We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Show Prices
#162 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,091: English reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The best thing about this hotel is by far, the location. It was literally in the middle of all the main attractions- Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Piccadilly, Buckingham Palace, etc. The Eye and the Tower of London were a bit a walk, but not unmanageable and we enjoyed walking off some of our excessive meals :). It was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaloe609
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that your stay was a good one and that you enjoyed our great location. Thank you for your other comments which we will look into individually as we welcome any way to improve our service. I hope we will welcome you back...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good central hotel for trafalgar square, regent's street and Leicester Square and Covent garden. All in easy walking distance. Hotel comfortable clean and nice bed, but could have done better with room facilities - only two sufficient for 2 cups of coffee no hot chocolate or biscuits.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne W
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that your stay was mostly positive; we will look into improving our tea and coffee service. We will always seek to provide what is asked for and always look for ways to improve our service. I hope that your experience was positive...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location was superb,just beside the National Gallery,behind Leicester square and Chinatown is just right in front. Hotel cleanliness was very good, reception team was friendly and they never failed to greet you every time we stepped into the hotel. It's a small hotel,the lift can only fit 3 people at most with luggage but it was fast. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DTPY
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had such a good time and took advantage of the free breakfast promotion when you book direct with us. I sincerely hope that we will welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards,...

Peterhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great hotel so central to anything worth seeing when in London. Weather was good enough to allow us to walk anywhere we needed. This hotel is well positioned and within walking distance to Restaurants,shops and Theatres. It is also very easy to get to from Gatwick so all in all I would recommend this to anybody that is looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jad13
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to leave comments after your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had such a good time and that you found everything to your liking. As you mention we are easily reached by all of the South's main airports and so I do hope we will see you...

Middlewich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel was booked for me by my company , on check in they insisted on having a card whether you want to charge extras or not otherwise I was told they will refuse check in !! On leaving the hotel they insisted on charging me not my company and when I explained it was booked by my company they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TAREK E
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback after your stay. It is always disappointing to hear that a customer was not satisfied, especially so when it appears that one incident in particular was the issue. I will ask a member of the team to be in contact with you as soon as possible to see what can be done to...

Warrington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overnight shopping break with the girls and can't fault this hotel. Have previously stayed in the Thistle Piccadilly which, being right on Leicester Square, can be a bit noisy, but can't fault this hotel. Service was fantastic from arrival. Room wasn't ready but we were able to store luggage. We had 3 adults sharing a Junior Suite which had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wire2009
Rachel S, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Wire2009, Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle Royal Trafalgar Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and the team and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when you are next in London. Kind Regards Rachel Smith, General Manager

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Less than one minute walk to Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, Piccadilly Circus and theatre land...location wise, pretty hard to beat for a central London hotel. Staff are friendly, accommodating, and willing to try and go the extra mile. What staff can't help with is the level of noise in the rooms! Squeaky floorboards, thin walls and the feeling like you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamaaAzzawi
Rachel S, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear SamaaAzzawi I appreciate you taking the time to review the Thistle Royal Trafalgar hotel. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our superb location in the heart of London. Our dedicated team of hosts take pride in making our guests feel comfortable and welcome. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate your comments with regards to your...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed over the last weekend of November with my wife of 30 years to celebrate our anniversary and we were not disappointed. Whilst a little difficult to find, this hotel is certainly in the middle of London's attractions with a 5 minute walk to both Leicester Square & Piccadily Square. We picked the hotel as were were seeing the Jersey...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter D
Rachel S, General Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Peter D, Thank you for taking the time to review the Thistle Royal Trafalgar hotel after your recent stay. Firstly I would like to say a happy 30th wedding anniversary to you and your wife and thank you for spending it with us, I hope you both had an amazing time watching the Jersey Boys. Your feedback is highly...

Tadley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Covent Garden and Theatreland all on the door step, makes the location of this Hotel ideal for a weekend break in the Capital. Unfortunately, that is all this hotel has going for it. My wife and I stayed in room 415 and notwithstanding the fact that it was November, the room had a dark,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Delsview
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet full expectation on this occasion. I will be picking up with the team regarding some of your comments as they are well beneath the standard we set and expect of ourselves. I am glad to say that we will be spending time...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall my impression about the hotel is good. Perfect location, FREE and high-speed wifi and considerably clean hotel. However, my only complaint about the hotel is their staff. They are absolutely not friendly and not smiling at all. As well as, it is almost difficult to find local(british) staff in the hotel and most of them from far east Europe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bahramzade
VCGMTrafalgar, Manager at Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am sorry that we did not fully impress you on this occasion. Our team are usually spoken about in the highest terms so it is very disappointing to read that they did not get it right on this occasion. Yours sincerely Rob VCGM Thistle Trafalgar

191 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#185 of 1,077 in London
933 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#80 of 1,077 in London
689 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Trafalgar Square / Embankment

Neighbourhood Profile
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
With its iconic Nelson’s Column, majestic oversized lions and brightly-lit fountains, Trafalgar Square is not just considered the heart of this bustling London hub, but the very core of the city itself. Beyond this esteemed gathering place are more famous icons, as well as a disproportionate numbers of the city’s most popular cultural attractions including the National Gallery and many West End theaters. Along the way to these major sites are quiet lanes and antiquated pubs to discover, as well as riverside vistas to enjoy on the embankment. With a calendar full of celebratory events, any time of year is a fine time to visit.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There aren’t many genuinely quiet streets right in the heart of London. But they do exist - and we’re on one of them. In fact, you might never guess that Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square are within a few minutes’ walk. The Royal Trafalgar has the City on one side, Whitehall on the other and history everywhere you look. The National Gallery is literally next door, as is the square that shares our name. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar

Address: Whitcomb Street, London WC2H 7HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Price Range: $277 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Trafalgar, London Hotel London
Royal Trafalgar By Thistle London
Thistle Trafalgar Square
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Business Hotel in London
#108 Family Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Executive King Room-massive beds!!”
 of 5 bubbles 106PeterD106, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose room between 3-5th floor if you want have a great city view”
 of 5 bubbles Bahramzade, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try to get a room away from building works”
 of 5 bubbles O1514YMpeterr, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“410 doe not have great views”
  • Small, but great shower
  • Just to the right of the photo is a wall
  • Bed, excuse the mess...
 of 5 bubbles Tricky273, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Executive suite gives you more square footage”
 of 5 bubbles LSherry1914, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay