We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Lion Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Lion Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Black Lion Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Disappointed we tried to book a double but could only get a twin, but on arrival it turned out to be a triple room, bunk beds and a single bed, not much good for a romantic weekend! Room very small, bathroom very small, lots of small towels, room bedding was clean. Had an evening meal which was very nice, breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate all your comments and feedback. It is disappointing to hear the room in terms of 'room type' was not suitable. However we would recommend booking with us direct in the future and we will ensure you have the accommodation you require. It's always good to hear...

Bangor, Wales
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Single traveller penalised again. Room large enough but not a patch on the double rooms that were seen. The separate bathroom was not cleaned after my first night there, neither was the room. Half used toiletries (presumably from the room's previous tenant) left on the sink. Screen on the TV disappearing in the corners.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catrinl516
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we welcome all comments and reviews. It is disappointing to hear your stay was not satisfactory, we are meticulous with the Housekeeping here at The Black Lion and it is very rare that we have a report of this kind, however we will investigate why this happened and ensure...

BOLTON, Lancashire
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Waited ages at Reception for Tired room with broken Socket Outlet, outdated electrical appliances, beds were past their best, small bathroom with noisy Saniflo and a sign saying you would be charged if it got blocked, it looked like It would be used by Builders staying over, Breakfast was overseen by a rude Security Guard, Certywont be staying here again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevemblack
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments and feedback. It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We regularly update our rooms including the beds in order to provide a comfortable stay for our guests, however we are always striving to improve our service and take on board all feedback. Thank you again for taking...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I would certainly stay here again. The interior was beautiful, with a wealth of period features to admire. The service on arrival by Becky was warm and friendly. Only one small criticism ...there was only one bed side lamp. The room was clean and the shower just right. The room was quiet, as requested.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahbV1324XO
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and such lovely comments. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We do hope you come back and see us again soon.

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 8 October 2015

we were expecting a much smaller room but it was bigger than expected, very cozy. the area is very lively, with shops and cafes and restaurants. bus stops right in front of the hotel and tube and the overground stations are all so near by. simple breakfast, coffee, toast, jam and so on, not a full english. staff members are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ksen g
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and it's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon.

HUNTINGDON
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We stayed 1 night after a concert at Wembley. reasonable price for London. The price included continental breakfast, which was ok but nothing to write home about. Staff were very helpful. will stay again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mha548
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you enjoyed the concert and it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Black Lion Team

Rosemount, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 September 2015

It's a guest house with lots of stairs, in an older building, so don't expect a lot of five-star frills. But the beds are comfortable, the staff is courteous, and the breakfast nice. And it's located in a vibrant part of town, on bus lines and near train lines.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U2026BObrianl
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we appreciate all comments and feedback. It is great to hear you had a comfortable stay. Do come and visit us again soon. Black Lion Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Fascinating and cosy pub in the buzzy Kilburn, very well connected to tube and overground and located next to a nice park for recreational times. Great atmosphere inside, Live music on Thursdays and loads of interesting events throughout the week. Friendly staff, good food, nice signature cocktails. Just Staropramen and Guinness on Tap, some wines are ok although slightly pricy....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommyvgs
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience at the Black Lion. We really appreciate your comments and feedback and it's lovely to hear your stay with us was enjoyable. Come and visit us again soon.

Tuscany, Italy
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We stayed tha Black Lion twice (june and Oct 2014 ) and had the same room. The room was large and confortable , the bathroom very small . We had a pleasant stay. Good recommendation for food at the pub!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni Battis... d
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear sir , Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us after your stay at Black Lion. We are proud to know that your stay was to your satisfaction. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Black Lion

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Food was great staff where friendly and helpful accommodation was ok could do with updating but overall excellent easy to get anywhere in London from their will definitely stay their again the bar area was amazing

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
bm202, Manager at Black Lion Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, it's always lovely to hear such great comments. Thank you again and we do hope you return soon.

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.4 km away
Windmill Hotel
Windmill Hotel
#187 of 561 in London
215 reviews
2.1 km away
The William IV
The William IV
#296 of 561 in London
179 reviews
5.4 km away
The Castle Bar
The Castle Bar
#118 of 561 in London
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Dawson House Hotel
Dawson House Hotel
#230 of 561 in London
122 reviews
3.6 km away
Croft Court Hotel
Croft Court Hotel
#71 of 561 in London
106 reviews
3.0 km away
Anchor House Hotel
Anchor House Hotel
#79 of 561 in London
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Lion Guesthouse is a beautiful period building based in Kilburn, North West London. We combine a bar and restaurant downstairs with stunning features and Grade II listed interior with 14 guesthouse rooms above. We are proud to offer affordable quality accommodation. The bar is friendly and popular and directly opposite London’s famous Tricycle Theatre. The bar also serves a range of premium dishes.Perfectly placed for your visit to London, we are very close to both Kilburn Tube Station and Brondesbury Stations. We are also well served by local buses that run from our door step to Marble Arch, Paddington & Victoria. The night bus from Central London also passes our guesthouse door, making travelling around London when staying with us very easy and your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Lion Guesthouse

Address: 274 Kilburn High Road | Kilburn, London NW6 2BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $98 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Black Lion Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Lion Guesthouse Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Lion Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Black Lion Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter at the back overlooking a park”
 of 5 bubbles oldandbold, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room facing the Park is good away from the traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles haddletonmrrogerh, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“First floor facing the park.room 10”
 of 5 bubbles MikeE334, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Needs decorating ”
 of 5 bubbles kirstym419, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The room was fine and very quiet, considering where we were. Lighting wasn't great. However it was clean. Bed was comfortable and shower was to our satisfaction.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahbV1324XO, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5