We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sofitel London St James

Show Prices
#30 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel London St James
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,797 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel London St James
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,567: English reviews
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2012

this has to be one the best hotels in london if not the best in my opinion,the place is so elegant & delightful you just blown away.tremendous room service & very helpful staff.rooms are so clean & looks so pretty & the bathroom is spotless.this place is surely gona make you want to come here many time if you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scotty S
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I truly thank you to rank us as the best hotel in London. You really made my day! As a matter of fact we put a lot into serving all of our guests with a genuine passion and I am most happy to hear that you have felt it. A très bientôt. Denis

Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed here for the second time in August. I love this hotel and we get a good rate however full rate is overpriced! We had a lovely afternoon tea in the Rose Lounge which was the first time we have got around to doing this in all the times we have been to London, the waitress who served us in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lisa_a
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I am most pleased to hear that you have had an overall very enjoyable experience at Sofitel London St James. Indeed the Afternoon Tea in the Rose Lounge is an amazing experience with an enchanting, charming atmosphere. I am sorry for the issue with the breakfast which was gently sorted out by the restaurant manager. I look forward to your...

Exeter
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is the second stay in a few months and it was once again fantastic. Just a quick stop over whilst on business and it was nice to relax in the spacious room. Ordering room service was efficient and the food was great. The staff cannot do enough for you. Thank you Sofitel for a wonderful stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JMExeter
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

It is truly rewarding to read such positive feedbacks as yours and I thank you for that. I will pass on your kind words to my team and in particular to the Room Service Department as it will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such high level of service. A bientôt. Denis

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed here for a weekend in February. The hotel is situated just a short walk from the Piccadilly tube station and "everything" is pretty close, so the location is very good :) The staff was very attentive and service was great :) If you want some luxury while staying in London, stay here, you wont be disappointed!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PaulArneWik
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our assets either for business or leisure purposes. I thank you for mentioning your great satisfaction regarding our standard of services. As a matter of fact we genuinely look after our guests. I am also greatful to you recommending TripAdvisor surfers to come over to Sofitel London St James. Au revoir....

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 1 October 2012

One word : Excellent !!!! Everything was superb an the hotel is in a great location. Quiet and generous rooms. Very comfortable bed. Well trained staff and lovely bathrooms. Great restaurant and the bar is very cosy.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cyblexy01
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such generous a feedback! My team and I felt really proud while reading your kind words. Indeed we have a passion for all of our guests and we genuinely love to indulge them. I am also greatful to you regarding your positive feedback on the restaurant The Balcon and the St James Bar. We have...

Oxford
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hotel is well situated just a short walk from Piccadilly Circus tube station. The staff were welcoming and the foyer and bar set a good tone for the rest of the hotel. The rooms are opulent and plush, have lovely bathrooms and beds so comfortable you don't want to get off of them. The rooms are well equipped with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GLD2
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you very much for mentioning your satisfaction through all the departments of the hotel! We do our utmost to meet our guests expectations and even more. I am sorry for disclosing to your partner the "Romance" package but I am afraid we were not aware about it being a surprise. We look forward to welcoming you back so...

NZ
Reviewed 28 September 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left - everything was just superb! The hotel is in a great location and is well designed and appointed. The building is an old bank and they have kept as much history as possible whilst enhancing with some nice touches. The rooms are generous and extremely well appointed. The bathroom is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1nz
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I was delighted to read your feedback and I thank you for that. All my team and I are truly greatful to you. We are really happy to hear that our genuine passion for our guests is palpable as you have mentioned almost all the departments at Sofitel London St James. We all look forward to your return. Au revoir....

Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Nice, well located and quiet. Rooms are a little bit small but very clean. Breakfast buffet is poor. You'll have to walk across all the restaurant depending what you choose. Service is great and kind ... I'll use this hotel for my next trips in London.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fabs71
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I thank you for posting such positive a feedback. We do our utmost to satisfy our guests expectations and I am glad to hear that you have had an enojyable experience at Sofitel London St James. A bientôt de vous revoir. Denis

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My daughters and I stayed at the Sofitel for three nights. For the price it was everything that it should have been. Beds were superb and bedding was great quality. The shower head in bathroom was amazing. We didn't have the breakfast daily as we are not big eaters in the morning but from what l heard from other guests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracy633
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

I can tell that you have slept like a baby on MyBed, a unique system implemented by Sofitel Luxury Hotels which takes you to sleep like onto fluffy clouds. Did you know that you can buy it online. Don't hesitate, indulge yourself also at home. My team and I were delighted to hear about our high standard of services. A...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This hotel manages to get it right on so many levels. Professional staff, outstanding central location, warm welcome, comfortable - tastefully decorated rooms , outstanding beds, public areas you want to linger in. Room reasonably priced ( by London standards ) at $600 a night inclusive of taxes and full English breakfast . Pros : Great central location close to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KellyNebraska
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review

At Sofitel London St James we wanted to match the English tradition to the French elegance. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed the atmosphere we have created. The whole team is dedicated to meet our guests expectations and it is our utmost reward to read your satisfaction regarding our high level of services. A bientôt de vous...

1,307 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (907)
Viewed
Bathroom (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (237)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (151)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (338)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (318)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Room (124)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#9 of 1,089 in London
763 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
1,081 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#39 of 1,089 in London
2,734 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
3,405 reviews
Soho
Hotel Cafe Royal
Hotel Cafe Royal
#57 of 1,089 in London
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in St. James's

Neighbourhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Rose Lounge
The Rose Lounge
Cuisines: British, French, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features a restaurant, "The Balcon," an elegant cocktail bar, the St James Bar and a chic yet cosy Rose Lounge, ideal for afternoon tea. The hotel is the perfect place to unwind with So FIT, a gym and relaxation space, and a luxurious spa, So SPA. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range: $456 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in London
#12 Spa Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel London St James staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, Australia
7 months ago
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 months ago
8 months ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel London St James staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 rms-2 categories-both great;views limited to streets/bldgs-don’t worry re cat/location. Only 6 floors-all rms equally convenient/quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SuthinFoodie, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent, but you won't be disappointed if you pay for the best you can afford”
 of 5 bubbles willl59, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one higher than floor 1. Not much of a view through the domed window that comes from the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 642rachaelp, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“5th floor was quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles F4271PJdaniellem, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“great service, luxury, style”
 of 5 bubbles mattmE6258YS, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5