We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Horseguards

Show Prices
#93 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Horseguards
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,409 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Horseguards
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,051: English reviews
Hockley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2015

We stayed one night at the Royal Horseguards to celebrate a birthday. Check in was handled very politely and efficiently by Mo.We were shown the facities by Robert who was aslo polite and knowlegable about the history of the building. Breakfast in the morning was relaxed and excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Tony S, Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had an excellent stay. I have shared your kind feedback with the team especially Mo and Robert who always strive to deliver the best possible stay for our guests. We hope this just one of...

Devon, England
Reviewed 18 March 2015

If you are struggling to find the ideal hotel for a trip to London - I can highly recommend staying at The Royal Horseguards. Staff were very nice and helpful. We were upgraded to view of London Eye room. We were given complimentary champagne due to an order mix up. Breakfast was superb and the hotel is spotless. Doors being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NaiDevon_England
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear NaiDevon_England, Thank you so much for your heart warming review. I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us in one of our River racing bedrooms and that we were your preferred choice when staying in London. I have shared your kind feedback with the team regarding the champagne and superb breakfast to which they were pleased...

london
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We stayed here for two nights in Feb 2015 we had previously visited the hotel two years ago. This time we were upgraded which was a nice surprise . The only disappointment was at breakfast where there was a little disagreement between maître d' and our lovely waiter about an open window which we had asked to be opened as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonIsobel
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Londonlsobel, Welcome back! Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent experience with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. It is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Indeed we are privileged to be situated in the heart of the city opposite The London Eye and only a short walk from London’s hustle and bustle....

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Unfortunately whilst this is a lovely hotel, it is certainly not 5 star unless you choose a top level room. The smallest rooms don't have any clothes hanging in the wardrobe (there is a safe & and a minibar and a few inches of hanging space!). The hotel checked 20 rooms to move us but they were all the same....

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 761samb2015
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear 761samb2015, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any disruptiveness and downfalls in service that you had experienced with us. I would like to assure you that I take all guest feedback into serious consideration and have reviewed your comments with our...

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Whilst we did not stay at the hotel we were seeking a decent afternoon tea. Whilst there is a well known London venue famed for its afternoon teas, previous experience was a little disappointing at this more famous venue despite the relatively high price. For those of you looking for the ultimate afternoon tea you need go no further than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Mike N, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. Our tea experience ranges from a simple cream tea to a full menu of finger sandwiches, savoury bites, delicate pastries with freshly baked scones and I am pleased that we were able to...

Dublin
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Spent two nights at the Royal HG. A nice hotel, with friendly staff and a fantastically central location. However, for it's price I found service to slow and/or non-existent at times, I regularly sat on the terrace and repeated had to go inside to get served, even when they knew I was there, and I also found the restaurant poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyt101
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Mikeyt101, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the location of our hotel as we are situated in the heart of the city alongside The River Thames and The London Eye. It is unfortunate that this is the feeling you take away with you....

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I had the immense pleasure of staying here with my mother for a week in early March. Last time I stayed in London I booked a room at a Premier Inn but this second time around I decided to splurge. Cue the Royal Horseguards - perfectly central with a beautiful exterior and interior space that I imagine was once a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GraceTheTraveler_1
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear GraceTheTraveler, Thank you so much for your heart warming review regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us and that we were able to live up to your expectations. I have shared your kind feedback with the team especially our Front of House Manager, the...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

The hotel was great (2 nights stay) and we were contacted a week before we arrive to see if there was any special requests. We had a great afternoon tea as well. The proximity to London points of interest is a great bonus. Could not fault the hotel or staff or service. Five stars all the way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dezcarol
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear dezcarol, Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us and enjoyed a great Afternoon Tea. We are privileged to be situated in the heart of the city alongside the River Thames and the London Eye. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

When you scour the Internet for hotels you take a chance. I did. It paid off wonderful bit of British culture attentive discreet staff. Well appointed rooms. Service and welcome could not be faulted. Have stayed in many hotels in London. This rates as my all time favourite superb view over The Thames and London Eye. A very short stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackie v
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Jackie v, Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. I am pleased you had a wonderful stay with us in one of our bedrooms overlooking the River Thames and opposite The London Eye. I have shared your kind words with the team who were all pleased with...

Shoreham-by-Sea
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Stayed here for two nights at the weekend - we also visited two years ago. I just love it here - we pay extra for the king river view room and it's well worth it. The room was just perfect (apart from a having a proper coffee machine for my husband :) ). We did have a slight issue with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blossom07
horseguardsLDN, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review

Dear Blossom07, Welcome back! Wow thank you so much for your kind review regarding your recent stay with us at The Royal Horseguards Hotel. This is great feedback and very much appreciated, I am particularly pleased that you found your room perfect and the team were able to accommodate your needs in no time. I have shared your thoughtful feedback...

2,176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1583)
Viewed
View from Room (167)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (275)
Viewed
Bathroom (118)
Viewed
Room/Suite (376)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (571)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (527)
Viewed
Amenities (82)
Viewed
Executive Child Friendly Twin with Interconnecting King Room (63)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with River View (64)
Viewed
Executive Double Room with Street View (61)
Viewed
Executive KIng Room with Romantic Turndown (73)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
The Waterloo suite (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
3,407 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#20 of 1,089 in London
2,379 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#39 of 1,089 in London
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
763 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#30 of 1,089 in London
3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
One Twenty One Two Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Price Range: $357 - $642 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#85 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and other travellers.
78 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (78)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Horseguards staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with city-view rocks!”
 of 5 bubbles DannyandBetty, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were well presented and very clean.”
 of 5 bubbles Tel48, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choosing a room with a view is well worth it. We love best the river view.”
 of 5 bubbles 34ES, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try and get a bigger room than standard or opt for a small room with river view”
 of 5 bubbles 428JamesB428, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not take Room 711.”
 of 5 bubbles Marklfc, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5