We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

LSE Northumberland House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
LSE Northumberland House
LSE Northumberland House
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 202: English reviews
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Last time I staid at Northumberland House while travelling alone; this year I returned with my husband and baby daughter. While I wasn't exactly impressed with cleanliness - nothing really bad, but the place could do with some refreshing and the windows really beg to be cleaned.The self-service kitchens, however, were of great use, the staff was nice and helpful,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Er_the_witch
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Northumberland House, responded to this review

Hi Er_the_witch, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at Northumberland House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our location and customer service. We hope you return to London and LSE Northumberland House very soon! Thanks, LSE Vacations More 

Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Defiantly a place right in the heart of London, if you just want a place to sleep this is it, placed right by lots of different places to eat. It is basic but like us u want just a place to sleep never in the room long enough for anything else. Shower small and basic but I would defoe go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janet H
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Northumberland House, responded to this review

Hi Janet, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at LSE Northumberland House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our central London location. We hope you return to London and LSE Northumberland House in the near future. Thanks, LSE Vacations More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights, apart from finding hair in my supposedly clean bed, there were no other issues. This was promptly addressed and all linen was changed. Yes it is basic and small with no aircon( very warm nights) but you can't beat the location for the price. It Is fine for a couple of nights, the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
Thank lainey007
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Northumberland House, responded to this review

Hi lainey007, Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at LSE Northumberland House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our location and friendly staff. We apologize however for the bedding issue you encountered during your stay and we are glad to hear this was rectified immediately. We hope you return to LSE... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Good first: location, value for money, size of rooms, kitchen and lounge. The bones of this building are amazing. Bad: finding the place - badly signposted. Quite noisy. Creaky uncomfortable bed (IMO). Ugly: kitchen smells, door handle threatening to fall off, complaining plumbing noises, tired decor in room. Having said all this, would I stay here again? Yes, but maybe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tween31
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Northumberland House, responded to this review

Hi Tween, Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at LSE Northumberland House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our location and value for money. However, we are sorry to hear your struggle to find us and loud noises - unfortunately, due to our central London location, this can happen. Irregardless, we... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a double room, two single beds and en suite. The beds are hard, but come with two very soft pillows. No Tv, but there is wifi. Double room is large and has wardrobe and bed side table for storage. The toilet and shower are in the same small room and are separated by a shower curtain, so everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Skinny-latte74
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

My daughter and I were going to see a couple of plays in the Charing Cross area and needed to stay close by as the tube there is not very disabled friendly. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. The en suite was small but functional and the shower temperature easy to regulate. There was no television or radio... More 

Helpful?
Thank JulieJ48
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Northumberland House, responded to this review

Hi Julie, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with LSE Northumberland House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly the great location, friendly staff. We hope you return to London and LSE Northumberland House very soon. Thanks, LSE Vacations More 

Solihull
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2016

3rd stay here. Ideal location for exploring central London without the cost (and luxury) of central hotels. Staff very helpful and friendly. Yes, it looks a bit tired in places and the rooms are very basic - obviously they become personalised and made more homely by the students when in residence. Overall value for money for such a great location.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Northumberland House, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us at LSE Northumberland House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly our location and helpful staff. We make an effort to emphasis the unique alternative we provide to typical central London accommodation through our close relationship with LSE as a... More 

Sunny Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

One night stay . Single room whilst out in London. This is student accommodation that appears to be used as hotel out of term time. Functional room with shower and toilet with a comfy single bed. The room was spotless and supplied fresh towels and sachets of shampoo etc. Don't expect all the mod cons of a hotel but for... More 

Helpful?
Thank EasingtonLad
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Northumberland House, responded to this review

Hi EasingtonLad, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with LSE Northumberland House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly the room cleanliness, location and customer service. We sincerely hope you return to LSE Vacations again in the future. Regards, LSE Vacations More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

This accommodation is value for money considering its very central location. The house is Grade II listed and located on Northumberland Ave just off The Strand. The check in staff are friendly and helpful and explained everything I needed to know. The reception is 24 hours with access to the building via a secure entrance and then a key card... More 

Helpful?
Thank lonewayfarer
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Northumberland House, responded to this review

Hi Lonewayfarer, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay at LSE Northumberland House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us - particularly the location, amenities and our customer service. We sincerely hope you return to LSE Vacations again in the near future. Regards, LSE Vacations More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

My friend and I booked in for one night. It's student accommodation that is opened as a hotel during the summer. The room was spacious and clean although devoid of the usual hotel items you would expect like a TV or in room tea and coffee facilities. We both slept well though. Bathroom was clean with a nice shower although... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjb38
LSEVacationsTeam, Marketing Officer at LSE Northumberland House, responded to this review

Hi tjb38, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us at LSE Northumberland House. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel's location in Central London however we are sorry to hear of your disappointment in regards to the hotel's amenities. As a budget alternative to London hotels we unfortunately do not host typical features... More 

234 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Shared Kitchen (18)
Viewed
Standard Single En-Suite (26)
Viewed
Superior Double En-Suite (26)
Viewed
Superior Single En-Suite (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
Twin En-Suite (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
The Sanctuary House Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel
#188 of 1,078 in London
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#309 of 1,078 in London
2,461 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#185 of 1,078 in London
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Northumberland House provides great value self-catered accommodation in a magnificent Grade II listed building just off Trafalgar Square.The accommodation is perfectly placed for all of the tourist attractions in central London- theatres, museums, galleries, Covent Garden and Regent Street are all within easy walking distance.With its historic building, great location, affordable prices and modern facilities (including en-suite throughout), Northumberland House is one of the most attractive places to stay in central London ... more   less 

Additional Information about LSE Northumberland House

Address: 8A Northumberland Avenue | Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: $137 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LSE Northumberland House 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your LSE Northumberland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London School Of Economics Northumberland House Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from LSE Northumberland House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from LSE Northumberland House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about rooms”
 of 5 bubbles janeth970, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book it through the hotel's web-site in advance”
 of 5 bubbles 326vitd, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“you can ask for a quiet room if you like”
 of 5 bubbles mediumrobert, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Our double room faced the front of the building and was very large.”
 of 5 bubbles 499DanM, 23 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room on an upper floor”
 of 5 bubbles samanthat423, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay