We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sydney House

Show Prices
#226 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sydney House
Sydney House
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 391: English reviews
Start your review of Sydney House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent service, rooms in top condition, excellent food and room service, very accommodating at reception, pleasant staff, great location, would definitely make this hotel a favourite if staying in Chelsea / South Kensington / Fulham Broadway area!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shona B
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location, great price, great rooms. I tried the breakfast one morning and it was really good - poached egg, avocado, arugula on toast. Slightly expensive compared to the room rate but the food was good. I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers in London.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dara E
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This charming old house makes a very comfortable base in an area excellent for shopping and places to visit. The ambiance is that of a welcoming, clean and well run home, with very polite and helpful staff. The decor is pleasingly fresh, simple and sympathetically modern. The only 2 points which stop us giving the hotel an overall `excellent' rating...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 454gabby
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Other than the low toilet bowls which created a difficult and embarrassing problem, we enjoyed our return stay very much. The hotel was clean, the staff smart and friendly . The rooms very clean and well-presented, with comfortable beds. The full breakfast was well-prepared, presented and hot.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 516hr
Piraeus
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice Hotel, Nice stuff, perfect location.The best breakfast and really polite and happy staff! I would go back for sure. The location also is amazing and really convenient. The metro is just 2' away...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmourtzis
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Sydney House Chelsea for 6 nights. The room was tiny but very comfortable. The staff were charming and helpful. Breakfast isn't included. Great location close to South Kensington tube and easy walking also to the Museums.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank auewitt
West Sussex
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed to be at The Royal Marsden early the next day so Sydney House Hotel proved to be an ideal location - though not just for the hospital but for museums and shopping. Our room was a decent size and had a lovely view over rooftops to the Natural History Museum but we were concerned that it may be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skippy50
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review

Hi Skippy50, Thanks for posting such a complimentary and detailed review of Sydney House. We are always delighted to hear that guests of ours have had such a good experience. We are looking at different ways of providing tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms - in the meantime we will always be happy to help you get it...

Nottingham
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I believe that Sydney house was great in the sense of good customer service. I love the breakfast in the morning and staff were very nice! Downside of my stay was I didn't get much sleep in the afternoon! It should be a four star hotel instead of a five star!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dominicvincentdavida
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review

Hi dominicvincentdavida, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of Sydney House. I'm pleased to read that you were so impressed with the service you received, bearing this in mind I am surprised that you then only rated us 3/5 for service. Unfortunately afternoons are not the easiest times to get sleep in the middle of London -...

Ashprington
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here a few times, although not for some years. Nothing has changed, superb welcome and the most comfortable stay as ever. In the past we have stayed in the top room with the gorgeous balcony - wonderful. Cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clareo403
SydneyHouseChelsea, Front Desk at Sydney House, responded to this review

Dear Clareo403, Thank you for choosing us again and for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had another great stay with us and that you found our customer service superb. We always do our best to exceed our guests expectations. We hope to welcome you again soon at Sydney House Chelsea. Kind...

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for only one night. Staff was pleasant but very poor heating system kept me freezing. Place was very noisy for unknown reason. Definitely not adequate value for price. Quite frankly for over 200 you can find much nicer hotels around.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrickyGuitarist86
SydneyHouseChelsea, Manager at Sydney House, responded to this review

Dear TrickyGuitarist86, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Sydney House. The heating is controlled from within each room, so I can only think that yours was either not turned on or not at a sufficient level for your requirements. We would have been happy to help you with this or provided additional...

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (150)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Double (35)
Viewed
Premier Deluxe Double (38)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
My Chelsea
My Chelsea
#452 of 1,086 in London
575 reviews
Chelsea
11 Cadogan Gardens
11 Cadogan Gardens
#103 of 1,086 in London
734 reviews
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#23 of 1,086 in London
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#173 of 1,086 in London
1,075 reviews
Chelsea
San Domenico House
San Domenico House
#532 of 1,086 in London
155 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#161 of 1,086 in London
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chelsea

Neighbourhood Profile
Chelsea
Wealth courses through The King's Road, Chelsea's upmarket artery of West London life packed with shops, eateries and glitzy nightspots. For people-watching at its best and luxury retail therapy that's largely unrivalled, this area cannot be missed. But if this showy street starts to overwhelm or a moment of price tag shock sends you reeling, a quick detour down pretty much any of many King's Road veins will reveal a quieter side of Chelsea. Here the stately Royal Hospital hosts its world-famous flower show, and the Thames rolls along at a lazy pace, with leafy Battersea Park and its Peace Pagoda beckoning from across the river.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sydney House is a contemporary townhouse hotel, only a few minutes walk from King‘s road and Knightsbridge.Sitting in a quiet Chelsea street, the capital’s most fashionable shops and restaurants are on its doorstep.Sydney House is conveniently located for Westminster and the City of London. It has direct road and rail links for London’s’ airport and Eurostar terminals.Behind the exterior of a listed Georgian building, lies a 21st Century hotel. Each of the 21 bedrooms is dedicated to comfort, air conditioned throughout, goose down quilts and sleek, glass bathrooms. Individually designed, all rooms have discreet technology. DVDs, flat screen TVs, and WIFI are provided. Sydney house has a fully equipped boardroom, available for smaller meetings/receptions. 24-hour room service and “a la carte” breakfast make Sydney House Chelsea, a “Private home in the City”. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sydney House

Address: 9-11 Sydney Street | Chelsea, London SW3 6PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Price Range: $257 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sydney House 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sydney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney House Hotel London
Sydney Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in London
#168 Business Hotel in London
#171 Luxury Hotel in London
#298 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sydney House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Whitchurch, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sydney House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We was on the 1st floor and was fine”
 of 5 bubbles cranberry062, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were worried that our rooms were roadside but the double glazing and air conditioning removed our worries”
 of 5 bubbles AAWD67, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms have a small balcony to sit on.”
 of 5 bubbles billyca67, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The top room with its roof terrace”
 of 5 bubbles 301mh, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Our room was on the street side and still quiet so presumable the rooms at the back would be more so.”
 of 5 bubbles AmandaOZ09, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5