We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

RestUp London

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
RestUp London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for RestUp London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 236: English reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

A good price for a budget hotel. Is enormous and has a cosy atmosphere. If you're gonna stay for a short time it's great but not for longer periods. I suggest to bring a sleep mask and earplugs for a good night sleep. Otherwise it's hard. It's annoying that there's no contact sockets in the rooms but only in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LillaLadyn
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Most of our rooms have individual sockets for each bed or a few to share throughout the room. I'm sorry if you were unlucky enough to end up in one of the few ones with no sockets. I'm glad you liked the location and I hope you had a good overall stay. Johan, Duty manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Pros: 1) This hostel has a fairly good location. Multiple buses stop right in front of it, and it's only about 7 minutes walk to Elephant and Castle underground. I was able to get anywhere I wanted (Leicester Square, Camden Market, Buckingham Palace, Oxford Street, etc) within 15-30 minutes. 2) The bathrooms and showers are very clean which is nice....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 648mmm
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the review! It sounds like you had a great stay overall and saw a lot of London. I'm really happy that you found the staff friendly and liked our building. The wifi is something we are currently working on. Installing it has taken longer than we'd like, but it's coming :) The dirty bed sounds very odd...

Toruń
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 604paulinac
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Reviewed 16 November 2016

The staff was friendly and pleasant, the place was clean as well as the amenities but I don't get why they advertise that they offer wifi when it doesn't work. I could understand if I was trying to stream or download movies but I was trying to book a bus ticket for more than two hours! The internet kept chipping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette B
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Nicolette, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry about your wifi experience! This is something we have noticed happens during the busy evening hours, when everyone is in the building. We are currently working on getting much more reliable wifi, and hopefully throughout the building and not just the reception area. I hope you had a good stay...

Forcalquier, France
Reviewed 6 November 2016

After a comfortable night I set out to journey back to France and it wasn't till I was at Stansted airport before I realized I had forgotten my precious hearing aids on the window sill by my bed ! I rang the hostel in a bit of a panic. The kind Lia at the reception desk sent them to my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andreasmuller
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi Andreas, Thanks for the great review! I have passed it on to Lia. I'm very happy that it all worked out and that you are now back to hearing. Hope to see you back here again! After all, France is only a short train ride away. Johan Duty Manager

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed here as a family of 4, with a family room. The room was small, just as you would expect, but clean, and with beds we found comfortable. Bathroom was shared (again, as expected) but modern and clean. There was some road noise from New Kent Road, but not a big issue (and we are used to a quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyclayton
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for the great review. It sounds like you had a great stay with us, which makes me happy. We have a newly installed heating system which is automatic and temperature based. We are still tweaking the temperatures so thanks for the feedback. I hope to see you back with us again in the future. Best regards, Johan

Reviewed 6 October 2016

We booked a 4 person room with bathroom or at least not co-educated bathroom..but we got a co-educated bathroom in the corridor, it was very dirty however they cleaned it at least twice a day but still for that many people it was just very busy and had to wait a lot to get in, the breakfast was awful, really..OMG...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 717szilvias
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hello! I'm sorry to hear your stay wasn't as expected. I'm curious what website you used to book your stay, because we don't have any four bed rooms with private bathroom and I can't find any such information anywhere. If there's wrong information somewhere we would of course like to fix that :) You are right that the bathrooms are...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 October 2016

this place is big and convenient , full of young noisy people , cheap and i suppose a little cheerful . you pay , you stay . rest up and go ... no frills , a few bugs too ... eastern european bolt hole ,. only serves a purpose . I'm not dissing the place but there are a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wizardwisper
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Big and convenient is a good summery, considering our excellent location :) With our newly refurbished (and super nice, if we may say so ourselves) common areas, and our friendly staff, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a better experience. I can only hope that you give us...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The rooms were poorly ventilated and very warm, was perspiring as soon as i got to bed. Wifi could not be received from my room and only works intermittently at the main area. But staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshua K
RestUp_London, Manager at RestUp London, responded to this review

Hi! Sorry to hear you experienced the room as too hot. For most rooms this is not an issue, but of course it depends on the number of people in it and the location of the windows. I hope you got a good nights sleep anyway. Wifi is currently in the common areas only but we are working on upgrading...

Reviewed 26 September 2016

After solo backpacking for the last 4 months and visiting 21 countries the team at Rest Up hostel were the most friendliest and helpful that I have come across!!! Consisting of Sam, Taty, Leah and Morgan they made my stay very enjoyable and helped me a lot with the paperwork I required to set up bank accounts and look for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbie S

371 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Double Room (16)
Viewed
Eight Bed with Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Quad Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Showers and Toilets (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#688 of 1,089 in London
130 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#43 of 837 in London
520 reviews
London Backpackers
#205 of 837 in London
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 837 in London
2,396 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#68 of 837 in London
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
REST UP hostel in London has been established within Driscoll House, a unique pre-WWI baroque style listed building, unlike any other in the surrounding suburb of Elephant & Castle. We have a century old history of being a hostel, a claim that we are very proud of, originally just for women and children however now open to all. With an original exterior, the interior has been brought up to date with modern common areas perfect for relaxing and zoning out of reality and into the cyber world with our FREE WIFI. Our TV room and terrace are both great places to enjoy some snacks and laze around in the brightly coloured chairs/ bean bags and soak up the sunlight (on the rare occasions when London’s weather decides to shine). English not your mother tongue? That’s not a problem! We have multi-lingual staff that are here to help you. A hostel unlike any other hostel; with the hustle and bustle of central London on our doorstep complimented by the great array of guests within (young and old from all around the world) as well as friendly staff and delicious meals available throughout the day it’s the perfect place to make new friends, relax and REST UP at Driscoll House Hostel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about RestUp London

Address: 172 New Kent Road | Driscoll House, London SE1 4YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $22 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — RestUp London 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your RestUp London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from RestUp London staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from RestUp London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“None - don't go.”
Mel4963, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room where you can get actual sleep, without traffic noise.”
sofiaa808, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms with private toilet/bathroom”
998paulav, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not go there, there is another hostel much better and is called WOMBAST of Generator”
855miguelm, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front of the building gets some road noise, but also good views of the Shard on the skyline.”
  • The shard from a 3rd floor room.
happyclayton, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5