We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Portobello House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Portobello House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portobello House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We stayed at Portobello House on our wedding night. Pros: Friendly, helpful manager; clean, quiet and comfortable room; good location. Cons: Lack of privacy - someone walked into our room at 10.30am (checkout is at 11) at a rather embarrassing moment!! Also, very slow/poor service in the bar downstairs - asked 3 times for a menu before finally receiving one.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank minipharm
limatad, Front Office Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking time to write a review, and I am sorry that you had an issue, which I checked, because we do care that all our guests have a lovely stay. The reception cctv noted that the housekeeping arrived at !0 .50 am. and were on your floor 3 minutes after that. Even if it was... More 

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We booked 2 rooms for a nearby family wedding. Accommodating and attentive staff, able to check in early, helpful throughout stay. Rooms small (but with comfortable king size bed) but spotless. En suite very clean. Our room was reasonably quiet. We ate evening meal in the bistro downstairs, food & service good (also had free cocktail & 10% off). Very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank drgbay
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2015

I popped in for food with my boyfriend as we were passing and I'm so glad we did! Staff were very attentive, but not annoying and really made us feel welcome. I think that little details make all the difference; my boyfriends coffee came with a biscuit and the waitress (I think her name was Daizy) ensured we always had... More 

Helpful?
Thank beckyce
Bratislava
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015

I wanted to right a review for just the staff. Very accommodating, nice and professional! Very cute neighborhood and nice breakfast options. Georgina was especially friendly and helpful! I will be staying here the next time I come to London!

Helpful?
1 Thank Benik
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2015

Overall a really nice hotel on the surface but unfortunately there are a few things letting it down. On arrival (we had been let down elsewhere on parking), it was fairly late and asked about local parking, the receptionist had no idea, not even about the parking immediately outside. Our room was very small, that I don't mind but it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nndh1
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

Did not stay in the hotel itself have regularly popped into the pu itself for lunch/dinner on a Sunday, we have 3 young children and the stuff are always more than friendly and helpful would recommend for family meals

Helpful?
Thank Twinklychicken
northampton
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2014

You get to the hotel part of "Portobello House" by means of a code through a door on the street and up a sort of fire escape. Reception is tiny and a steep climb awaits you to your room. There is no lift, so anyone with mobility issues will have a problem. Booking in was quite ellaborate with photographic evidence... More 

Helpful?
Thank brucebassa
limatad, Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your very comprehensive and positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you soon, Come back and see our wonderful Sunday Cabaret.. Some of the things you were not sure about are there for a good reason . As you noticed we have a lively bar and... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Great little hotel a bit out of the manic centre london. Rooms are quite big for london standards and the bathroom is new and really nice. We had a receptionist called Louise (i think) and she was lovely and went out of her way to help, and make us feel welcome. Would recommend the hotel only on her they are... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2014

It's always hard to find a good, independent boutique hotel in London that lives up to the hype and website pictures but Portobello House is a truly superb find, for business or pleasure. Eclectic Ladbroke Grove has everything on its doorstep and this hotel matches that cultural vibe perfectly. The decor is modern and the rooms are a good size... More 

Helpful?
Thank DesignLola
limatad, Owner at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very fortunate to have a great many interesting people staying and we really try to make their visit a happy time. Kindest regards Louisa More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2014 via mobile

A sweet little spot in Portobello with quaint accommodation connected to a nice bar and close to a tube station, as well as, Portobello Road. We had a large room, nice bathroom and a great experience with check-in and check-out. Percy's bar had some great food and drink choices and was lively, but not loud, on the weekends. The only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn M

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#532 of 1,078 in London
146 reviews
Notting Hill
The Laslett
The Laslett
#366 of 1,078 in London
119 reviews
Notting Hill
QHome London Portobello One
QHome London Portobello One
#411 of 792 in London
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Portobello Gold
Portobello Gold
#98 of 556 in London
281 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#54 of 556 in London
97 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#23 of 556 in London
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portobello House

Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $182 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portobello House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Covina

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Portobello House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room, which faced Chesterton Road, was very quiet, even with a busy pub downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles bambilinasue, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you need space, spend the extra for Room 24. If you don't care, save money for the excellent bar by booking a cozy room.”
 of 5 bubbles runnergirl1970, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask to see the room first”
 of 5 bubbles Seniorhound, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“King bed is actually the size of an American Queen bed. Bring Earplugs when you travel so that you can sleep peacefully no matter what.”
 of 5 bubbles AllisonBalk, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you want to try to get away from the noise of the busy street and pub be sure to ask to stay on the top floor. I can't imagine how noisy the rooms just over the pub must be.”
 of 5 bubbles msmelody77, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay