We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Principal London

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Principal London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,867 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Principal London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,385: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Hotel Russell is a grand edifice, full of Victorian splendour. The metal work and stone carving on the staircases is superb, the public function spaces are impressive. If you intend to spend most of your time entertaining friends in the hotel and want to impress, and your budget is up for it, this is the place for you. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank sasha g
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you had a fantastic stay at Hotel Russell and we ticked all the right boxes in terms of attentiveness and friendliness of team, comfortable bedroom, unbeatable location, delicious breakfast and the decor of the building. However I am disappointed to learn that you were inconvenienced due to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Just back from a weekend in London staying at this hotel. It's at a very central location less than 2 minutes from Russell Square tube station which is on the Piccadilly line. The hotel is very big and provided a good breakfast with plenty of choice on both mornings with breakfast until 12pm on a Sunday which is nice for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jen0m
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Russell and our staff were extremely professional and welcoming and that you enjoyed your breakfast experience with us. Please be assured that I will certainly pass on your very kind comments to our team. I am pleased that...

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I had always wanted to stay at the Russell for its location in Bloomsbury which we'd planned to explore. Unfortunately it poured with rain the day we were there so looking at the literary connections will have to wait. The entrance hall is authentic marble with a sweeping staircase on each side and there are ornate plasterwork cornices with angels,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Genni22
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Our wish is to make every guest’s stay as comfortable as possible and I am glad you had a good night’s rest in the comfort of one of our well appointed twin category of rooms. Each room is furnished to the highest standards and a lot of guests compliment us on...

London
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The Russell enjoys an excellent position and is an architectural delight. Service was good but maintenance needs attention: unusable in-room safe, cracked washbasin, loose bathroom doorhandle, wobbly breakfast table.

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roger W
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Russell and our central location and building architecture impressed you. I am glad the service was impeccable however wish to apologise that you encountered maintenance concerns. Every room is inspected prior to guest’s arrival to ensure highest possible standards are maintained....

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We picked this hotel as my travelling companion had a conference here. The Russell is a stunning period hotel and in a great location just a block from the British Museum so we spent most of our two days in London in the area. The prices were what one would expect in a European capital city – expensive. The big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnneCanada
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It is a delight to learn that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at Hotel Russell. I am glad we offered the perfect location for you to explore the attractions London has to offer. Thank you for commending our team, especially the concierge who offered his prompt assistance with your...

Wirral
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Booked one night stay for two at hotel Russell with Travel Republic on a saver rate. This is a gem if a hotel in a good location. First impression was hotel seems a bit tired and dated but our room and service was excellent and I will definitely stay there again. I requested a low floor which was great on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bae84
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It is great to learn that you had a fantastic stay at Hotel Russell in one of our spacious, comfortable bedrooms and our central location was perfectly suitable as per your travel plans. Our building is over hundred years old and every effort has been made to preserve its original glory...

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After a terrible experience last year at the truly-awful Imperial Hotel nearby, I decided it was time to try the Russell-- and I'm glad I did. I was delighted to discover that if one books 30 days in advance, the Russell offers a discount pre-paid rate, which saved me quite a bit. The grand staircase certainly gives a sense of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel Russell and we succeeded in meeting all your expectations. We pride ourselves on our high standards and I am glad your room was spotlessly clean and you enjoyed the leisurely drinks in our Tempus Bar , which offers a wide...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here March 13 for our wedding. Initially we had a standered room which was really small and you could hardly move around without hitting something. I stayed in the hotel with my family and friends and felt as we where such a big group and I arranged it all I should have been given a free upgrade but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank she_sunshine_77
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased that you chose to stay at Hotel Russell with your family and friends on such a special occasion. We endeavour to contribute to make our guest’s stay memorable and would have surely done the same during your stay. I am sorry the opportunity went amiss however I assure...

Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I don't normally write a review whilst still staying somewhere but really felt the urge to write. Firstly, the exterior of the building is stunning, the old grandeur is still there and I loved it. Trouble is, the interior of the hotel simply needs a huge amount of money spending on it. The reception area is still impressive with its...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Jools29
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We are extremely proud of the rich heritage of our building and we have ensured that the charm of this has remained over the years. We have a lovely mixture of both modern and traditional rooms to...

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Russell for 4 nights end of october-starting of november. The Hotel Russell is very well located on Russell Square in the heart of Bloomsbury with very easy access towards the entire citycentre. Rooms are spacious, even the single room, with nice, confortable bathrooms. Rather noisy (from the street), but it didn't bother me. The lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Belgiumtravel321
Julie_Hammond_13, General Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you had a fantastic stay at Hotel Russell and the standards and services offered impressed you , so did the architecture and décor of the building. I am glad to learn that the bedroom allocated was comfortable and spacious as per your preference and it is great...

1,169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1039)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (274)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (392)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#65 of 1,090 in London
339 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#334 of 1,090 in London
2,016 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#291 of 1,090 in London
778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#411 of 1,090 in London
981 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#455 of 1,090 in London
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $351 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#298 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Principal London staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from The Principal London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“specify your view requirements!!!”
JDon18, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“front rooms hotter in the summer”
carletons875, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a suit which was huge but tired - loved it!”
JohnNerding, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suits are a must”
dorosweet37, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors great views! Really pretty Suite Top Corner under the turret”
christinenB7733WT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates