We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Show Prices
#186 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,157: English reviews
Start your review of Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
 Click to rate
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location is excellent - 2 blocks from Picadilly square action. Plenty of restaurants in the area and good place to walk around at night. Excellent location for Underground access. Average hotel - had the Standard Double room. Clean, but room carpet and windows need updating. Ventilation poor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean201201
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Jean, Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay. Whilst I am happy that you enjoyed aspects of your stay, I am concerned that we did not meet full expectation on this occasion. If you are considering returning to London please feel free to contact me directly as I have no doubt that we...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A couple of weeks ago stayed for 7 nights and the Royal Trafalgar Hotel, was just what I was looking for tucked away yard from the square, near the National Gallery, I am a returning visitor to this hotel, was excellent last time and the same this time. The staff are so friendly with you been over the top. Always...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Roger, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. It's always great to hear from returning customers especially when they find the experience to be a consistently good one. Hopefully we will see you many times again in the future. Best wishes, Rob VCGM

Dudelange, Luxembourg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location near Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square. In less than a 15 minutes’ walk you can reach nearly all theatres and good shopping areas. Modern bathroom. Unfortunately the walls are not soundproof and you can hear other residents.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Théid K
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Théid, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was. I am happy that the majority of your stay was positive however disappointed that we did not achieve top marks on this occasion. I assure you we will be working hard to improve the noise insulation within the hotel and hope that you...

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here twice now and it will continue to be our 'first choice' in London. Cleanliness, modern rooms, so close to modern large bedrooms,excellent amenities and with competitive tariff. Breakfasts are excellent, no waiting, open dining room- just a great experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davideV8695FZ
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Davide, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am delighted that the team and the hotel made such a positive impression and to hear that we will be your first choice moving forward. The team and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel many times over in the future, Best wishes Rob...

Maisons-alfort, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was really good the room very nice and confortable And This hôtel very close to the city center We wish to return with great pleasure Dommage que le restaurant ne soit pas à la hauteur de l'hôtel Merci beaucoup

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean-michel_Fleuri
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Jean-Michel, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay with us. I am delighted that we left a positive impression overall and assure you that we are currently working to improve the restaurant experience here. I hope you will be able to return in the future and see these improvements for yourself. Many thanks Rob...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel having read very positive reviews - I wish to echo those - very clean, comfortable, super location (within a 5 minute stroll of the theatre), very quiet at night, helpful staff & excellent breakfasts!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine D
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Geraldine, Thank you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. It is great to hear that you fully endorse our service and product in keeping with previous positive reviews. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel many times again in the future. Many thanks Rob VCGM

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our selection of the Thistle Trafalgar Square Hotel was perfect. the location to all the activity in that part of London was perfect. It was also close to a Tube stop. Very clean room, quiet and well equiped. We would stay there again when in London.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarango
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Sarango, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your stay. I am delighted that everything was to your liking and to hear you want to return. The team and I look forward to that day and welcoming you back to the hotel. Best wishes, Rob VCGM

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall quite good. Minimal tea and coffee making facilities in room. Be prepared they will charge you an extra £50 on arrival. We booked breakfast included but were told we had to pay extra. Staff had very minimal understanding of English so made check in uncomfortable. Hotel room was lovely and good selection of breakfast choices. Comfortable and cosy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria-Hennigan
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Victoria, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your recent stay. I am delighted that the majority of your stay was positive however am concerned that you did not have an ideal stay. To be clear we take a voluntary pre-authorization of a card upon check in should you desire extras during your stay and wish...

Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to reserve a hotel near Trafalgar Square so we could be centrally located in the city. Also being right near the Art museum is a huge plus for us...and we enjoyed being able to pop over when we had some free time. Also Trafalgar Square is a good place to pick up the on-off bus, so that made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MKW5704
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear MKW5704, Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay. It's great to hear you were so happy here and that the team contributed to that; we are always happy to help. Hopefully we will see you many times again in the future. Best wishes, Rob, VCGM

Sussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very well located central hotel in London being next to The National Gallery. It has friendly welcoming and helpful staff and the beds are very comfortable. Our room only had a shower, no bath. The shower was lovely and spacious but it was impossible to use the toilet sitting directly forwards as the shower cubicle took up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank windsorsoup
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear windsorsoup, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback after your recent stay with us. I am delighted that your stay was a positive one and to hear that you would recommend us moving forward. We do have a variety of rooms available including rooms with a bath. If you let us know your preferences ahead of any...

300 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (197)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (80)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (55)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (82)
Viewed
Executive King Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#180 of 1,089 in London
1,075 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#90 of 1,089 in London
799 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Trafalgar Square / Embankment

Neighbourhood Profile
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
With its iconic Nelson’s Column, majestic oversized lions and brightly-lit fountains, Trafalgar Square is not just considered the heart of this bustling London hub, but the very core of the city itself. Beyond this esteemed gathering place are more famous icons, as well as a disproportionate numbers of the city’s most popular cultural attractions including the National Gallery and many West End theaters. Along the way to these major sites are quiet lanes and antiquated pubs to discover, as well as riverside vistas to enjoy on the embankment. With a calendar full of celebratory events, any time of year is a fine time to visit.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Price Range: $304 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room was excellant, met all my needs. ”
RogerB390, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“And This hôtel very close to the city center We wish to return with great pleasure”
Jean-michel_Fleuri, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top floor (sixth) over looking the Eye and Shard .”
cathg, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“607 had views over the national portrait gallery.”
polly45, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 602 is on a corner so has double aspect”
O9256TArobinw, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5