We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Commodore Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Commodore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

896 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 624: English reviews
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

4 of us stayed in a one bed apartment. We had a large double bedroom, a double Sofa bed in the lounge, a small kitchen, dining room table for 6 and one bathroom (no bath but a large shower) 5 minute walk for Lancaster Gate tube and 1 minute to Hyde park. We were all really impressed! Trendy but basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sassygiffy
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall very impressed the staff were pleasant and helpfull just a few minor points such as glasses were not replaced in the room and the seal on the shower screen had gone resulting in a flood in the bathroom

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnnymorris-66
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johnnymorris-66, Thank you for choosing the Commodore Hotel London and glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us know and appreciate your feedback! Thank you Kind Regards Shahn Aliyar

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I had booked in fro 2 nights. Once checked in we were told that we had been upgraded to a better room. We thought this was great news until we opened the door to our "upgraded room". Filthy carpets Carpets didn't even reach the sideboards. Carpet outside the bathroom soaking wet. Room and corridor smells of damp....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NathanG15052015
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NathanG15052015, Thank you for your feedback. We already responded to your email and not sure if you received it. However please find our response dated the 15th of November 2016 below -: "Dear Mr. N Golding, Thank you for your email. Maybe my sentence was misunderstood when I meant that it was from the previous Guests. The ‘Soaking Wet’...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I made a mystery hotel through expedia and ended up with this hotel, not expecting that somewhere advertised as 4 star would turn out to have such shoddy reviews...I imagine capturing unsuspecting people through mystery deals like this must be the only source of bookings this hotel can get given the feedback about it. Acting on the feedback of other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Antony R
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Antony R, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback regarding your recent experience of having booked the Commodore Hotel London. You must have noticed our prompt responses to every review without hiding from them just like most other hotels do. This would reflect the fact that to every situation there are always two sides. The hotel,...

Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked into this hotel via friends choice.When we arrived our rooms were not ready as it was12.00 so we left our cases with the staff and checked in and was asked to pay up front. This was fine but before seeing the room etc I thought was a bit out of order. I was also informed I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lois P
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lois P, Thank you very much for the feedback. We are sorry that you were unhappy. The check-in process that you have mentioned along with the pay upfront is quite different to what we do at the Commodore Hotel London. Every booking that is made gets pre-authorised at the time of the booking and the Front Desk would only...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Barely more than a slum for high end prices. Definitely not the 4 stars given on booking.com. The smell in the rooms was terrible. Damp, musty, old and dirty. Cockroaches in the bathroom, black mould and ingrained dirt on the tiles and dead bugs on the blind. They advertise a restaurant and room service which doesn't exist. I booked 8...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank caroline b
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear caroline b, Thank you for the feedback. Though an apology will not alter the outcome of what you have experienced, I would like to extend it with all sincerity. Our Pest Control Officer (PCO) was immediately called to look into the cockroach issue that was brought to our attention. Though the report from the PCO turned negative, preventative measures...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelling with work, booked it for the location. On arrival, some reception staff were less than competent in booking us in. Work had forward sent all credit card details/ forms which were requested. Hotel had limited knowledge of this in spite of us having e mails confirming all necessary information had been received. The room itself absolutely stunk of smoke...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie M, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Feedbacks such as yours are very important to us and sorry you were unhappy. We will work hard to fix the issues you experienced. Thank you for letting us know. Kind Regards, Shahn Aliyar

Leeds
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

The location of this hotel was great right on the edge of Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, we walked everywhere and the walks through the park were lovely. The hotel it's self looks nice from the outside and the lobby isn't too bad but the rest of the hotel is really shabby and run down. The rooms are dirty and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosey16
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosey, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. I am glad to hear that the location of the hotel was handy for you. I am truly sorry to learn about your experience and any shortcoming you had. We will work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We recently stayed at the Commodore Hotel while we were in London. The room we were given was clean and tidy however starting to show signs of wear and tear. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and appeared to have been recently renovated. I believe that the building because of it's age would have certain restrictions on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fleurby12
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fleurby12, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review with us. Based on your review we believe that most of the issues that you have mentioned are either due to a misunderstanding or you are been misinformed or booking was mismanaged by your Online Booking Agent or Travel Agent. 1 - "charged not once but...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Stayed for two nights - we had a view of the air conditioning and a ridiculous trek to get to our room. The breakfast area was to the same standard as a B&B - food was probably worse. For the cost of the stay, I would have got a better deal at the Thistle hotel just down the road. Location:...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
Shahn A, General Manager at Commodore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joseph S, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We will work hard to fix the issues you had experienced. Thank you for letting us know. Kind Regards, Shahn Aliyar

326 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (304)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#372 of 1,078 in London
1,320 reviews
Henry VIII Hotel
#805 of 1,078 in London
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elysee Hotel
#547 of 1,078 in London
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Townhouse Hotel situated in quiet Victorian Square, just steps from Hyde Park and five minutes by bus to Oxford street and Marble Arch. Paddington station is a walk away. Commodore is renowned for it's tranquil setting, offering a homely and welcoming atmosphere in the bustling city. Originally, three Victorian Town houses, Commodore is unique in its combination of styles with traditional Victorian romantic elegance coupled with modern interior design. Its quirky charm and great location see customers returning again and again. There is also a small fitness studio. Room service is available 24 hours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Commodore Hotel

Address: 50 Lancaster Gate | Hyde Park, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $117 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Commodore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#383 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Commodore Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Commodore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles 554antonyr, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“find a room with a safe”
 of 5 bubbles 6jensa, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check room before accepting what is given.”
 of 5 bubbles 2niner, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor was less noisy we moved from the 3rd floor after first night”
 of 5 bubbles rosi254, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms need to be freshened up and redecorated. Carpets should be replaced.”
 of 5 bubbles clarem702, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay