We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bedford Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bedford Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,063 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bedford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 732: English reviews
Imizu, Japan
Reviewed 9 October 2014

I and my family stayed at Bedford Hotel for two nights. We nicely spent our time in simple and clean rooms just with essential facilities. It was felt well in this case of room-sharing by two persons that bathroom and toilet were separated in the room. Our dinner at the hotel restaurant was so pleasant by delicious smoked-herring and good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank makoto k
London
Reviewed 9 October 2014

The single room i had was bigger than expected, with all the facilities required. Good value for money, i would recommend it Within walking distance of Euston station and underground. Ideally located for a good variety of restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stewart J
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We have stayed here a number of times and have always been happy. Not fancy but good clean and value for the money. Staff generally pleasant, cleanig staff and waiters very good. Will be back again....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank barker1948
Reviewed 2 October 2014 via mobile

Great location - close to Holborn & Russell Square tube stations, and near several nice restaurants, a photocopy shop and a Tesco shop, all of which came in handy. The room was nice, free wifi was also nice (you have to get a slip but it's not much of a hassle), the garden is a nice touch, and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ben H
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Stayed in hotel for four nights,did not spend a lot of time in hotel however the location was great with two tube stations only five minutes away.Bed sheets and towels were changed and replaced daily.Breakfast had all the basic choices of a full English.Would definitely recommend hotel to those who are looking for a budget hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elizabeth C
Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We booked this hotel for location reasons and it seemed to be the better of the hotels we've seen, as far as reviews and price range. Upon entering the hotel, around noon, there was an odor of fish, but that is because they have a restaurant adjacent to the reception desk, in which they serve fish for breakfast, so you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dina808
Delavan
Reviewed 24 September 2014

Perfect location for exploring London. Easy access to bus and underground, Room was small but adequate. Street noise was not an issue as we had a garden side room. The breakfast however was horrible. My wife and I are vegans so we cannot comment on the meat and egg dishes but the coffee, toast and "pastries" were terrible. Bad coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alan B
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share you comments with us. We were glad to acknowledge that the Bedford's ideal location suited your requirements and that you were pleased with the room and enjoyed a good night's sleep. Equally, we were disappointed to learn of your feedback regarding breakfast. Our staff are on hand to assist our...

Sheffield
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We have stayed at The Bedford on several occasions. It is one of the Imperial Group of hotels that cluster around Bloomsbury. The Bedford is our favourite when we want a few days in London 'playing the tourist'. It is very convenient for transport (bus/tube), the City or West End. The food is not as good as it should be,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jonnycomelately
London
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Room 528 is not really convenient for handicappied person. There is not nearly enough shelf space for medicines, etc. in bathroom, and shower design is poor. Also, shower floor leaks water onto the floor. Door closure mechanism is very awkward for persons with arthritic hands.

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William A
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding our disabled room. We were disappointed to acknowledge your comments and have immediately liaised with our Maintenance and Health & Safety teams who are in the process of addressing the concerns raised. Our staff are normally happy to assist and welcome our Guests' feedback, and most certainly a solution...

Reviewed 21 September 2014

On the surface, the rooms are "reasonable", albeit small. But sound insulation is poor. Street noise can be a problem, as can noise from neighbours. Internet access is nominally "free", but a separate signin chit must be obtained from the front desk every 8 hours, for every WiFi device. And breakfast is best forgotten - limited choice and none of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert F
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bedford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the Bedford Hotel. We were glad you found the rooms to be adequate and the hotel was generally good value for central London. Equally, we regret the traffic noise was a nuisance, all our front facing windows are double glazed to ensure our guests are not disturbed. Our...

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (231)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (62)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#518 of 1,086 in London
3,275 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#406 of 1,086 in London
968 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#328 of 1,086 in London
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#665 of 1,086 in London
315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#298 of 1,086 in London
764 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#443 of 1,086 in London
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: $181 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bedford Hotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Bedford Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“When you wanna have a silent room, ask for the non-street side.”
 of 5 bubbles Sonner, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Had lifts to all the floors”
 of 5 bubbles GillRuddick, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were at the front but it was not very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles francesm221, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a view to the garden at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Paulistana08, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear away from Southampton Row if possible”
 of 5 bubbles 0ciaran, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5