We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Villa Kensington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Villa Kensington
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 246: English reviews
Singapore
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in the triple sharing room & for £150/night with breakfast this hotel is good value & its 5 mins walk to Gloucester station. Room is clean & simple but the walls are thin & can hear people from upstairs talking. Our room faces the road but there's not much traffic. Breakfast is the same fare daily. Reception staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelMaMa7_7
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good location close to hop on hop off bu stop and restaurants. Room 92 right next door to lift and very small. No fridge in the room and the shower base cracked. I think this must be a health hazard! The sink tap was very wobbly and the toilet felt like it was ready to fall off the wall. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
Liverpool
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The main reason for why I only give this hotel 2 dots is the bed. It was hard. Very hard. Floorlike. It was not comfortable at all to sleep in. Otherwise, this is a nice hotel (if you don't mind hearing the neighbours conversations). The room was tidy, the breakfast decent and it's located just a 5 minute walk from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linn L
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am really sorry about the bed....If you have told us, we could have added an extra mattress protector, which is padded, to make it softer....Thank you for staying with us. Best regards. Ferdinand

Fordingbridge
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We stayed at Villa Kensington in one of their triple rooms. Its conveniently located for the museums on Exhibition Road and is an excellent base for visiting those. The Triple room was large with three single beds, quiet, and on the ground floor. Beds were comfortable, bathroom was excellent. TV had loads of channels but no streaming/PPV service. Continental breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, very nice review, thank you so much. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM

Balingen, Germany
Reviewed 6 December 2016

I stayed for two nights for a conference in London. The hotel is easy to reach from Heathrow airport with the Picadilly line to Gloucester Road station. It is just a short walk from the station. The building looks very nice and well kept from the outside. The reception staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was small and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ursula E
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for the feedback; yes, there are few things we need to improve and you are absolutely right to point them out......Thanks again for staying with us. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM

United States
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Very clean. Fantastic breakfast. I paid $137.50 for the room in the picture. It was extremely close to the Gloucester Road Tube. It's next to the Holiday Inn. The Holiday Inn is sandwiched between Ashburn Place and Ashburn Garden. You want Ashburn Garden. I incorrectly booked a non refundable room. They couldn't help me, but the apologies seemed very sincere....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi R
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was pleased to read that overall, you had an enjoyable time with us. Best regards. Ferdinand.

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We stayed at the hotel for a girls weekend. The attractions, shopping, tube, Natural History Museum, Harrods, Hyde park are all a walk away. We also visited Olympia for the Christmas show, if you take a taxi for this it was £12 one way. The hotel seemed really quiet, we only saw other guests at breakfast. Our room for three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyOzDayz
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for staying with us. Take care. Ferdinand. GM

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

We requested a triple room when we booked and then saw a review here to have room 91 as nice and quiet. When we arrived in the morning they kindly kept our cases until later. We were pleased we were allocated rm 91 when we checked in. The beds were comfortable and the room size adequate. All seemed well until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine067
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you very much for being so understandable. I am just glad, and relived, the mishap with the boiler, did not entirely ruined your weekend....Best regards. Ferdinand. GM

Reviewed 4 November 2016

We had a great time at the hotel, and didn't pay too much for it. The room was tidy, clean and comfortable. The staff was always very helpful, ready at all times to attend the guests. The breakfast is good, as well as the restaurant service. The great location is attractive in this hotel - one block close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bárbara B
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, really nice of you taking the time to leave these comments. Thank you and we hope to see you soon. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM

england
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stayed here last night 22nd October - booked through booking.com. Booked here as conveniently near to the Hammersmith Apollo. Unfortunately that is the only good thing about this . For starters this should not be called a hotel- it should be addressed as a Boarding House . On arrival, reception very clinical . Checking in was swift. We were allocated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo1963
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am really sorry, it looks like it was bit of a nightmare for you...I always find it very odd though that some people would write lengthily complain reviews, but not even taking one minute to talk to us in person.....This is obviously a bad complaint, so it deserved a full investigation, which I conducted. Now in all...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#400 of 1,080 in London
713 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#159 of 1,080 in London
882 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#408 of 1,080 in London
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#286 of 1,080 in London
624 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#263 of 1,080 in London
479 reviews
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#652 of 1,080 in London
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Price Range: $135 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Villa Kensington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Villa Kensington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see the room first if possible and don't settle for 92.”
  • Room 92
 of 5 bubbles sharonfP4586NZ, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 91 (triple) on ground floor ideal if you don't do stairs/lifts. Spaciousand very quiet as it doesn't face the street.”
 of 5 bubbles alanh807, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Just don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles jo1963, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room was quite. Nothing bad for us”
 of 5 bubbles Badrosie27, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the first floor -in the back - it was great!”
 of 5 bubbles chissis, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay