We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge

Save
Share
Low Lane, Stainton Village, Middlesbrough TS17 9LW England
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
US$67
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-06-05
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.comUS$68
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (319)
Room & Suite (101)
Dining (35)

About

#9 of 11 hotels in Middlesbrough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A 140 bedroom hotel set in 20 acres boasting a lavish bar and grill, leisure club with 25m sparkling pool and fully equipped gym. Handy for both business and pleasure with good transport links to all major towns and cities, extremely handy for shopping at the 'metro' centre - Europe’s largest indoor mall. Close to all major tourist attractions including the North Yorkshire Moors.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Bowling offsite
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
920Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 124
  • 211
  • 228
  • 154
  • 203
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stephanie P wrote a review May 16
Los Alcazares, Spain17 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely horrific. Filthy, disgusting rooms and a breach of Covid rules. Dirty floors, furniture, room smelt of smoke, cigarette burns and stumps outside the window. No manager available for a complaint. The shower was broken and dripping all night long. An odd glow up strip on the wall for uv light. Since been told by locals that the hotel is being used for asylum seekers (no problem with this but it shouldn’t be advertised for family’s and not cleaned before booking!) ... to which was proven as we met them in the corridors.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
378disappointed wrote a review May 4
Melrose, United Kingdom2 contributions
Firstly I got to congratulate the photographer who took the pictures for your website. Great pictures but oh boy did this place disappoint. Checked in fine. Reception staff were good and helpfull. Then it went downhill fast. 3 room changes to get one with a flushing toilet, then a TV change as remote was so old the batteries had split and corroded the internals. Paint work was flaking off in a number of areas. Room cleanliness was poor, found numerous coins under the bed that were clearly visible while sitting at the desk. Fire alarm went off Saturday afternoon with no explanation from staff. General decor looked as if it hadn't been upgraded since the 70's/ 80's. Huge breaches of Covid Laws/ guidelines, from staff not wearing masks, to guests wondering about without masks. large number of guests most definitely not "key workers" or "essential services worker". Food was appaling. Cooked breakfast were cold and completely tasteless, milk for serial in a glass. Must be a Jug shortage in Teeside. Dinner wasn't much better. Cajun Chicken with Sweat Potatoes fries turn out to be chicken in panko bread crumbs, regular fries and coleslaw. No cajun spices whatsoever. Chef needs some cookery books or a new carrier!!!!! Gym was well laid out with plenty of wipes and disinfectant. Swimming pool was over crowded with no covid guidelines. Overall a very poor experience place need a complete refurbishment or bulldozed. Won't be returning ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid if at all possible.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Connor M wrote a review Apr. 2021
6 contributions
+1
Not worth a penny. The room is horrible. Holes in walls, hardly patched. Bugs everywhere. Paint all over the carpets from cowboy work. I arrived with high hopes. You should maybe ask if your receptionists enjoy their jobs because their faces clearly don't show it. They never explained anything regarding the food (another visiter had to tell me) with covid rules. Just handed me a key. I had to ask where I was going. Your car park is a disgrace. Potholes everywhere. The walls are paper thin. People next door were smoking in their rooms and only talking.....it was as if they were in my room. The bathroom, the shower nobs are loose; so I had to fix that for you. The toilet isn't fixed to the wall or floor and I Didn't have any toilet roll either. Thank god it was only two nights. Should have stayed in my van.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Jennifer L wrote a review Apr. 2021
1 contribution
Started out well. Staff attentive and friendly but then after an hour it went down hill. We were asked if we wanted more drinks about half way through our second pints which was fine and we ordered. We were still waiting an hour and a quarter later after enquiring 4 times. We were told they were on the way every time. Then an embarrassed new starter had to come and take our order again as our order had been lost. So after having spent 3 hours there, we had a total of 3 drinks die to the ridiculous slowness. It wasn't just us either as all tables around us were complaining too. Hilariously when we first arrived, a man ( assuming he was management) kept coming round tables and asking if everyone been looked after. Mysteriously, as soon as complaints started, he was not seem again. Food wS a joke. 3 of us ordered meals. One came about 30 minutes before the other 2. Staff thought a light bite meant a starter which obviously its not. 2 sides came freezing cold and tye steak pie was fatty and chewy. After our meals, the drinks finally arrived. The waitress was quick to issue us with our bill and produced the card machine. She assured us the cold veg and fatty pie had been knocked off the bill but still ready to charge for the rest, even after having been told we would not be returning. After this lack of customer service was questioned, she said she would speak to manager. She never returned and continued with her job. No courtesy even given us to explain the outcome of what manager said. Anyway, we said we were leaving and she apologised again. Lots of excuses ( mainly it bring the first day). However its been an established hotel and restaurant for years so not sure how it has got so bad In a couple of months. Staff keen to blame each other. Over all very poor and will not be returning. (Corona on draft very nice if u can wait 75 minutes and Staff remember the lime 👌)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from John G, Other at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Responded 4 weeks ago
Jennifer L, Many thanks for taking time to leave a review. We appreciate all feedback - good or bad. How else could we continue to improve our offering. Its true that after a long shutdown we did at times struggle to cope with the huge demand we experienced Saturday afternoon in our newly opened and re-styled beer garden. Staff new and old had to quickly get used to new ways of operating and serving and some rustiness was on show. However we did all rally round and after a mid-afternoon hiccup in service we did manage to deal with all customers on a timely basis. Unfortunately some of our guests did have to wait longer than we would have wanted and I know that our manager Sian reacted as quickly as she could in sating thirsty and hungry guests. We hope that you enjoyed the complimentary drinks and food that she provided and that her offer of not taking payment was appreciated. Obviously we would expect to improve with experience and this was the case on the next day, Sunday, and our lunchtime carvery and drinks service went down a storm. Once again we thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to The Old Poste House. John E Head of Ops
Read more
seanflanagan423 wrote a review Dec. 2020
London, United Kingdom40 contributions32 helpful votes
Room basic but ok. Cleanliness not the greatest as bath fittings door handles and tv remote very unclean. Repaired patches in the carpets! Food poor. Reminded me of a hotel from 20 years ago! Biggest disappointment was that both my phones one on EE and one on Vodaphone don’t work in the hotel. To make a call you have to go outside the hotel in the Car park in the middle of winter????? and this in 2020. Let’s hope none of the family dies during the night! A notice on the reception wall informing paying guests of this fault would be good?? As it is, it was a desperate one night stay that served its purpose. Water hot room warm tv signal good and staff always good! To be honest why any one would pay to stay here for enjoyment etc is totally beyond me? With out the swimming pool and the good staff it has nothing to offer. I paid £40 for the night but would have paid £140 esle where!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sporting lodge inn middlesbrough hotel middlesbrough, sporting hotel middlesbrough, middlesbrough sporting hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireMiddlesbrough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Enigmatology Escape Rooms (5.3 km), Cluedini (6.0 km), and Tees Transporter Bridge (6.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Turtle Bay - Middlesbrough, The Zetland, and Hope & Union.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ormesby Hall (4.9 km), Church of St John the Evangelist (5.4 km), and Dock Clock Tower (6.7 km).
Is Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.