We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Portobello House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Portobello House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Portobello House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We checked into the Portobello House for the first part of our honeymoon.. We were treated by a very friendly Frankie who manned the desk, served the bar was looked after the whole place with one other gentlemen (at least while we stayed there). The room was quaintly furnished, clean and comfortable. Breaks was nice and simple and staff always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Calgary
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is situated in the Portbello area of kensington. It is about a 10 minute walk to one of two tube stations, Ladbroke Grove in one direction, Notting Hill in the other. It is also about a 15 minute walk to one of London's top restaurants, the Ledbury. The area right around the hotel is quiet, most houses are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank niemand
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at Portobello House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The decor and rooms are lovely and the staff very friendly and helpful. We also had an excellent meal in the restaurant/bistro. It was good value for London and in a good location. We would recommend this hotel and be happy to stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LuLu322
Alameda, California
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This Hotel was a real pleasant surprise for my wife and myself. We just completed a 4 night stay at the Hotel while vacationing in London. The Hotel is located a few blocks from the Portobello Market and only three blocks from the Tube. It is not your typical hotel. It is very charming and more like a B&B than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael S
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Portobello House Hotel is a small hotel with less than 20 rooms. It is located just 5 min. walk from Portobello Road. The room was bright and the bathroom was decorated with Marilyn Monroe Pictures. :-) I loved the breakfast! Toast, yoghurt, cake, jam and Nutella. Free internet.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Perhof
uk
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Booked via lateromms, and although area was not central Notting Hill more Ladbrooke Grove we were so impressed by the hotel. Very nicely decorated, clean and adequate size rooms, extremely helpful, cheerful staff, great cocktail/tapas bar downstairs. Fantastic atmosphere/vibe. Complimentary breakfast was a surprise bonus and just right! Would definitely recommend and return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AntoniaRobinson
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Great staff, great food and great people! We had an amazing night there for my friends 20th! Was a really nice place and the staff were really friendly. Would definitely come here again! Drinks were nice and good sizes and the fish and chips was incredible

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arran J
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just a short walk from the Ladbroke Grove station, this friendly B&B offers very comfortable and tasteful rooms and the bistro and bar serve delicious food. The breakfast buffet offered traditional European fare including delicious bread, jam, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, coffee, juice, and cereal selection. Our late night dinner was creative and delicious. We will definitely return on our next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jala22
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed on Saturday night after a party in Notting Hill and were not expecting too much but, even with those low expectations, we were sorely disappointed. The room was tiny. That's OK as we only wanted a bed for the night but, even at Ikea, you can pick slightly less shabby furniture and maybe fix the cheapest-ever TV on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GetALife100
limatad, Guest Relations Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear guest, Where to start ! We are sorry you did not enjoy your complimentary tea/toast coffee/muffins breakfast.Our main breakfast of cheese /ham/croissant and cappuccino is only £9 and maybe you should have requested it , although most people love our complimentary breakfast and do not take that option . All our rooms have great coffee from brand new nespresso...

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was the second time I've stayed at the Portobello House and found the staff friendly as usual and the location perfect for my needs. The room maintenance has decreased a bit from my last stay but was still acceptable. What I found unacceptable was a band playing in the downstairs bar until midnight which made it impossible to sleep...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Paula A
limatad, General Manager at Portobello House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for returning to stay with us and for taking the time to write a positive review .A lot of our guests stay with us because we have such a friendly busy bar and they also like to enjoy a drink while watching our great fun Cabaret. Dates of which are on the website. All our music...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Portobello Hotel
Portobello Hotel
#564 of 1,090 in London
155 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Rue Saint Jacques Guest House
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#61 of 574 in London
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kennington B & B
#51 of 574 in London
345 reviews
Notting Hill
Portobello Gold
Portobello Gold
#90 of 574 in London
313 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 574 in London
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Portobello House in Notting Hill, Hotel, Bar & BistroThe Historic Landmark that is the chic Portobello House Hotel has 12 brand new totally re-designed charming boutique bedrooms, with a Felliniesque cocktail bar and gourmet bistro. Portobello house welcomes people from all around the world with a friendly smile and a complimentary glass of bubbly or a famous Portobello House Cocktail. It is situated in Notting hill near the famous "Portobello Road market" with all its colourful buzz and artistic counter culture. Take a leisurely walk to nearby elegant Kensington Palace gardens, once the home of Princess Diana, then a stroll through Hyde Park to the Royal Albert Hall for a concert. With a good night's sleep in our wonderful Millbrook beds you will wake up in one of the most unique, eclectic and fun parts of London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Portobello House

Address: 225 Ladbroke Grove | Notting Hill, London W10 6HQ, England (Formerly Earl Percy Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: $191 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portobello House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello House Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Portobello House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Covina

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Portobello House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room, which faced Chesterton Road, was very quiet, even with a busy pub downstairs.”
bambilinasue, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you need space, spend the extra for Room 24. If you don't care, save money for the excellent bar by booking a cozy room.”
runnergirl1970, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ask to see the room first”
Seniorhound, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“King bed is actually the size of an American Queen bed. Bring Earplugs when you travel so that you can sleep peacefully no matter what.”
AllisonBalk, 24 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you want to try to get away from the noise of the busy street and pub be sure to ask to stay on the top floor. I can't imagine how noisy the rooms just over the pub must be.”
msmelody77, 2 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5