We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Horseguards

Hotels.comUS$248*
View Deal
#99 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Professional photos
The Royal Horseguards
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Horseguards
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,097: English reviews
Walsall
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Fantastic stay the staff are so friendly and considerate to your every need.it was a fare way from the Apollo where we were seeing wicked but the tube station was close by and easy to get about. The bathroom was amazing especially the tv in the bath which was great to watch while you were relaxing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Sarah P, Many thanks for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us; the team strive to deliver the best possible experience for our guests upon their stay and I am pleased to know that we met your expectations. Indeed we are...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Myself and my husband have just returned from this beautiful hotel, we were greeted by a wonderfully polite and helpful door man. And inside the staff never failed to continue this first class service, I would like to give a special mention to Robert on reception who was a credit to this lovely hotel, he did everything he could to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Lisa T, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and share your experience with us. It was a pleasure reading your review and to learn that your experience with us was fantastic! We always aim to deliver excellent service to our guests upon their stay and i am delighted that the team went above...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

We Booked this hotel 6 months ago through booking.com as I had got a place in the London marathon and wanted to sort out our accommodation early and the location was perfect as we wanted to be near the finish rather than the start. On arrival the receptionist had no sign of our booking which was disappointing but the lady...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becla
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Becla, Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of your recent experience with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us. I am delighted to read that our location was convenient for you as we are situated in the heart of the city in a...

Pleasanton, California
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Great location, classic facility and friendly service. Comfortable, spacious rooms. Nice park between hotel and river. Short walk to Embankment Underground and 1-stop to Waterloo Rail Station. Good outside food options nearby.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeff G
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Jeff G, Greetings from London to California! Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and share your experience with us. It was a pleasure reading your review and to learn that you had a great stay with us, we always aim to deliver excellent service to our guests upon their stay. Indeed we are...

Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

I booked an afternoon tea here last Saturday to take my husband and I out for a treat as it was his 35th birthday and wanted to do something really nice. All afternoon teas were booked out in the area and this was the only option left, I went for it and I must admit I had the most amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay H
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Jay H, Many thanks for taking the time to share your kind review of your recent experience with us. I am delighted that you had an amazing Afternoon Tea here at the Royal Horseguards Hotel for your husband’s 35th birthday treat. We are all about offering unique and luxurious experiences to all of our guests and your comments echo...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Lobby looks five star, the room looked three star: walls were white reminding a hospital ward, the bed stuck in the corner as you enter the room creating an impression of very little space in the room. Low level room design should be improved to match a five star level.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Olga R
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Olga R, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies for any disruptions that you have experienced with us. I would like to assure you that I take all guest feedback into consideration and have reviewed your comments with our Senior Management Team....

Clayton-le-Woods, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2015

From our arrival to the moment of our departure our experience was faultless. The staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We were meeting family to celebrate two wedding anniversaries and we were given rooms close together on the third floor. The rooms were stunning with a view of the Thames and the Eye. The rooms were immaculate,...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sioban D
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Sioban D, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your recent experience with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us in one of our bedrooms that overlook the River Thames and the London Eye. It was a pleasure reading your review and to...

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Well. Where do I begin? My partner and I had booked the Royal Horseguards to celebrate our one year anniversary and my birthday. The bonus was, that we also recently got engaged, so this was going to be a weekend to celebrate and it needed to be special. From the moment we stepped out from Embankment Tube Station, we knew...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LWaller89
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear LWaller89, WOW thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your recent experience with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am thrilled that you had an outstanding stay with us to which the whole team went above and beyond to make your stay extra special. From our passionate welcomers to the...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 April 2015

We had pre booked our afternoon tea. The service was excellent, food amazing, plenty to go round, even had cake left over to take home and enjoy. We also had use of the luggage room as we all had large cases with us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Amanda W, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience with us at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great Afternoon Tea with us. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with our Food and Beverage Operations Manager to which he was really pleased. I hope we...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

I did not sleep over in this hotel but attended an all day meeting and used its facilities. The location is perfect there is very little noise even though you are in the center of London. The views of the river are great, the service and décor are top notch. This is a gem of a hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy I
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Roy I, Thank you so much for sharing your kind review of your recent visit to the Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had a great meeting when using our meeting rooms at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. Indeed we are privileged to be situated in the heart of the city alongside the River Thames and opposite the...

2,188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1595)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (280)
Viewed
View from Room (170)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (376)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (575)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (527)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Executive Child Friendly Twin with Interconnecting King Room (63)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with River View (64)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with Street View (61)
Viewed
Executive KIng Room with Romantic Turndown (73)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
The Waterloo suite (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,090 in London
3,515 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#19 of 1,090 in London
2,409 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#45 of 1,090 in London
2,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,090 in London
3,831 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,090 in London
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: $384 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and other travellers.
79 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (79)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Specify that you will not accept an interior-facing room as, while they are likely as well-equipped as others, the location is depressing to say the least as there is absolutely no view of anything.”
Havenmaven, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do upgrade to the 8th floor for excellent river views!”
momofthreepa, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bigger beds would be good but it really didn't make a difference on our overall rating. ”
rileyw379, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring your converter since the outlet they provided for American tourists failed to function for us. ”
CelsoNYC, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are worth the extra ! ”
LYNNEP381, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$248* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$300
Expedia.comUS$248
Booking.comUS$247
View all 15 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates