We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Marble Arch by Montcalm

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Marble Arch by Montcalm
The Marble Arch by Montcalm
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Marble Arch by Montcalm
See the most recent reviews
Showing 392: English reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2014

there is no doubt that this is a very nice hotel and quality is very good. But something is strange here. When checking in they required a payment which I normally swip the card but a full payment to me was strange. When I got to my room it was very cold - AC blasting out cold air around 17....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crazyfoodlover
UK
Reviewed 6 November 2014

Booked as a last minute stay in London. Arrived in enormous lobby where you can get lost, but check in staff friendly and efficient. Kindly upgraded me to a larger room (and quieter as I had asked). This meant walking around the corner to another building, but not a problem to trade up for more peace and quiet. Large room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NeedaholidayUk
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 November 2014

the staff would go ta any extent to make your stay comfortable though some rooms can be small bit at least the fittings are new and they actually come at nights to check whether u would need anything .loved it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DOLZBALANI
Francesco S, General Manager at The Marble Arch by Montcalm, responded to this review

Dear DOLZBALANI, Thank you for your recent review on Trip-advisor following you stay at Marble Arch by Montcalm Hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I am pleased that you appreciated the effort of our team in ensuring the guests have very comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back at Marble Arch...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 30 October 2014

I travel extensively to Europe, and London in particular for business, and was surprised by the poor value of the hotel. But I'll start with the positives: great location, especially for tourists interested in shopping. Plus the facilities are extremely clean and well managed. And the work out facilities are excellent. That's about all, however, for positives. I am shocked...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Business T
Reviewed 22 October 2014

First off, great hotel. Clean, comfortable, nice staff. The problem is, poor management practices. I booked 6 nights online, under a "non-refundable" condition. Fair enough. I'm used to that sort of thing. But that apparently means something very different here. I needed to cancel my trip one night early to go home for an emergency, so I informed them of...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Ian H
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Having stayed at The Montcalm itself (across the road) I thought this would be of similar quality. It is not and was most disappointing. It was oppressively small in every respect and despite a lighted glass wall in the entrance lobby, gloomy. As per a previous reviewer my room was accessed through the weird little breakfast area. The room would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
Solihull
Reviewed 12 October 2014

the hotel we had booked had maintenance problems and transferred us to this hotel,our excitement at going to a 5 star hotel soon turned to disappointment,when we entered a small entrance lobby with one table and 2 chairs for waiting guests.the only way to and from our room was through the dining/breakfast area,a bit awkward with guests eating.the fixtures and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mill48
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

Normally I travel a lot, but I never write reviews, this is first time I stayed at Marble Arch hotel in september, and i have to say our stay was great, thankful to Alexandra who took over her collegue and gave us an upgrade to a club room which was very nice. She was very polite and very greetful, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabdull1
Francesco S, General Manager at The Marble Arch by Montcalm, responded to this review

Dear fabdull1, Thank you for your recent review on Trip-advisor following you stay at Marble Arch by Montcalm Hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I am thrilled that Alexandra took very good care of you and was able to upgrade you to a club room. We look forward to welcoming you back at...

Reviewed 6 October 2014

My family and I just spent the weekend at The Marble Arch by Montcalm. The location was perfect. All staff mainly the front reception and doorman where very helpful and extremely friendly even with our two little ones. The room was a good size and they put up portable beds for the children. The hotel room was very clean with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Staceyturnbull
Francesco S, General Manager at The Marble Arch by Montcalm, responded to this review

Dear Staceyturnbull, Thank you for your recent review on Trip-advisor following you stay at Marble Arch by Montcalm Hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I am thrilled that you appreciated our location and found the service very friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back at Marble Arch by Montcalm Hotel in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014

how can you be soo mean in advertising this as a 5 star hotel????it is a total deception,i booked this room through a third party website and when i checked the internet i realised the room sizes were small so i secided to upgrade it to a double room as i was booking it for a very respectable business person,it...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank ani D

217 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (130)
Viewed
Club Room (47)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Zetter Townhouse, Marylebone
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#335 of 1,088 in London
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#69 of 1,088 in London
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Marylebone

Neighbourhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighbourhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Marble Arch by Montcalm

Address: 31 Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7TA, England (Formerly Palace Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Price Range: $326 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marble Arch by Montcalm 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marble Arch by Montcalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marble Arch By Montcalm Hotel London
Palace Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#269 Romantic Hotel in London
#353 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Marble Arch by Montcalm staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Marble Arch by Montcalm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room 105 on the first floor- no views, but situated by itself so very quiet. Renovations across road”
haydndavies2016, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I cannot. Sorry. For the price they are charging the quality does not match”
791hanai, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are very well appointed but the Suites are ultra-luxurious.”
443judye, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“some of the rooms sizes on line 20m but when we get to the hotel we found them only 15m .”
aabbeeh, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for room 105 its not at the front so nice and quiet for a good nights sleep”
outrunmal, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5