We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Gaffe

Show Prices
#435 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
La Gaffe
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 202: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our host, Lorenzo Stella and his team made us feel like we were visiting a friend's home for a few days during our trip to London this past weekend. A warm welcome, quick and hassle-free check-in experience, and personal guide to our upstairs Honeymoon Suite with ensuite bath, including a walk-in shower with steam room and a deep jacuzzi tub.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bliu911
Basingstoke, Hants, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Needed to stop over in London ahead of a very early train journey the next day. All 'zone 1' hotels were ridiculously over-priced for last minute deals. However, only a few stops up the Northern Line to find La Gaffe in Hampstead and you uncover a gem. It's not large (10 rooms?), and it's not 'swanky' but what is instead... More 

Helpful?
Thank RelayGB
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful inexpensive food. I have been here countless times with my husband and never disappointed. I like the simple cafe dishes the most. I recommend this restaurant for a lovely warming plate of pasta.

Helpful?
Thank Sabbykat
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A small delightful place to stay with a warm welcome from the friendly staff. The room was clean and the beds comfortable, which provided a good nights' sleep after our excursions. The en-suite was modern, but unfortunately the water pressure from the shower was not as good as we have at home. Location was a short walk to the underground.

Helpful?
Thank Greybeard111
LaGaffeUK, General Manager at La Gaffe, responded to this review

Thank you fr yor review and I am very pleased you enjoyed our atmosphere. Sorry to read about the water pressure..... It can be an issue in these older buildings with water tanks. However, we are aware and are addressing this by reviewing each room and intending to add water pumps to those that we have not already attended to. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with friends for an NFL weekend. Paid £105 for a double room a couple of days before booking for 1 night which included a continental breakfast. Didn't sample the breakfast so can't pass comment. The room was basic but comfortable and clean. The bathroom was small but also clean and modern. The tube is only a 5 minute... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon M
LaGaffeUK, General Manager at La Gaffe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Always happy to have happy guests. Your desciption is spot on and anyone contacting us directly, I would tell them the same thing. And I am glad that you feel that we are decent value for money, I think so too! Take care. More 

Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by a neighbor / friend of mine. I did not have time to try the restaurant, but as far as the hotel is concerned I strongly recommend it: welcoming and efficient check in by a kind and helpful Italian man; simple and pleasant breakfast, nice room with a good bedding... All of this in the great... More 

Helpful?
Thank Etienne B
LaGaffeUK, General Manager at La Gaffe, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I hope the next time you are able to come you will have the opportunity to try our restaurant..... I believe that we offer the best food and the best value in Hampstead! Until the next time..... More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I was booked to stay at La Gaffe with my elderly mother and had confirmation of the booking. When I arrived the hotel had not received the booking and was full. This was in no way the fault of either myself nor the management at La Gaffe. However Lorenzo went out of his way to reassure two travel weary strangers... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael65-12
La G, General Manager at La Gaffe, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your very kind, gracious and supportive review. It is VERY rare indeed that our system misses bookings made via a third party site. Following this occurrence I double checked all bookings for the period where there was an issue with our property management sysytem. More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Hampstead is a wonderful village just North of London. It's a very easy & quick tube ride to all of the shopping and tourist areas of London. The hotel was spotless and incredibly charming on a wonderful street just a block away from the incredible and picturesque Heath. A lovely cold breakfast was provided & the coffee was quite possibly... More 

Helpful?
Thank SpookyGirlfriend
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

This establishment would really merit 3.5 stars from me but this isn't an option on the scale. It is a nice friendly restaurant with some rooms above it, situated in the heart of Hampstead village (this is an experience in itself). The room was very clean and the continental breakfast was fine. The building itself is historic and the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Barkingside
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We, a family of 4, have stayed at the hotel several times at Christmas while visiting family. The location of the hotel is perfect. The service and hospitality are simply outstanding. Breakfast is very nice with boiled eegs and fresh fruit. Far better than many London hotels. I will warmly recommend this hotel, if you are visiting Hampstead.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jes H

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Langorf Hotel
#523 of 1,078 in London
625 reviews
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#618 of 1,078 in London
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glenlyn Hotel
#448 of 1,078 in London
505 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Brewers Inn
Brewers Inn
#462 of 1,078 in London
120 reviews
The Hide London
#58 of 1,078 in London
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
La Gaffe
La Gaffe
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Concierge

Additional Information about La Gaffe

Address: 107-111 Heath Street | Hampstead, London NW3 6SS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $159 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gaffe 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Gaffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gaffe London
La Gaffe Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#297 Business Hotel in London
#362 Romantic Hotel in London
#372 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Gaffe staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from La Gaffe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Honeymoon Suite with Ensuite including steam shower and deep jacuzzi tub :D”
 of 5 bubbles Bliu911, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We did not stay at the hotel but the hospitality was superb and the lovely looking restaurant had a relaxed atmosphere and a great menu”
 of 5 bubbles Rachael65-12, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family room was great with main room, bathroom, and adjoining room with bunkbeds. Up steep stairs though.”
 of 5 bubbles travelplannerm0m, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Small accommodations... but comfy...even tho we were above the Main Street...I did not bother our sleep...”
 of 5 bubbles b0ssybigsis, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you are tall you may want to ask them for the honeymoon suite.”
 of 5 bubbles suzysuzzer, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay