We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Number 5

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Number 5
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 161: English reviews
Start your review of Number 5
 Click to rate
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We're here now fabulous place can't fault Jane & Mary this b&b is the best 👍looking forward for the yummy full English breakfast 🍳 in the morning.if your looking for some were in Whitby & your lucky 🍀 enough to get a room at number 5 then I'd do just that you wont be disappointed 😁.love staying here when we're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank posh40
Janefawcett, Manager at Number 5, responded to this review

Great to hear that . Thankyou so much.

Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just had a three night stay in this very welcoming B&B, which offers many thoughtful little extra touches of quality to make it well above average. To name but a few: we had never previously seen a tea/coffee tray with a cafetière, plus sachets of both standard and decaff coffee; in addition to the little pots of long-life milk,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Janefawcett, Manager at Number 5, responded to this review

Pleased that you enjoyed your stay.Hope to see you again soon .

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

People say this is the best B&B in Whitby - I can't comment because I've stayed nowhere else since 1995 when the wonderful 'Bunt' was the owner, and I've seen no reason to change since Jane & Mary took over. Put simply, it is a very, very good 'traditional' UK B&B - in the West Cliff arera, close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AthosTA
Janefawcett, Owner at Number 5, responded to this review

Thank you for comments and advice.

Reviewed 8 March 2017

we always go to this place,the ladies are so helpful,its a lovely quirky place with exellent views,very homely and the breakfast products are 2nd none,the £74 room price is so worth it,the only gripe i have is that in room 8 they invest in a larger tv,the size is a bit outdated now but no other faults

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
Janefawcett, Owner at Number 5, responded to this review

Thankyou for your helpful comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 5 February 2017

At the price point I was not sure what I would get, but was pleasantly surpised. Nice room, not en suite but I knew this at the time of booking and loo was right outside my door. Great breakfast and very friendly owners.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
Janefawcett, Owner at Number 5, responded to this review

Thankyou Ian,glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2017

E have just got back from a family trip to Whitby and we were lucky to get into this place. From the warm welcome when we arrived, to the rooms which were warm with lovely comfortable beds, to the wonderfully eclectic collection of vintage items scattered around everything was perfect. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked with nice ingredients, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Janefawcett, Manager at Number 5, responded to this review

Thanks for that Steve .Hope to see you all again soon.

Bingley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017

I have stayed many times over the years . It is a lovely place to stay, a quirky twist with such attention to detail. So well placed for town, beach and cliff walking. The breakfasts are so good , yummy and filing, a very wide choice. Spotless rooms and ive stayed in most of them.Don't take any notice of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxinescholefield
Janefawcett, Owner at Number 5, responded to this review

Thankyou so much Maxine . Great to hear that . See you soon.

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

This b&b is awesome 👏 we have been coming here for a few years now this year we took our daughter as it was goth weekend for those of you that are looking for some were to go this is a great b&b very pleasant very clean decor I ❤️ especially the dining room breakfast 🍳 fabulous very tasty 😋...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank posh40
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We had a 1 night stay in this guesthouse. Room 5 was lovely and we found it to be spacious, clean and comfortable. We loved the decor and the little homely touches, just small things like slippers and cotton buds in the bathroom - they are thoughtful and were appreciated. It's probably one of the nicest places we've stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BagTeaBag
London
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Found this B&B by using tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Booked 2 nights and opted for room 2 which had a bow window to the front with a sofa bed. Room was large and warm and the bed very comfortable. Very clean and the shower ensuite had plenty of hot water - there is a bathroom on the landing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cfcsccc

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
269 reviews
0.1 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
0.2 km away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#56 of 152 in Whitby
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#124 of 152 in Whitby
88 reviews
0.2 km away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 152 in Whitby
571 reviews
0.1 km away
The Granby
The Granby
#111 of 152 in Whitby
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Number 5

Address: 5 Havelock Place, Whitby YO21 3ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Class:4 star — Number 5 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
No 5 Guest House Hotel Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Number 5 staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
barnsley
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Number 5 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The bigger roms are on lower floors , the viwes are higher floors.”
maxinescholefield, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 2 and 5 are the best with 3 and 6 a close second. The very top floor is for the fit people.”
Yorkshire_Chiller, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“My room was quiet, so would go for that room next time (No. 1), although not a view room, quiet and plenty of room.”
achatter53, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have a better view, especially the rooms at the top.”
Jo3050, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room number 5 has a balcony”
Adele3791, 23 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5