We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel London

AMOMAUS$35*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$61*
US$35*
Great Deal
US$59*
US$36*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,397 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,265: English reviews
Start your review of Generator Hostel London
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The place was very clean. You get a sink in the room so you can refill your water bottle or wash your hands anytime. I got overnight oats for breakfast, it was great filled me up past lunchtime. With only 12 minutes​ from King's Cross by walking and a station stop straight from Heathrow, it takes away worry of not...

Review collected in partnership with statravel.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Famigerate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location is good, central but still quiet. It was surprisingly very clean for the amount of people and activity that goes on daily. Our room was very comfortable with excellent all day wi-fi signal. The showers had amazing water pressure & hot water. The staff are really friendly and the security staff at night made the place feel really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dayanas744
London
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Fairly low cost and centrally located, but noisy and with not very helpful staff. You also have to pay over the odds for a padlock if you want to keep your stuff safe. I had a pretty rubbish night's 'sleep' all in all!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X5071NTdddbb
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

(日本語下にあります) One of the biggest reasons why I really enjoyed London is that I stayed at this hostel! The location is perfect. It is close from King's cross station, moreover, only 5min walking from Russel Square station! If you use a subway, you can go to Piccadilly Circus only for 10min! The dormitory and bathroom were cleaned everyday, so it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 彩子 岸
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For London I think this is just about the best you can get! We travelled as a couple and only paid 80.- for the night, which is very cheap for central London. It is at a very nice location and the infrastructure really surprised me. The only thing I'd say wasn't the best, when traveling as a couple is that...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timy L
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for 9 nights in early March. The location of the hostel was perfect, the room was clean but very very small. Every time we opened the room door it hit one of the bunk beds. The draws under the bunks are useful but they do not fit a full sized suitcase. The customer service was average and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chelseaairey95
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest, we are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with the room size - next time please do not hesitate to come see our reception team working around the clock just to assist you. We are happy that you had good use of our location and that you felt the cleaning met your standards. Thank you for staying...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed in a 4 bed room for 3 nights. Very small, compact room but handy pull out drawers were located under the bed for extra storage space for luggage. Bed was very comfortable and could not hear too much noise apart from one night which is to be expected in a hostel. No complaints from the shower (not overly busy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ciara817
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback - your opinion is very important to us. We are happy that you thought the bed were comfortable and that you had good use of the boxes under the beds. Thank you for staying with us - we cannot wait to see you back again. Best wishes - Generator London

Osaka, Japan
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

location is nice, bathrooms are clean and there are great cafe and bar! People working there are super nice!!! 😍✨ especially thanks a lot to Luis and Salmon working at reception for the lovely stay! I highly reccomend to stay lovely place in London! 立地も良いし、バスルームも清潔! ベッドも快適に寝れます。 大英博物館も徒歩で行けるし、キングスクロスが近いので便利! スタッフの方も気さくで親切な方ばかり! カフェバーでも夜遅くまで楽しめます。 ロンドンに泊まるなら絶対、オススメします。

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msaloha831
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi msaloha831, thank you for your very nice feedback we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy that you had good use of our location and that you had a good time in our great cafe and bar. We are super excited that you had a good experience with out nice staff and we will...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Only downside to this place is the bouncer on the door wouldn't allow us in with our own beer so if you're planning on drinking in the room, keep it hidden. Other than that, clean rooms, very good facilities. Location is decent, just a short walk to Kings Cross. For the budget conscious people visiting London, this is perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Dear Tom O, unfortunatly our guests are not allowed to bring their own alcohol inside the hostel but we can keep it for you in the reception and you can pick it up before you leave to go out. We are happy you still enjoyed your stay with us and had good use of our location. Thank you for staying...

Reviewed 1 week ago

All the generator hostels are good. The rooms are clean and spacious enough. It's located in a very good area, you have access different metro stations and it's also located walking distance to different neighborhoods. The staff is friendly ans you have different areas to chill and relax.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aranchime91
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Aranchime91, it is great to hear that you think well about all the Generators and that the room sizes and cleanliness is good. We are happy that you had good use of our location and that you enjoyed all of our common areas available to relax and hang out in. Lastly we are excited that you thought our staff...

596 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (461)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (249)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Other (59)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#16 of 837 in London
1,122 reviews
Bloomsbury
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#43 of 837 in London
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $43 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
80 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (80)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6 bed with private bathroom”
Aranchime91, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book far in advance for best rates. Bring your own towels unless you're happy to rent some from the hostel.”
MegG360, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was at 4th floor on a 2 beds room, so might have helped for the good experience there.”
adelinul2000, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great location”
BabouWang, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get the room on the first floor so you don't have to use stairs all the time.”
230danyr, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$35* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$59
Hostelworld.comUS$36
PricelineUS$61
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates