We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thistle Kensington Gardens

Show Prices
#290 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Kensington Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,756 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,494: English reviews
london/essex
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Me and boyfriend checked to stay in for one night we was in que at.reception and a couple that came after us was seen before , we told we was upgraded to nicer room We arrived at 419 greeted with the most nasty smell like a dead body had been left we try to ring down to reception phones did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank londondave
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Walked in to the main reception and as we are waiting the so called manager he seen to other gusts that arrived after us 1st 2nd we got our room419 and greeted by the most vile disgusting smell. Almost a mix of sweaty body's and dirty cleaning Materials used We then tried to use the phones to call down but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clattatio
West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed the stay here, great service and a perfectly good room for a city centre hotel. Nice bar with incredibly cheap prices for any hotel, let alone one in London. Only two minor complaints, bar area was very cold (you needed a coat) and would have liked table service for a coffee at breakfast rather than having to tackle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lanson1970
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens Room 214 Standard double room. I wasn't expecting a big room, but it would be nice to not have to worry about stubbing my toe on the desk when trying to get into bed, and somewhere to place my luggage. Ok for a solo traveler, probably only staying for a short while 3/4 day tops. No...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LoveAnOod
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great stay at the Kensington. The king executive room was big and huge bed great views of hyde Park could even see the London Eye.the room very clean and comfortable and no noise from the traffic. The staff very friendly and helpful even got to check in early. The bar was good. Can't fault the place will definitely be staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a nice comment and sharing it with us ! We are happy you enjoyed your night with us here at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens and that everything was to your satisfaction. It is great to learn our team had all displayed such an impression throughout your visit to ensure you could have an enjoyable...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is on Bayswater Road, overlooking Hyde Park. Easy access to the Park and nothing better that a stroll through it when the weather's fine. Stayed one night at the front of the hotel. The road is a busy one but very effective glazing meant we couldn't hear any traffic noise. That and blackout curtains made for a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EricBzr
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time time to review our hotel and the detailed description you have given of our amenities and location. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

That's a nice way of saying other than the bloc hotel at Gatwick (were they warn you that the rooms are compact ) the rooms are the smallest I've ever experienced There clean obviously been recently refurbished but so cramped You can't walk around the bed without turning sideways to avoid the furniture You could swing a cat but it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lovell_k
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We apologise for the disappointment you have felt regarding the room size, it...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pleasant hotel, comfy beds, clean and tidy. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms a good size with amazing views of park, Albert Hall, Kensington Palace etc. The staff are friendly and welcoming and they helped me with directions to my meeting. The location is great next to Hyde park easy access to oxford street. The in house restaurant is good and service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sean H
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and its services. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were particularly happy with our friendly team. Please do contact us directly next time you visit London. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My title suggests my general opinion of our experience at this hotel. Although the decor and location were perfectly adequate, the staff, service, food and ambience were all extremely average compared with many other London hotels we have stayed in. Do not eat here, breakfast was ok but the brasserie menu isn't worth the money - plenty of other options...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Katward
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We apologise well feel short in this instance. We are grateful for your feedback...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

very good hotel with friendly and very helpful staff. rooms a little on the small side but adequate and very clean, good breakfast. opposite Kensington gardens , 3 minute walk to train station. several good hotels and restaurants within walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frank A

398 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (340)
Viewed
Room/Suite (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (131)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#313 of 1,077 in London
826 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#207 of 1,077 in London
613 reviews
Blakemore Hyde Park
#295 of 1,077 in London
1,375 reviews
Lancaster London
#230 of 1,077 in London
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $167 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the room facing the hyde park”
 of 5 bubbles Nan220979, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher up and facing the park is nice - Bayswater is a very busy road but the traffic noise was not a problem on the 8th floor”
 of 5 bubbles AlexandriaGrandDad, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views from the upper floors really good.”
 of 5 bubbles ianmB2618BS, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Park view isn't attractive, just loud. Try to get a room to the sides or back.”
 of 5 bubbles HDBGermany, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a park view room on the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles NeedSun00, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay