We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Principal London

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Principal London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,867 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Principal London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,385: English reviews
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel the weekend before Xmas. All the staff were really nice and the rooms very clean. Breakfast great but advise to go early as there were queues when we came out. We were on the 5th floor which was quiet. No views but didn't expect any! Near everywhere you want to be. Walking distance to Covent Garden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angebange12
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and our team were so friendly as we want all of our guests to feel as relaxed and comfortable as possible. Breakfast is extremely popular at our Hotel, and we...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I got this hotel on a mystery hotel discount and had I paid full price I wouldn't have been satisfied. The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of most of central London which is what we wanted for a weekend of theatre. We were lucky to get a room not overlooking the road, I imagine if it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WelshEmi
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found our location ideal as we are a stone’s throw away from many of London’s major attractions as well as transport links. We pride ourselves on our high standards and ensure that each room is cleaned to an exceptional level. We also ensure that all the amenities you...

Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The four of us stayed in a deluxe twin room (two double beds). The room was elegant and comfortable with a decent hair dryer, iron and ironing board, also a TV, fridge and two comfy chairs. As my eldest daughter said "it's posher than a premier inn". The breakfast buffet was perfectly fine and the service and welcome were excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonWhitson
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you and your family had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. Each room has been individually decorated to enhance the charm and style of the room. We are pleased that you enjoyed this as we want our guests to have a relaxing and comfortable stay with us....

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Lovely hotel. Good size room. Staff excellent. However I have never slept so badly in a hotel due to traffic noise all night. We were on the second floor with no secondary glazing. If you book this beware if you want a quiet nights sleep! Maybe the hotel could provide ear plugs in the rooms at the front with no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy B
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay due to the outside central London traffic noise. This is not usually a problem at the second floor level and only wish you had informed us we would have gladly changed your room for you. Please be assured that your comments...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stopped at the Hotel Russell for two nights in November. It is a lovely building, and surprisingly not a lot of noise is heard from other residents whilst in the room. Very roomy carpeted corridors reminded us of an era gone by. Comfortable beds and very helpful reception staff. We did have a meal in the restaurant in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salporritt
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. Each function room has a noise controller in place to ensure that the event does not disturb our other guests, however I do sincerely apologise that this was not the case for you. Please be assured...

Cork
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went to Hotel Russell for a very good friends wedding over Christmas and I have to say it was a lovely place and glad that we stayed there. We got a great deal on trivago for 2 nights and it was definitely worth the price especially for Christmas. The hotel is full of character and charm.Our room was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CorkSudee
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. I am sorry to learn, however that you were slightly disappointed with the wardrobe position and distance from the shaving mirror. Each room has been specifically designed to ensure a comfortable stay for our guests and we will certainly...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Could not fault the staff or Hotel. Had a lovely weekend break just before Christmas. Staff were friendly and polite. Our double room was clean and comfortable, excellent shower. Nothing to complain about at all. Great location within easy access to tube. Buffet breakfast only had a 2 minute wait for a table at 9am, again could not fault. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carmen B
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are absolutely delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to make each guest feel as relaxed and comfortable as possible and we are so pleased that you provided you with a memorable experience. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell...

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stunning hotel- very grand. The service is wonderful with polite attentive staff. Great consierge service which can store your luggage for you. Brilliant location - 1 tube stop from Kings Cross and great access to all major attractions. Breakfast was lovely but be aware at peak times there was a huge Q of people waiting for a table to become...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goosey-moosey
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. I am so disappointed that your bathroom was not cleaned to a high standard as we pride ourselves on this. Please be assured that this has been addressed with our Housekeeping team as we do understand...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel was nice and clean, lovely architecture, great location and very handy to tube. Problems started when I arrived back in Australia and received my credit card bill. I had booked & paid for the room through wotif.com.au but Hotel Russell decided to charge me again. Numerous emails have fallen on deaf ears - not a single acknowledgement!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, however I am sorry to learn that you encountered some difficulty with your charges. To our knowledge we have not received any emails regarding your concerns. I would extremely grateful if you could contact our Guest Relations Executive, Bebita Dhaya at bebita.dhaya@principal-hayley.com as...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Most surprising thing is that you have to pay for WIFI. Very large and busy hotel. Room had nice modern feel, but just lacking in small details/finishing touches. Breakfast buffet was fine, but nothing to write home about. Bar was cosy for an evening drink. Good views over Russell Square.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Russell. Each room has been individually decorated to enhance the charm and style. I will certainly take your comments on board. Wifi is optional for our guests rather than including this in the rate as we prefer to provide guests...

1,163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1033)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (268)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (392)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#335 of 1,063 in London
2,044 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#294 of 1,063 in London
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#425 of 1,063 in London
1,010 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#486 of 1,063 in London
519 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $367 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#297 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Principal London staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from The Principal London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“specify your view requirements!!!”
JDon18, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“front rooms hotter in the summer”
carletons875, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a suit which was huge but tired - loved it!”
JohnNerding, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suits are a must”
dorosweet37, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors great views! Really pretty Suite Top Corner under the turret”
christinenB7733WT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates