We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Cambridge Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Royal Cambridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 182: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Very convenient, super close to underground, restaurants, pubs and shops. Fairly clean. I got a very small room, but furnished with all the basics you need. Staff very polite and nice. Wifi did not work, they said there was a temporary problem with the router. I checked out at 6.30am, so I missed breakfast, served between 7.30 and 9.30am.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BradleyHeathcote
Management response:

Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your recent feedack. We strive to offer the best possible service and any feedback encourages our team to ensure our guests are feel comfortable and enjoy their stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed for 3 weeks on a family visit from Australia. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Location was very safe. I will be coming back again next year for my visit.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rachelturneruk
RoyalCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We strive to offer an excellent stay to all our guests, and any feedback encourages us and helps us understand our guests needs.

Lincoln
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Booked this hotel on a deal and it cost me £50 and believe me it wasn't even worth that. I would have probably paid £20 as a gesture. Our room was in the basement and next to a generator room. I asked to be moved to another room and I was told that there was not another spare room in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elaineandsimon
Norfolk
Reviewed 25 May 2012

the signs "no cooking in room" and electrical sockets falling out the wall are a clue. vile, dirty, rip off. no way a hotel, more a sh1tty hovel. as for breakfast, you may prefer to eat out of my toilet.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DJR D
RoyalCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, With reference to your review. It is has deeply concerned me that you have found the need to use such strong language to justify your view and would like to apologise for your distress. With regards to your comments, I apologise if any issues you had were not resolved on the premises, as we do an inspection daily...

malaysia
Reviewed 18 May 2012

we booked this hotel as it is owned by a malaysian company.somehow dont be fooled by its name.there is nothing royal about this hotel.the location is excellent,walking distance to oxford street.since it was a short trip,plus i only needed a place to sleep,i wouldnt complain much.it is clean,with basic amenities provided.the room is incredibly small,as i said,just a place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank putriizwaniza
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked this as a Deal of the Day on Booking.com and found that my confidence in the booking site was misplaced. My daughter had booked tickets for 2 shows as a birthday treat for me.The area around Paddington seemed a good location BUT: The pictures of the interior on the website were nothing like the real interior. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fleetwoodresident
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We checked the reviews on this hotel after we had booked so arrived feeling rather anxious as to where we were staying. I am pleased to say we were pleasantly surprised & relieved. we had a twin room on the top floor. The room was spacious & clean. Bedding was clean & the beds very comfortable, The en-suite was small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SueSimpson292
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Booked a triple room - given a tiny double room with 3 single beds, all pushed together to make one big bed. No floor space left for 3 people to move about. No mirror in bedroom, no plug near bathroom mirror to use hairdryer. Fan and main light in bathroom not working. Moved beds to try and create a walkway...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed in the twin room. It wasn't big but quite spacious. Best thing is the location. Walking distance to Oxford st and also the nearby bus servics nearby takes you to all the interesting places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haditheking
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My partner (now fiancee after our trip to London) booked us in advance to go to the Royal Cambridge- great location after getting the train and arriving in Paddington Station. The Pros end there. We were given our key to room 4- down in the basement- rooms were tired and worn- no room to swing a goldfish with only one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liz C

268 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Family Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 km away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#679 of 1,087 in London
319 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#474 of 1,087 in London
465 reviews
0.1 km away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#795 of 1,087 in London
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#628 of 1,087 in London
126 reviews
0.1 km away
Kingsway Park Hotel
Kingsway Park Hotel
#842 of 1,087 in London
270 reviews
0.0 km away
Olympic House Hotel
Olympic House Hotel
#807 of 1,087 in London
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: 124-126 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $127 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cambridge London
Royal Cambridge Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Royal Cambridge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sleep at the back of the hotel which is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles SaraPaul186424, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front are over a busy road”
 of 5 bubbles fredatheflea, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Above and alongside our room onbtge third floor was quite noisy”
 of 5 bubbles lorrainebI7530ZE, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room on 2nd floor warmer, quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 164iuliap, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dont take room in the basement.”
 of 5 bubbles Agneess, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5