We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Barkston Rooms

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Barkston Rooms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 68: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decent beds, decent showers and good staff. I can see theres quite a few refurbishments going on and I'm looking to come back again, so it would be nice if they updated the rooms, showers and beds. Overall not bad for a 4 nights and the location is perfect as its close to the underground, shops and museums.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Management response:

Dear Customer, Thank you for you feedback and we are working to renew all our rooms and bathrooms. Regards Lalla

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Receptionists who don't care, funny smelly rooms, no cups for the coffee and no toilet paper in the toilet... Only good thing I can say is the proximity to the underground which takes you everywhere. Although it's not an expensive place, I surely won't be going back! Sorry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterMichalcik
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had booked a room with a bunk bed for 3 nights and we left the second day !!!!! The check-in was alright and the receptionist wasn't rude nor kind. In the beginning we were given a room at the fourth floor where we had to carry our luggage as there was no elevator . The room itself didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amalia L
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is dirty and full of undesirable individuals. Front desk is useless and will do nothing to solve your issues. There are no plates or silverware in the kitchen... Absurd. On my short stay, police was called twice here due to theft reasons. It all started with my bed assignment to a room that was full. Front desk ended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
Management response:

Dear customer, Our policy allows gusts to stay with us for no more than a Month after the Month expired guest must checkout and return after 2 weeks if they wish to do so. As a Hostel, we do not discriminate against culture or background we are diverse hostel and don't turn anyone away based on what country they come...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I like the friendly manager and reception staffs especially Ryad, Ali, Ibrahim, Hassan, significantly the disciplined and polite security, Mustapha whom have taken every effort to ensure our safety that I am loyal to choose the same hotel for over one year every time I hunt for a hotel in London. I feel welcomed and they are like a family...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank faizan9888
Management response:

Dear Customer , Thank you very much for your feedback . We enjoyed you as a guest and we look forward to accommodate you in the future . Regards Lalla

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Headline says everything. I got stolen £50 and when I told the receptionist she didn't care. The toilet were flooding with crap. When I told in the reception, guess what, they didn't care either. Mouse trap with mice in. Not cool. I thought this place is a joke. I visited before and it was bad that time but liveable. Returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Victoria P
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We had no problems checking in. As we had booked online, we got the basement rooms. It wasn't their best rooms. I'm glad we had the rooms next to each other, which made it easy for us. Average size rooms, with two bunk beds. The sheets and pillow cases were clean. We had a sink and a mirror. There's no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Dear Customer, thank you for your feedback and after reviewing your reservation it's states that you reserved a room with shared bathroom . We do have Ensuite room with additional cost. Regarding the heating it turns on automatically at 8PM if you find that no heating in the room then you should be reported to the reception. We hope to...

France
Reviewed 18 December 2016

The location is great and from the outside, the building is nice and so in the neigbourhood. But then, you come in, and there's no lift. Then, no cuttery, no plates, in the self catering kitchens and no plates. This is absurd. Everything is downstairs, for sale or available only for people who have a breakfast voucher. I tried to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fld93
Management response:

I am glad to hear that our rooms , location and staff are great. About the Kitchen ; we are providing every day catelery but people are taking them in the rooms . I am sorry to hear about your experience and we promise to find a way to let every one use our catelery . I hope to welcoming...

Reviewed 16 December 2016

Checking in was a wonderful experience, the staff were super friendly. The location is great, easy to find. The bed was comfy. The dorm room was clean. The bathroom amenities were clean but not super clean. My only complaint would be that the kitchen did not have any thing other than a kettle and a microwave. It would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Violet Merlin
Management response:

I am glad to hear that our rooms , location and staff are great. About the Kitchen ; we are providing every day catelery but people are taking them in the rooms . I am sorry to hear about your experience and we promise to find a way to let every one use our catelery . I hope to welcoming...

Goulburn, Australia
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here in early December in a twin room, the room was small but suited what we needed as backpackers (bunk bed and bedside table); the room was situated on the first floor in the main building, which was a plus as there is no lift (as expected) at this hostel. The room was facing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dylan180897
Management response:

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear about your experience with us . We are working very hard to improve our Hostel in order to provide best stay . Regards Lalla

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
143 reviews
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#739 of 1,087 in London
422 reviews
Cranbrook Hotel
#6 of 9 in Ilford
203 reviews
RestUp London
#438 of 816 in London
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
Internet
  • Free Internet

Additional Information about Barkston Rooms

Address: 1 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Price Range: $22 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Barkston Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Barkston Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barkston Rooms Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barkston Rooms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Barkston Rooms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower floors are more convenient for those who need to use the laundry”
 of 5 bubbles faizan9888, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The higher you go, the more stairs to climb!!”
 of 5 bubbles 160nickf, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Showers and toilets are non-functional in certain blocks, so pick carefully.”
 of 5 bubbles WilliamC452, 30 Sep 2014 | Read review
“dont come here for ur own good”
 of 5 bubbles BeeJones, 26 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the lower floors, there is no lift!”
 of 5 bubbles Bugsy4702, 29 Mar 2013 | Read review
5 of 5