We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Royal Oak

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Royal Oak
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Comfy beds, lovely breakfast, courteous staff, HOWEVER, the bathroom let it down badly. There was nothing that couldn't be put right with the help of a scrubbing brush, a bottle of bleach and an hour of muscle power. It was disgusting to say the least. What a shame to let the whole thing down with something as basic as lack... More 

Helpful?
Thank saff1957
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Your feedback is really good for us and it has been passed onto our team. Our hotel at the Royal Oak is due a major refurb this winter. We are just waiting for further details and we hope that you return to try us out again. Thanks Mat Country... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Externally a fine old 17th century building by the old market place in charming Settle. Reasonable car park with a fairly tight single access way which could be a pinch point at busy times. Spacious interior, old oak panelling tends to give the place a gloomy interior and in the main restaurant area has been overpainted and decorated in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil L
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies e on the breakfast time mix up. Your feedback has been passed onto the team and is really important for us to develop. We hope to see you again soon when your next in the area Thanks Mat Country Village Inns More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Location is excellent as it is right in the centre, there is a car park but if you're coming from Skipton you might miss it first time round as the sign is on a wall where you can't see it! Check in was very efficient, although the bar area was fairly quiet so not easy to judge but the member... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review The event was the Macmillan coffee morning which was a great success for the charity. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and your feedback is really important to us. We hope to see you again very soon Thanks Mat Country Village Inns More 

Saundersfoot
Level Contributor
308 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere... Splendid welcome from young barman... Great assist with beer selection... Relaxing areas all around... The food being served looked deliciously appetising... We had prior plans but never say never...Wonderful... We will return before our holiday end... Thank you👌👌👌

Helpful?
Thank jimboSaundersfoot
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit. With a new team in place trying to improve standards it is good to see we are making progress. We hope to see you again soon Thanks mat Country Village Inns More 

Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Where to start? I had booked an overnight stay on-line. On arrival, staff did not appear to know that we had booked and left us standing at the bar while someone was found to make a room up for us. The room was tired and very basic. The cold tap in the sink did not work at all. In the... More 

Helpful?
Thank bfitzm
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Sorry we didn't meet with your expectations on this occasion. I'm not sure why you experienced what you did as this is not what our staff are trained up for. Your comments have been passed onto our new management team and new head chef to ensure any such issues... More 

Travellers are raving about these Settle hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016

On a short break in Settle we booked in for a family evening meal. The staff were friendly and although the menu isn't extensive the food was good quality and well cooked. As a bonus there was a cider festival on and live music in the bar which was great!

Helpful?
Thank Mick W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We checked in on Sunday 28th for one night having passed through Settle a million times on the train and always wanting to visit. I was really impressed with the lovely staff. They were very amenable, friendly and helpful. Check-in took two minutes, the room had a lovely view over the town square and was a good size for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jockkkk
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review i'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been fed back to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon Thanks Mat Country Village Inns More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We happened to be in Settle for the first time, so wandered around the bustling square. The Royal Oak is an imposing building right on the square and smart both inside and out. We had a couple of sandwiches which were both filling and flavourful. The chips were fresh and piping hot. With tea for 2 our bill was £17.... More 

Helpful?
Thank BosiBev
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to us and your meal. Your comments have been passed onto the team and we look forward to seeing you again in the future Thanks Mat Country Village Inns More 

Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, the staff were very friendly and we were able to check in early which was a bonus as we were attending a wedding. Great location and parking is available too. The place is definitely in need of some maintenance and a little bit of TLC as it was looking very tired and lacked atmosphere because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Your feedback is so good for us to help improve on standards so thank you. I'm sorry we didn't quite meet with your expectations on this occasion and we hope that you return again in the future Thanks Mat Country Village Inns More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 1 night and thank god it was only 1, the room had a smell of stale smoke and the shower trickled out with a stained yellow shower tray. Breakfast was ok but the the pub was in need of a desperate clean....grubby

Helpful?
Thank Daveroo180
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review We are hoping very soon our landlord will start a phase of refurbishment. It will transfer our rooms and your feedback has been taken on board We hope you return to try us again Thanks Mat Country Village Inns More 

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Settle hotels
0.1 km away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
433 reviews
1.8 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
267 reviews
0.7 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Harts Head Inn
Harts Head Inn
#1 of 4 in Giggleswick
169 reviews
0.1 km away
King William the Fourth Guest House
7.0 km away
Dalesbridge House
Dalesbridge House
#19 of 21 in Settle
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Country Inn ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Market Sq, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Price Range: $124 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Settle
The Royal Oak Settle, UK - Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in a room facing the main street was not noisy view of the market square - all rooms in use on the first floor - no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles 740neill, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 doesn't have the best Wifi Connection.”
 of 5 bubbles redsterfootball, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles bfitzm, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay overnight”
 of 5 bubbles colnagokid04, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi in the bar. Only ate did not stay as a resident”
 of 5 bubbles 456junew, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay