We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Royal Oak

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Royal Oak
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The Royal Oak has a great location right in the middle of Settle, a nice Yorkshire market town that's well worth a visit. The downstairs area of the pub is quite pleasant but was pretty empty for the duration of my stay. The room offered to me (I was travelling solo) was quite big with a double bed and large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff excelled themselves to serve our walking group which was big enough to fill the whole restaurant area. Food was really nicely presented and of very good quality and value - considerably better than last year. Would really recommend it to anyone planning a similar event.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spidergirlhaze
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to us and we can't wait to see you again next year. Your feedback has been passed onto the team. Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

A TripAdvisor Member
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely warm welcome, very clean room, and a great breakfast with plenty of choice. As mentioned in other posts the bathroom was a little dated but don't let that put you off. Would definitely recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and visit and your kind words have been passed onto the team to view. We can't wait to welcome you again in the near future Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here at the end of November. The hotel had bags of character. The room was pleasant and the beds were comfy. The breakfast was beautiful. The staff were friendly and helpful, I left me notepad there and they contacted me and very kindly posted it back Special Delivery. It was lovely stay and I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Your kind words have been passed back to the team to view. We hope to see you again soon Thanks Mat Country Village Inns.

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Comfy beds, lovely breakfast, courteous staff, HOWEVER, the bathroom let it down badly. There was nothing that couldn't be put right with the help of a scrubbing brush, a bottle of bleach and an hour of muscle power. It was disgusting to say the least. What a shame to let the whole thing down with something as basic as lack...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saff1957
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Your feedback is really good for us and it has been passed onto our team. Our hotel at the Royal Oak is due a major refurb this winter. We are just waiting for further details and we hope that you return to try us out again. Thanks Mat Country...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Externally a fine old 17th century building by the old market place in charming Settle. Reasonable car park with a fairly tight single access way which could be a pinch point at busy times. Spacious interior, old oak panelling tends to give the place a gloomy interior and in the main restaurant area has been overpainted and decorated in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil L
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies e on the breakfast time mix up. Your feedback has been passed onto the team and is really important for us to develop. We hope to see you again soon when your next in the area Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Location is excellent as it is right in the centre, there is a car park but if you're coming from Skipton you might miss it first time round as the sign is on a wall where you can't see it! Check in was very efficient, although the bar area was fairly quiet so not easy to judge but the member...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review The event was the Macmillan coffee morning which was a great success for the charity. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and your feedback is really important to us. We hope to see you again very soon Thanks Mat Country Village Inns

Saundersfoot
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere... Splendid welcome from young barman... Great assist with beer selection... Relaxing areas all around... The food being served looked deliciously appetising... We had prior plans but never say never...Wonderful... We will return before our holiday end... Thank you👌👌👌

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimboSaundersfoot
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

HI Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit. With a new team in place trying to improve standards it is good to see we are making progress. We hope to see you again soon Thanks mat Country Village Inns

Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Where to start? I had booked an overnight stay on-line. On arrival, staff did not appear to know that we had booked and left us standing at the bar while someone was found to make a room up for us. The room was tired and very basic. The cold tap in the sink did not work at all. In the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bfitzm
CooperUK, Owner at The Royal Oak, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Sorry we didn't meet with your expectations on this occasion. I'm not sure why you experienced what you did as this is not what our staff are trained up for. Your comments have been passed onto our new management team and new head chef to ensure any such issues...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

On a short break in Settle we booked in for a family evening meal. The staff were friendly and although the menu isn't extensive the food was good quality and well cooked. As a bonus there was a cider festival on and live music in the bar which was great!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick W

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Settle hotels
0.1 km away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
438 reviews
1.8 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
268 reviews
0.7 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
535 reviews
0.8 km away
Harts Head Inn
Harts Head Inn
#1 of 4 in Giggleswick
169 reviews
0.3 km away
No3 at Settle
No3 at Settle
#3 of 21 in Settle
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional Country Inn ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: Market Sq, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Price Range: $88 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Settle
The Royal Oak Settle, UK - Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Oak staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in a room facing the main street was not noisy view of the market square - all rooms in use on the first floor - no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles 740neill, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 doesn't have the best Wifi Connection.”
 of 5 bubbles redsterfootball, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles bfitzm, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay overnight”
 of 5 bubbles colnagokid04, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi in the bar. Only ate did not stay as a resident”
 of 5 bubbles 456junew, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay