Tripadvisor. It is only through feedback such as this, that we are able to continually monitor and maintain and where necessary, improve upon the services and standards that we provide to our valued guests. I was disappointed to read about the difficulties encountered...

1,169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1039)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (274)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (392)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#336 of 1,089 in London
2,015 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#287 of 1,089 in London
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#413 of 1,089 in London
981 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#466 of 1,089 in London
511 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $345 - $856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Principal London staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from The Principal London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“specify your view requirements!!!”
JDon18, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“front rooms hotter in the summer”
carletons875, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a suit which was huge but tired - loved it!”
JohnNerding, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suits are a must”
dorosweet37, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors great views! Really pretty Suite Top Corner under the turret”
christinenB7733WT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates