We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castleton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castleton Hotel
Castleton Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

544 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castleton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 381: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2011

stayed in a triple room and would NOT recommend for three people as you cannot get to the wardrobe as one of the beds blocks it, thus luggage must be stored in the only pathway from the door to the farthest bed. daughter called the bathroom a "space capsule" as it was very very small, if you are oversized in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spinfamily
Singapore
Reviewed 24 December 2010

I stayed in room L114 for 6 nights. Pros: Staff was extremely friendly. When i asked them questions about getting around in london, they tried their best to answer me. Location is perfect but finding the hotel at night is confusing. The room was longish and had space to place my luggages just next to my bed. Toiliet is spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LJJSingapore
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Stayed in Room 114. What a horrible place - it was a depressing basement room. Was booked in for 2 nights & checked out after 1 and found a new hotel. There was a huge draft coming in the window which I had to block with pillows, no toilet seat, nowhere in the bathrom to hang the towels, no remote...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank herbie747
Management response:

I am sorry to read that herbie747 had a less than pleasant stay at our hotel. I always make a habit of investigating complaints and responding to them accordingly. In this case I have to refute some of the claims made by Herbie747. 114 is a large family room situated on the lower ground floor of the hotel, which is...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 December 2010

I have been going to London approximately 6x/year for the past 5 years. I have experienced several hotels on varying levels (1*-5*) and always come back to Castelton. The staff is amazing. So friendly and accommodating!! Location is central and a two minute walk to Paddington Station. Rooms are small compared to American rooms but that's normal for Europe. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubblyblond
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Very bad hotel, poor rooms with bad beds to sleep in and a very smal, plastic prefab bath room ... even wors than a Formule 1 hotel but at full hotes price. Not price worthy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank whoopy001
castleton1, Owner at Castleton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Whoopy001 for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you had a less than enjoyable experience in our hotel. As the hotel is in a converted Victorian town house the rooms tend to be small. This is due to planning constraints and the general layout of such and old listed building. However even though...

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I want to say many thanks to Emir (sorry, if I've not written the name properly), who was at the reception these weekend. He helped me to solve one problem with checking-in very quickly. I'm sincerelly grateful to him. He's exclusively patient and polite person, espesially that I was not in my own's best mood :) Rooms are cosy, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgrcheg
Tasmania
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Make sure you take the Praed St exit from Paddington Station and you'll be within viewing distance of the hotel. There is a lift, the room we had was spotless, shower small but clean and worked well. We asked for and received more tea and milk without a problem. Breakfast was included and was substantial. We only had one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GAT59
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We recently returned from a 2 month trip to London, France and Italy and out of all our accommodation even in B & B's the room that we stayed in has got to be the smallest room of all. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we were aware that the rooms were going to be small but quite frankly our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Campbj
castleton1, Owner at Castleton Hotel, responded to this review

I always appreciate guest reviews, good and bad. Thank you Campbj for taking the time to review our hotel. The rooms in our hotel are compact due to planning constraints. As we are housed in 2 heavily listed buildings we have to comply with the listed building regulations. Unfortunately this does mean we cannot move some walls, services etc. As...

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I had to go to London to a conference in Paddington area. I already had a bad experience in another hotel in Norfolk Square, so I was trying to be more careful and look something better in that area. Overall, I paid a couple of ten pounds more that my other stay, but was definitely worth it. The Castleton is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Strube
haifa
Reviewed 26 September 2010

we stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and were satisfied. rooms are small but convinient with all neccesery facilities. shower is tint but if you face it with good sense of humor it quite a challenging experience if you know what i mean. breakfest is great , enough to fill your tummy untill noon but it would be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HaifaToto

387 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple (38)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Twin Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.2 km away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#669 of 1,089 in London
329 reviews
0.1 km away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#781 of 1,089 in London
606 reviews
0.1 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#657 of 1,089 in London
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#481 of 1,089 in London
471 reviews
0.1 km away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#589 of 1,089 in London
716 reviews
0.1 km away
Stylotel
Stylotel
#543 of 1,089 in London
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $127 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castleton Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Castleton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away!”
 of 5 bubbles kec425, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not recomened for disabled people at all.”
 of 5 bubbles 959karianneb, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upper Level Rooms are recommended Graden View”
 of 5 bubbles WehbiCheaib, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose lower floors for diabled and old travelers; athletics and weight conscious at the higher floors. (No lifts)”
 of 5 bubbles MelanieBOND, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Check if the lift is working before you check in”
  • Bedside table & coffee/tea amenities
  • Double room
 of 5 bubbles IntanWan, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5