We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue Bell Lodge

Booking.comUS$53*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Blue Bell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of Blue Bell Lodge
 Click to rate
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

If it was possible to leave a 0 star rating I would, but unfortunately I have to leave at least 1 star. I visited The Blue Bell for breakfast with a group of friends, and I was completely shocked and disappointed by the service that was given from the rude and abrupt receptionist/waitress. After waiting for 15 minutes with no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poppy-matthews
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Love the visit. Very relaxing n chilled atmosphere . Would certainly recommend to my friends.Beer garden very relaxing. Spent most afternoon relaxing in the sun,chatting to guests also staying at blue bell. Staff are amusing and amazing .nothing waz to trouble for themx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciacockburn
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Patricia, Thank you for the fantastic review! We always want our customers to have a great time here at the Blue Bell, and i'm glad we delivered! We hope to see you here again soon. Many Thanks, The Blue Bell Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's been almost 15 years since I stayed here and it's had an update, still retains its charm and is very well priced for an overnight stay. Rooms comfortable, food, just ordered so we will see. No complaints so far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello David, We're glad you came back to us - even if it did take 15 years! Thanks for the feedback, and we're thrilled that you have enjoyed staying with us again. We look forward to seeing you here again, hopefully sooner! All The Best, The Blue Bell Team.

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a great pub with a hotel that joins on to it. It is a busy pub and has a good atmosphere. The food is good also. Parmo's are a specialty. They show the football on sky for those who are interested. The staff are helpful and tables can be booked for large groups.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonjulia
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, and thanks for leaving your feedback. We're thrilled you enjoyed your time here at the Blue Bell! We hope to see you here again soon. All The Best, The Blue Bell Team.

middlesbrough
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

5 tickets were booked well in advance. When we booked we asked about a Gluten Free options we were advised that GF would be offered on the evening When we placed the order the waitress said there was no GF Menu, When the manager was requested he produced the bar menu with GF options. Steak Salad was chosen with GF...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Andrew, I am very sorry to hear that your experience here at The Blue Bell Hotel wasn't up to our usual high standard. We pride ourselves on taking car of our customers and it seems this wasn't adhered to on your visit, and we cannot apologise enough. I will raise these issues with the General Manager and Team Members...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the blue bell which has been on the go for years food was nice service was good. Depressing as a funeral going on where we were eating maybe shld have a different area the worst complaint I've got is the parking it's disgraceful won't b going back because of this

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Colleen, Thanks for your review, It's great to know that our food is great and our staff were up to our high standards! Apologies if the atmosphere was not as upbeat as usual, however we host many various functions and we strive to give the best to all our customers. I will advise our team members to be aware...

Billingham-on-Tees, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Attended a paid for function with spread after a Funeral Service. We were advised to pay for parking, and it would be refunded inside. On entering - bar staff refused to refund, and said they would only take money of bar drinks. However the food and drinks had been pre paid as part of the arrangements. However the same staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sean360
TheBlueBellAcklam, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your time here at The Blue Bell Hotel wasn't up to our high standards. I will ensure that all staff are clear on our parking policy to ensure that it doesn't happen again. We cannot apologise enough and we hope we can make this up to you...

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I could not fault the food, the service was good and we were seated quickly. We got our food and sat down, football was on the tv and the sound was that loud we felt as though we were in a football stadium!! Unfortunately we were not advised there was a quieter area to eat until we had finished our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCT321
TheBlueBellAcklam, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your otherwise great experience was tarnished by the volume of our TV screenings! We will ensure that we offer people the option of TV seated area or a quiet eating area in the future. We cannot apologise enough and we hope we can make this up to you...

Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed her for business on a Wednesday. First impressions were poor - as I went to check in the receptionist was busy doing something else and I had to wait until she finished before she tended to me!!! The rooms were quite nice, bed was a bit lumpy. I went to the bar for dinner and there were only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jemma T
TheBlueBellAcklam, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your time here at The Blue Bell Hotel wasn't up to our usual high standards. I will be sure to pass all feedback to the relevant staff who haven't performed to ensure a consistent high level of service. We apologise that you found our menu limited, we...

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

I first went for Sunday lunch about 6 months ago it was really nice. However the last twice have been awful no taste at all and the gravy was like dishwater. We did try it one last time as 6 months previous it was beautiful . This place has gone right down the pan . Sorry guys as it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blythy2015
TheBlueBellAcklam, Manager at Blue Bell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it's greatly appreciated! I am sorry to hear that your last visit wasn't up to scratch, I can not apologise enough. I am happy to hear that our food has been great for you in the past, however I will speak to our kitchen staff to ensure complete consistency across the board. We would love...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
1.4 km away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
62 reviews
2.6 km away
Marton Hotel & Country Club
4.5 km away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Address: Acklam Road | Tees Valley, Middlesbrough TS5 7HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Price Range: $78 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Bell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Middlesbrough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue Bell Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Blue Bell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't eat here”
shellwants2play, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back as the main road never quietens down”
hoping_to_help_1, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are ridiculously hot, travel with a fan”
mikecZ8796SD, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
“219 just been re furbed”
722davidb, 11 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay here!!”
AllisonP330, 10 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$53* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$53
PricelineUS$53
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates