We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Generator Hostel London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,229: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we were staying here for a Stag do, our standards were not high! The rooms were clean and all you would hope for and the other facilities seemed of high cleanliness standards. The best part is the location of the hostel - being close to Kings Cross/ Euston and Russel Square. The bar was open until 3am which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan_ZP_Lau
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Alan_ZP_Lau, It is fantastic to hear from you! Yes we are lucky to be so close to Kings Cross and Russell Square stations, makes it easier for getting around the city. We will pass your feedback regarding the breakfast onto our food and beverage manager. Best wishes, Generator London

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night while attending a conference. Beds ok, clean enough bathrooms. Showers could have been better. Very noisy outside the room on a Wednesday night. Also down a dark alley which is disconcerting at night. But ok for hostel prices

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aoife654
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi aoife654, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept our apologies that there was noise outside your room one night , our security patrol the corridors but must have been at a different time, we will inform them. Best wishes, Generator London

Ghent, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We paid a lot of money for a quad room. But the room has nearly no space to fit 4 people in. Every thing in the hostel was an extra and needed to be paid for. Smokers outside got constantly bullied by a steward that we needed to hurry up and shut up. Having no bathroom on the room sucks....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank debockj
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi debockj, We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and apologise if you felt pressurised while smoking late at night. As our guests are usually smoking near some guest rooms we do ask for quiet while outside. We have som 2 or 6 person rooms with a private bathroom, guests can upgrade to these rooms with our...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the hostel for 4 days. in the beginning we were really disappointed, cause the receptionist (who works in the morning) was really unfriendly. but in the evining the security do there job really good the bar is super the decoration is super it is near the underground (russel square) if you want to go with youre children...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kubra a
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey kubra a, We are pleased that you were made to feel at home by Luis and our night team, it is really important to us that our guests feel comfortable. Your feedback has been shared with our team and discussed with our reception. Hopefully you can stay with us again. Best wishes. Generator London

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. Our room was pretty big (4 bed dorm) and the chests under the beds to store your stuff are really useful. Room and bathrooms were all spotless. The communal/ cafe area of very nice and the prices aren't too steep. The best bit though is the location, it's so easy to get anywhere from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Megan W, Yes the storage chests under the beds are handy for storing belonging, especially as guests can lock with a padlock. Glad you liked our common areas, your feedback has been shared with our team. Hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes, Generator London

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had previously stayed in the Generator Hostel Dublin and had a great stay there and had a similar experience from the London one. Stayed here for 3 nights in 10 person female only dorm. + clean bedding, comfortable beds + location + female only dorms available + large 'chill out' and bar areas + visible security + boxes under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Hannah C, We are thrilled that you chose to share your London adventure with us! We are currently trying out ways we can instal individual plugs in the rooms, without disrupting guests in the process. Hopefully we will have this sorted if you visit us again. Best wishes, Generator London

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I liked the hostel, the service is good and the decoration it's nice so i liked hanging out on the common room. The only thing i didn't like was that I noticed they didn't clean the rooms very often, i spend 4 nights there and never saw someone cleaning the rooms. Our trash can was full cause nobody changed the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anapaugzm
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey anapaugzm, We are pleased that for the most part you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time share your experience. Usually our housekeeping team cleans the rooms when someone departs but can also clean extra days when requested. We have asked our housekeeping manager to look into this and maybe visit the female dorms...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a bit of a room issue upon check in. However, the staff were so freaking lovely it didnt even feel like an issue at all. The room was sorted within the hour, we had a bottle of wine given to us for our troubles and had a lovely time. Big thanks to the blonde lady at the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rowanna M
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi Rowanna M, Please accept our sincere apologies that there was an issue with your room, we are just pleased that our staff were able to make up for this. We hope we can have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Generator London.

Oxford
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Good location but young staff who at times are less professional towards customers & their oddities at times. Only one shower on shared room floors ... & eating area w very loud music and so if you are family or neee rest for budibess next day not necessarily good

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SiriCrimeBusinessMgz
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hi SiriCrimeBusinessMgz, Thank you for your feedback, we have recently adjusted the music in our common areas so that in our chill out room it is very light background music. Hopefully all our guests will find an area that suits them. Best wishes, Generator London

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

To be ten people was perfect at the hostel. One room for all of us and the feeling of security and trust. The resepsjon was funky and the bar played old school songs who made me wanna dance! The guards was protective and fun to talk to! Especially one guard I talked to on the outside when I was one...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank enyamariaw
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

hey enyamariaw, It is fantastic to hear from you after your recent stay with us, thank you for sharing your London adventure! We are so happy that you enjoyed our bar and hope you were here for karaoke night. Hope to see you again next time you are in London. Best wishes, Generator London

593 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (458)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (246)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 827 in London
1,104 reviews
Bloomsbury
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#43 of 827 in London
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: $43 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book far in advance for best rates. Bring your own towels unless you're happy to rent some from the hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles MegG360, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was at 4th floor on a 2 beds room, so might have helped for the good experience there.”
 of 5 bubbles adelinul2000, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great location”
 of 5 bubbles BabouWang, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get the room on the first floor so you don't have to use stairs all the time.”
 of 5 bubbles 230danyr, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great for young travellers”
 of 5 bubbles karenbR1047XX, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5