We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grove Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 48: English reviews
Start your review of Grove Hill Hotel
 Click to rate
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I have stayed here on many occasions for trips to London. The hotel is situated in a pleasant location near all you need, central train line, shops, bars and restaurants. The staff are helpful and available to be contacted if need be and upon arrival, on my many stays here they have been very accommodating and adaptable, even at breakfast...

Thank emmajaneuk2016
Reviewed 22 July 2016

This lovely guest house is what it is, great value for money. In a most beautiful part of London, east access to the centre of London, free wifi , free breakfast , tea and coffee etc a real bonus if on a budget. You will not be disappointed!

Thank Ventercollectos777
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Don't go there, the owner is really disrespectful. Would never go back here. + if you have allergies this is perfect because the room are so dusty, you are sure you'll get some eczema. i feel scratchy just to think about it.

5Thank StanislasdelC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Came here for new years eve . Two nights. We were in the top room. Ceiling very low. Nearly knocked myself out a few times . Window didn't close. But room really warm anyway. BIG problem breakfast 6.30 am to 8 am . Even new years day. Who ever gets up that early when you are on vacation. Room clean....

1Thank edwardsjayne84
Andrew N, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Edwards We are very disappointed with your rather negative review, more so as most of the points you raise are factually incorrect. You should recall that you arrived at our premises with another guest when in fact you had booked a room for just yourself and we were completely full on New Years Eve. We had booked you...

Reviewed 15 December 2015

I was at this hotel after a long journey from where I stay as I had a business meeting the next day morning. The reservation was done through an online website and I had received the confirmation. Once I reached the hotel, I encountered this rude receptionist who was constantly talking to someone (owner) I presume. She said that something...

1Thank Rithik M
Andrew N, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, You booked the cheapest available budget room for one night through Booking.com for £37.00 for one night. We require such short bookings to be paid for in advance and when we tried to take payment, there were irregularities with the card that was used to make the booking and when we contacted the bank, we were informed that...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2015

The room had 3 single beds in and was not really big enough for all 3. The bathroom stank, I believe we were getting fumes from all the other rooms when they used the Loo, an electric socket was loose and could have come away from the back plate. Breakfast sausages probably never saw any meat ( unless it was...

3Thank Den H
Jenny N, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr H, You booked a discounted, budget room through Travelstay at a greatly reduced price, including Breakfast. On your arrival, you indicated that you were unable to manage stairs very easily and asked for a room on the ground floor, we had a triple room only available, as we were full otherwise. You immediately asked for a further discount...

Reviewed 19 February 2015

My family recently stayed at this hotel and we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and breakfast was very good. We were made to feel very welcome with my 3 year old son. I did read the other "bad" reviews but it didn't put me off. I would say they were a bit harsh and very biased. So don't...

Thank bot
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to please and try and address any issues if they are brought to our attention at the time. We are indeed situated in a very nice part of London, with easy access to the centre with a range of interesting...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

I stayed at Grove Hill for 4 days whilst my property was being tefurbished. I found the staff helpful and matter of fact. Breakfast was substantial enough for my requirements. I spoke to the manager a large man with a good sense of humor who chatted to me each time I saw him. Would stay again.

2Thank jonmclinch
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jon, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do not hesitate in contacting us again in the future if we can offer our services again. Kind regards, Edwin

Reviewed 16 January 2015

Awful experience with this hotel. The manager took umbrage at an average (and not unfair) 3-star review we posted elsewhere. Shockingly, this resulted in our being turned away on Christmas Eve and my elderly father being treated disrespectfully when he came to check in on our behalf. We, of course, have reported this to our booking agent but they were...

5Thank sarah m
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms M. Thank you for your feedback ,however as you know, you had stayed two weeks previously and did indeed rate us highly but complained about being provided with disposable plastic cups as do many similar hotels these days. These are used as we consider this to be more hygienic. You could have had glass ones for your water...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2015

After 3 months of calls, emails, meetings and 500 pounds deposit we received a text from Mario, the manager, saying that the deal was broken because the hotel was full! We booked rooms for 16 people and suddenly we didn't have any place for them. We quickly booked Hotel Saint Georgios in Gants Hill (super professional, clean and cheaper!!) and...

8Thank Maria S
Edwin S, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maria, Regarding your comment, your friend Pierre has failed to inform you of the full circumstances and therefore I can understand why your assertions are biased, factually incorrect and not objective. In order to assist further I can say that Pierre, having entered into several weeks of haggling and negotiation over the rates, agreed to provisionally book almost the...

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
1.2 km away
4.0 km away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
1.7 km away
Packfords Hotel
Packfords Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woodford
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Premier Inn London Ilford Hotel
3.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
4.6 km away
Premier Inn London Chingford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful family run, long established Guest House in a lovely part of London. Easy access to the West End and City, approximately 20 to 30 minutes. Close to the Central Line Station at South Woodford. Situated in a quiet Residential Street and yet 2 minutes walk to shops restaurants and Cinema. M25 and A406 a 5 minute drive. Olympic Park and Stratford Westfield Shopping ten minutes by underground or short drive. All rooms refurbished and great value for money. Prices include VAT, a Full English Breakfast, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Free Affinity WiFi, car parking. South Woodford is a lovely area to stay in if you want peace and quiet at night but easy access to all facilities and Central London. 400 Acres of Epping Forest is close by to explore and there is a wealth of other interesting activities close by to engage in and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grove Hill Hotel

Address: 38 Grove Hill | South Woodford, London E18 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grove Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are nice with bathroom/ breakfast and smiles”
 of 5 bubbles emmajaneuk2016, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Talk to staff, they are happy to help”
 of 5 bubbles Ventercollectos777, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Take a mobile with you, no phones here.”
 of 5 bubbles denh347, 25 Jul 2015 | Read review
“it takes 32 mins on the tube (and takes 10 mins to get to it) to centeral London so if you are going for work, like i was, this isn't ideal.”
 of 5 bubbles Nealo1988, 21 Jul 2013 | Read review
“I shared a twin en suite on the top floor. It was quiet, roomy and well fit for purpose.”
 of 5 bubbles 838RobertR, 14 May 2013 | Read review
5 of 5