We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 421: English reviews
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2015

We were put in the 'Honeymoon suite', shown to our room and offered assistance with our luggage, the last flight of stairs was a little tight, but the room was very nice, clean and warm. The bathroom again clean, if a little dated, but was perfectly good. Stayed two nights, 'Ate in' the first night and the food was great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gksw
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you and your wife enjoyed your stay and the birthday trip was a success and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Stoke on Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Not a very pleasant stay, out of date décor and bedding (only had a sheet and cover) in a tired hotel, breakfast poor quality. Luckily only had to stay one night, poor quality for a Best Western hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back, we always take note of all reviews and continue to make improvements where and when we can.

Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel was clean and the rooms modern. Staff were friendly and helpful. Full english was spot on. Great value for money. Well situated for touring around Norwich. Nothing seemed too much effort for the staff on dury.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cphook
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Photos on best western website make this place look stunning someone is telling porky pies as this is not the case, our room 203 was cold smelt damp carpet was thread bare matress on bed sagged in middle shower didn't work bathroom on whole was not good we where shown another which was no better I wasn't staying here so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark e
186342Jules, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

For people who didn't even stay at our hotel, we are amazed how you have managed to be so scathing,dishonest and inaccurate about our lovely hotel,which we all work so very hard to ensure is a pleasant, caring and friendly place to stay, People like yourselves do not realise the damage they cause. We have reported this to trip advisor...

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I booked four rooms for a one stay on Wednesday 7th October . Rooms very updated , shower didn't work, bath had hairs in it , carpet dirty in bedroom , radiator in bathroom so hot you burnt your leg on it ,don't try to get a drink from the night porter ! . All in all very disappointed I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you felt you did not receive any answers. The night porter has been trained to use his discretion when serving late night drinks, and if he feels serving more drinks could cause disruption to other guests, especially due to noise he is permitted to close the bar. Of course this does not happen often and I'm sorry...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2015

Stayed for four nights in a twin room from October 1st. Very dated bedroom and very dusty too. The bathroom was an absolute joke. The shower did not work.. The tiling was badly chipped and mouldy. To use the toilet you had to go at it sideways on it was so cramped. Beds very uncomfortable. duvets excellent. The saving grace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z9532BEmartinw
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. By telling us what you liked and disliked about your stay does help us make the necessary improvements required.

St Helier, Jersey
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank George S
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

I stay one night each and every week and the staff consistently go out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. The latest example, this week, was that I had some trauma with my trusty (!) Brompton. I was able to use a private walled garden area to spend a happy half hour in the evening sun tinkering and...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charles F
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and hope the bike is work welling and you're hitting top speed!!

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

Rooms are very dated. The carpet was ripped in places all around the room. The bed was two singles pushed together with a mattress that did not fit this. The bathroom had a mixer tap shower which was so sensitive it was very hard to get the right temperature. The hotel could do with modernising and even just new carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris_S1989
ArlingtonNorwich, Manager at BEST WESTERN George Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear you had issues with your stay and service and will certainly look into the points you have raised so we can ensure this does not happen again.Thank you for your feedback.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norwich
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
4.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel Norwich
9.1 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Norwich
Holiday Inn Norwich
#21 of 50 in Norwich
628 reviews
2.1 km away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#26 of 50 in Norwich
126 reviews
22.5 km away
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
#2 of 2 in North Walsham
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN George Hotel

Address: Newmarket Road 10 Arlington Lane, Norwich NR2 2DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range: $103 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Norwich
Norwich Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN George Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Ipswich, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There aren't any.”
 of 5 bubbles Artemisia61, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There's no lift and the corridors are like a rabbit warren, with some high thresholds between conjoined buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles JeanForster, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid Room 126”
 of 5 bubbles Foodiecj, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you have a dod stay in room 201”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmg2013, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles deannar86, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5