We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
St Christopher\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2015

I really enjoyed staying at the Oasis, as it was very quiet and relaxed. It is a quieter than the Village just a block away. It has everything you need in a hostel, including towels. It gets busy and booked out so you need to book ahead of time. Excellent location for everything you might want to do in London:... More 

Helpful?
Thank DadaMzungu
Beds B, Reception at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Hey, thanks so much for leaving us such a kind review! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay - please come back and see us again soon :) Happy travels! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

I booked this hostel really last minute for one night in London. My favourite thing about the hostel was its location. It's really near the underground station. A 5-10 minute walk brings you to the Tower Bridge, which is gorgeous at night. (: As for the amenities, they were pretty basic. Space everywhere was rather tight, and cleanliness was average.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lingzhi X
STCHostels, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay and took advantage of our great location; right near one of London's most beautiful landmarks! We are sorry the cleanliness did not meet your expectations but, with so many guests, sometimes you make it to the mess before... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I've stayed at the Oasis before, but this was the first time in an 8 bed dorm here (Stayed in others before). The bedroom was fine as were the linens and beds. The storage lockers are a good size, bring your own keys. The bathrooms were ok; bright and clean. The noise level outside was a little high, but it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelr_Gal
Beds B, Reception at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, please come back soon! Happy travels :) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2015

I stayed there for nearlly a month on and off. So I have a clear idea what this hostel is like. During my stay there were 2 occasions when there was no hot water ( from around 10am-18pm) so 2 days there was no hot water. You think its bad? Think again, one of these days I couldnt use a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank samanta g
Beds B, Reception at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at the Oasis. It was a shame you were here when we were having troubles with the heating, since these issues have now been resolved. In regards to the male staff in your hostel, sometimes when no female staff are available the male staff need to enter the Oasis to deal with... More 

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Herning
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2015 via mobile

I chose to stay at the Oasis all women Hostel. 8 bed bedroom. It served its purpose, a bed to sleep in after havin wandered the city all day. The Hostel included fine lockers for which you need a padlock. Showers and toilets, free towel, shampoo, conditiobers and soap. It was just oppisite London Bridge underground, Borough Market and Southwark... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Brittap1967
Beds B, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review, we would really like to see you again :) It also sounds like you took advantage of our central location and facilities for guests, which is what we like to hear ;) Thanks again and all the best on your onward travels. More 

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Awesome location; close to London Bridge station; bed comfortable and nice breakfast. In the other hand, to have your breakfast and check-in/out you must go to the Village, other hostel (3 min walking on the same street); restrooms sometimes are dirty and disgusting. One day there isnt hot water in the building and they suggested to go to the Village... More 

Helpful?
Thank NOperti
Beds B, Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as it perhaps could have been due to some issues that seem to have arose during your stay. As for our toilets and showers we diligently clean them three times a day and once at night but as I'm sure you can imagine, in a... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2014

This was the fifth St. Christopher's Inn location I'd stayed at, so at this point I knew what to expect from the hostel quality. One of the things that shocked me however, this being my first time at an all-female hostel, was how the other guests treated the room at times; it was a mess when I brought my things... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa G
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you liked the location. We are very sorry to hear that you had bad experience with your room mates. We hope to see you again in London next time. Take care ;) More 

Roma
Level Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

noisy (and I knew it, that's why I take with me my ear plugs), enough clean to be good, the beds are hard enough not to make your back complying about where you have slept. Unfortunately at the first floor there are only 2 toilet for 16 people and when one got blocked I though that they would fix the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaBoccaDellaVerita
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are sorry to learn that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunatly some male staff have to go to the room to do their jobs (cleaning, maintenance). We are happy to see that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the place though. Take care and we hope to see... More 

Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel is very basic but is all you need in London. Secure rooms and in a fantastic location near borough market. Value for money in London and so close to the tube and train stations. Would stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank Hayley269
Beds B, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hostel and the location. Please come to visit us again in the futur take care, safe travel ;))) More 

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#281 of 1,078 in London
1,917 reviews
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Southwark
St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighbourhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighbourhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oasis in London Bridge is exactly what it sounds like - a protected retreat of tranquillity just for girls, right in the heart of London. This youth hostel shares a check in, reception and breakfast area with the St Christopher's at the Village hostel - so there's plenty of opportunities to meet fellow travellers from all walks off life and you get to make the most of the on-site nightclub, cinema, comedy club, bar and restaurant - also at the Village. Add to that the fact that Borough Market and the Tower of London are on your doorstep from this location, and you're guaranteed to have a good time. When you've finished tasting the many free food samples at the belly bulging Borough Market, an amazing walking route along the River Thames is only minutes away. After you pass The London Dungeons and Sir Francis Drake's ship - the Golden Hinde, this path heads west to take in St Paul's Cathedral, the amazing and free Tate Modern Gallery, the OXO Tower, Gabriel's Wharf, the British Film Institute, the Southbank Centre, the London Eye, and the Houses of Parliament! Needless to say, you won't be at a loss for something fun to do! This London Bridge location is also a short train ride away from Greenwich with its famous observatory where time is set, the Maritime Museum, the 02 Arena and the Cutty Sark tea clipper! ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient

Address: 59/61 Borough High Street, Southwark | (reception at St Christopher’s Village, 161-165 Borough High Street), London SE1 1NE, England (Formerly St Christopher's Orient Espresso)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Price Range: $35 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private rooms were so nice, and really not that much more expensive. If you want the privacy, it's well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles CupcakeBatgirl, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“"female-friendly" "safe" "good for sports games"”
 of 5 bubbles hwilliams225, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Lower rooms have less stairs, but more street noise :/”
 of 5 bubbles Travelr_Gal, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Room 6 bed B is a double bed for 1 person.”
 of 5 bubbles samantag547, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
“I liked the 4 bed dorms the best”
 of 5 bubbles joscaro, 28 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay