We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Trowel and Hammer Inn

25 St. Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3SP, England
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Norwich Theatre Royal
    0.5 km
  • Free Parking
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
How lovely
We stayed here New Year's Eve What s lovely Quaint... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here New Year's Eve What s lovely Quaint place. Lovely comfortable bright room. A bit cold but hopefully it will warm up later. It's 12.10 pm and maybe a bit early for radiator. Great Ales Doombar and ghost ship. Great choice of shots! Great menu Would highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelicang
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Booked a room on booking.com with the headline "Double room with shared bathroom", but the detailed listing included "private bathroom". Upon my first enquiry, the hotel offered to cancel my reservation and waive the cancellation fee - I didn't see the email within the 24-hour deadline they granted me. When I called the property, it was answered by a rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Svenja H
Ben D, Owner at Trowel and Hammer Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you felt your experience was not acceptable however, as you clearly state in your review, we offered to waive fees on the day you booked due to your misunderstanding regarding the shared bathroom. Unfortunately due to receiving no response from yourself, we then had to follow our policies regarding the non-refundable deposit on the room as the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Vastly overpriced, even for Norwich (which is surprisingly expensive). Staff surly and unhelpful. Good location is about all you can say about it. Having booked two ensuites, they thought booking.com was more important and gave us one without bathroom. Not a good start and downhill from there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eben B
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016

It's a funny place. Hard to sum up. Plus points: - The room really was nice - clean and with a nice bathroom. - Comfy bed. - When I said I just wanted sausage and egg for breakfast I was brought three sausages and two fried eggs. - The maintenance issues we had were sorted quickly and successfully. - Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room which seemed like new. Friendly staff and delicious breakfast included in the price . Perfect location for a night out in Norwich city centre! Excellent value would definitely go again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny_m_t
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed overnight and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for visiting Norwich as it is within walking distance to the city centre. There is a good size gated car park and the gate is locked when the pub closes, but you are given a key so you can return at any time. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank twyman007
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Visited Norwich for a friend's 50th - would have been very pricy to stay at the venue, so the Trowel and Hammer was a more economical option. Further out from the city centre, but not too far to still be walkable. Bedroom was relatively small, though not cramped. Overlooked the main road but double glazing must be good, as we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nigel W
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Reviewed 10 September 2016

the family who runs the place is truly fantastic! we loved the rooms,free parking and english breakfast.very close to the city centre. we also had dinner in the pub a few times and the food was great and the portions huge. we would definitely stay here again if we should visit Norwich in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wendy c
London
Reviewed 23 August 2016

My husband and I recently stayed at the Trowel and Hammer Inn as we were attending a wedding nearby. It's a no-frills Inn situated within a quiet pub in Norwich city centre and is easily reached by cab from the train station, making it an ideal location for a city break. The rooms themselves are no-frills, but our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angloyankophile
Padiham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated, as was the whole of the building as far as we could see. The location is excellent, being a short walk from the city centre. The only reason for 4 not 5 stars was the breakfast. It was very good food cooked and served well but we were only offered the full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh G

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Norwich City Centre (Duke Street) Hotel
0.7 km away
The Georgian Townhouse
The Georgian Townhouse
#19 of 50 in Norwich
160 reviews
0.2 km away
Travelodge Norwich Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Annesley House Hotel
0.1 km away
Wedgewood House
Wedgewood House
#7 of 86 in Norwich
196 reviews
1.1 km away
Beaufort Lodge
Beaufort Lodge
#17 of 86 in Norwich
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Trowel and Hammer Inn

Address: 25 St. Stephens Road, Norwich NR1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Price Range: $128 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trowel and Hammer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Trowel and Hammer Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get one with a bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles 314ebenb, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were given a suitable room.”
 of 5 bubbles 194DavidA194, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“there is no lift.there will always be some noise from passing traffic but it didn't bother me as you're staying in the city centre.”
 of 5 bubbles wendyc781, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We were told there was free wifi but couldn't connect. Not a deal breaker as it happened.”
 of 5 bubbles ShelaghG732, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't book here”
 of 5 bubbles neilg917, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5