We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN The Cromwell

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 892: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The Cromwell is very well situated. It is 2 minutes walk from the Gloucester Road underground station. There you can also catch the "hop on, hop off" bus. The hotel is also located within walking distance of the truly magnificent Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park.The reception staff at the Cromwell were exceptional! Our room was fabulous; very comfy, well presented...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Damian J
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and five star review. It was also an absolute pleasure to hear that all our staff contributed to ensure that you had a memorable experience with us and that you found breakfast and Housekeeping service to be of a high standard. I will pass on your wonderful comments to Martina and the team....

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Just stayed here for 4 nights. Very good hotel with excellent breakfast and service from staff. Would happily stay here again without hesitation. Some reviews complain of the small room size, well our room was perfectly adequate. The Wi-Fi is not good but I can live without that for a week no problem anyway. All staff were very courteous and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John G
Nichola R, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that in particular you found the staff to be amazing. I do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back in the very near future. Yours sincerely, Nicki

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I had a good experience in stay here. I traveled with my boyfriend and had scared by the hotel we had booked when arrived and decided to move to another hotel even we had prepaid for 2 nights. We hang around outside the Gloucester Road Underground at night time searching for a hotel room for the next day and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us at the Best Western The Cromwell. It was also an absolute pleasure to hear that the whole team contributed to ensure that you had a memorable experience with us. Recognising service standards is always deemed as the ultimate guest compliment so we greatly appreciate your...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times while on business in London. The best way to describe the rooms are "small but perfectly formed". They are tiny, not much bigger than the bed. However the rooms are clean and very well appointed with modern fixtures and fittings including a decent size flat screen TV. The beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Veteran75
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your previous stays at Best Western The Cromwell. It is an absolute delight reading your very complimentary comments about the staff, cleanliness and the service that you received whilst staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Take Care, Nicki

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2012

With a great location (very close to the Royal Albert Hall, museums and Kensington High street) we were very pleased to see the price - one of the best in the area. We must admit we thought it was going to be a basic "budget hotel" but we were pleasantly surprised. Great and helpful staff at the reception, good breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and review. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, and found our rooms clean, team and location to be suitable to your needs. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take Care, Nicki

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent 3 night in this hotel but I can't be happy at all for how we spent these days: the room, a double room, was so small that between the bad and the window , on a side, and the bad and the desk on the other, there were less than 40 cm of space. Small bathroom with small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michy981
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I have taken note of your points you raised and communicated to our Management Team to look into making improvements wherever appropriate. The heating and air conditioning units in the bedrooms are controlled via your room key card. The room temperature is controlled by the guest. Should you wish to keep your room...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This hotel is far from a 4-star experience, even by UK standards. The only toiletries provided are a shower cap and liquid soap -- no shampoo. (Guests are told to use the liquid soap for that purpose.) As for advertised free wifi, it's only available is in the hotel lobby. Same for the odd newspaper or two. Rooms themselves are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bray11
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the facilities provided and the service you received during your stay with us. Best Western The Cromwell is a four star guest accommodation and not a four star hotel. Due to the layout of the hotel, our bedrooms do vary...

Berlin
Reviewed 2 November 2012

The hotel is only a short walk from Gloucester Road tube station and the museums in South Kensington (V&A, Natural History Museum and Science Museum) are also very near. The room we had was small, not much space to move around. The bathroom was more spacious in comparison. The wifi was slow but free, the TV really old fashioned (only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trvl01
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and review. I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, and found our rooms clean, team and location to be suitable to your needs. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take Care, Nicki

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here for about 5 nights for business. I really enjoy the location although it is not in the heart of London the tube is 50mts away. Room was impecable albeit quite small. Wifi was quite slow but it was free (since this was a business trip I rather pay and have a fast connection). Would stay here again if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llopatin
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to express my thanks for taking the time to write this review and sharing your experience at our hotel. I am pleased we were your choice of stay during your business trip in London. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to London. Kind Regards, Nicki

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel Sept. of this year and did not enjoy our stay. The opening to the hotel was dingy with kicked back carpet and dirty walls.The staff were not very welcoming as they said "Well, where are we going to put you?" It did not make us feel like we were being cared for, thats for sure....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 991Jacqueline
Nichola R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN The Cromwell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. I was concerned to read your comments regarding both the cleanliness and the service you received during your stay with us. These are both areas the hotel prides itself in and for which we normally receive positive comments. I have taken note of your points...

406 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (300)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (112)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Double Room with Garden Terrace (24)
Viewed
Executive Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#377 of 1,089 in London
1,902 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#409 of 1,089 in London
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#354 of 1,089 in London
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional 3 Star hotel rated 4 Star Guest Satisfaction through the AA scheme. Housed in 19th Century Victorian building less than 100m (1 minute walk) from Gloucester Rd Station. Excellent transportation links to Central London and London Heathrow, London Gatwick and City Airport as well as Stanstead. No more than 10 mins walk to the Victoria & Albert Museum as well as the Science and National History Museums and a 5 minute bus journey to the World Famous Harrods ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Cromwell

Address: 110-112 Cromwell Road, Kensington, London SW7 4ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Price Range: $172 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Cromwell 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Cromwell Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Cromwell staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Cromwell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles markofhants, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlook the garden and are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Urban_Fox_58, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 4th floor, very warm, couldn't get the air conditioning to work, but at least we could open the window..”
 of 5 bubbles Suziejane51, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would not book at all, that's my tip.”
 of 5 bubbles magma62, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure what you book is the same as pictured”
 of 5 bubbles Luka898, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5